KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

MHN Government Services

Is this your company?

MHN Government Services

Add a Review

MHN Government Services Reviews

Updated Sep 15, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 25 of over 38 reviews

2.8
49%
Recommend to a Friend
48%
Approve of CEO
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Military Family Life Counselor

    Jan 25, 2016 - Military Family Life Counselor in National City, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    MHN Government services is a very organized and team oriented organization. I enjoyed the assignment of working directly with the school system. I also found the materials to be innovative and much needed for student and family success with handling deployments.

    Cons

    Flexibility for employee sick leave would be helpful.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    my life as an mflc at MHNGS

    Sep 15, 2020 - MHN MFLC in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    fun, exciting, mostly nice people

    Cons

    being away from family too much

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    position to serve the nation

    Feb 1, 2020 - MFLC in Honolulu, HI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I enjoy serving the military community. Work as a team and yet having independency to make my own decisions. The collaboration with the excellent professionals is a big plus.

    Cons

    Contract jobs mean changes and they can be unpredictable and uncomfortable

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    First experience working with a government contractor

    Aug 10, 2016 -  in San Rafael, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I found it outstanding for the company to compensate me to complete my 400 hours required for a fellowship as a financial counselor. Otherwise, I would have been paying very expensive daycare expenses, while earning nothing at work. This company allowed me the ability to earn money, which more than helped to offset daycare expenses, and I was able to successfully complete my 400 practicum hours earning the Accredited Financial Counselor (AFC). I will always appreciate this company. It was a great company to work for.

    Cons

    I learned that working with a government contractor one must be flexible. When I say flexible, I mean about almost everything. For example, you may be hired with a certain compensation and benefit package, then after the contract is up the contractor, in order to beat all other bids being submitted to the government, may change your pay or other benefits, to obtain the contract. This never happened to me, but I saw it happen to others doing contract work in other companies.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    MHNGS

    Dec 1, 2014 - MFLC in Anchorage, AK
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The focus is on making a difference in behavioral health and wellness. It delivers a broad range of behavioral health services to Active, Guard and Reserve service members and their families as well as to Veterans. Their capabilities include non-medical counseling, state-of-the-art call centers, financial counseling, psycho-education, rapid response and victim support services. MHNGS is focused on delivering effective behavioral health services in flexible formats to meet the diverse needs of their customers. Therefore, they provide services onsite, telephonically or online, from one day to long term, these services can be mobile and are routinely delivered worldwide.

    Cons

    You have to be willing to be very flexible, traveling and living away from home for long periods of time.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Military & Family Life Counselor

    Dec 28, 2017 - Military & Family Life Counselor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The experience of working with service members and their families is the reason I do this job. Better pay than most professional counseling jobs.

    Cons

    No vacation or personal days. The only paid days are Federal holidays. You can request Leave Without Pay, but they discourage being gone more than three days in a row. Only 7 sick days a year. Toxic leadership. If you voice concerns to the wrong people you will be threatened with possible job loss or told to be happy that you have a job. We are not treated like professionals. No raises, but several pay cuts, with the most recent one being 20%.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Military and Family Life Counsultant

    Jul 6, 2015 - Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist in New Orleans, LA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    One of the best companies that I have worked with, they are very proffessional and are very detailed bound and are great to lay down the job requirements.

    Cons

    There really is no cons on this company, they are straight upfront from the beginning, maybe the only cos are that they have to re-apply for government contracts every so many years

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    Current Employee

    Great concept (initially)

    Mar 1, 2018 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It is a wonderful opportunity to provide supportive services to military members and their families in the USA and OCONUS. Initially the pay was very respectable. Eventually received health benefits for full time employees.

    Cons

    Over the years there were significant "contractor benefit" reductions including multiple pay cuts, sharing vehicles with co-workers when on OCONUS assignments, and housing for long term assignments (meaning 6 - 12 months) was inadequate (eg. having only a microwave and a mini-fridge to prepare meals with) in a room with a bed, small desk and desk chair. Could feel micromanaged and infantilized by management at times. No personal/sick days or vacation time (very challenging when on long assignments) until relatively recently.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Opportunities for licensed clinicians to work overseas.

    Apr 14, 2014 - Military Family Life Consultant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work takes place on military bases in the United States and overseas. Rotational employment - length of time varies from 60 - 180 days, then typically, you change locations. Summer opportunities are also available.

    Cons

    Pay cuts and loss of extras, such as travel expenses and per diem for in-country assignments, makes this work less attractive than in previous years.

    4 people found this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Can Do Better

    Sep 26, 2014 - Business Analyst in San Rafael, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Focus on providing mental health and EAP to government services. - Great cross-functional department relationships.

    Cons

    - Too many "band-aids" used to fix internal problems; no time to fix root cause of problems. - Questionable supervisors and managers; upper management (director and above) are good. - Talented people overworked and/or leaving company.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 25 Reviews

Popular Careers with MHN Government Services Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at MHN Government Services? Share Your Experiences

MHN Government Services logo
or