Cover image for MHN Government Services
Logo

MHN Government Services

Is this your company?

MHN Government Services

Add a Review

MHN Government Services Reviews

Updated Aug 23, 2021

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 26 of over 41 reviews
2.9
49% Recommend to a Friend
48% Approve of CEO

Found 26 of over 41 reviews

2.9
49%
Recommend to a Friend
48%
Approve of CEO

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Better pay than most professional counseling jobs.(in 5 reviews)
Cons
  • "Could feel micromanaged and infantilized by management at times.(in 6 reviews)
  • "No benefits or 401K, except sick time, which is hard to take based on assignment's needs.(in 6 reviews)
  • "Company was aware of supervisors incompetence a nd did nothing about it.(in 3 reviews)
  • "You get Federal Holidays (only) as vacation days, so basically it is forced vacation and you cannot take a real vacation when you want except between contracts ( and hope it will go to you).(in 3 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Military Family Life Counselor

    Jan 25, 2016 - Military Family Life Counselor in National City, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    MHN Government services is a very organized and team oriented organization. I enjoyed the assignment of working directly with the school system. I also found the materials to be innovative and much needed for student and family success with handling deployments.

    Cons

    Flexibility for employee sick leave would be helpful.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Okay option

    Aug 23, 2021 - Senior Consultant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexibility in schedule for clinicians

    Cons

    Expectations and not being allowed time off

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    my life as an mflc at MHNGS

    Sep 15, 2020 - MHN MFLC in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    fun, exciting, mostly nice people

    Cons

    being away from family too much

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    position to serve the nation

    Feb 1, 2020 - MFLC in Honolulu, HI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I enjoy serving the military community. Work as a team and yet having independency to make my own decisions. The collaboration with the excellent professionals is a big plus.

    Cons

    Contract jobs mean changes and they can be unpredictable and uncomfortable

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Ongoing

    Aug 7, 2018 - MFLC in Fort Polk, LA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Community oriented and family friendly

    Cons

    Poor pay scale and no employee focused

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Current Employee

    Great concept (initially)

    Mar 1, 2018 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It is a wonderful opportunity to provide supportive services to military members and their families in the USA and OCONUS. Initially the pay was very respectable. Eventually received health benefits for full time employees.

    Cons

    Over the years there were significant "contractor benefit" reductions including multiple pay cuts, sharing vehicles with co-workers when on OCONUS assignments, and housing for long term assignments (meaning 6 - 12 months) was inadequate (eg. having only a microwave and a mini-fridge to prepare meals with) in a room with a bed, small desk and desk chair. Could feel micromanaged and infantilized by management at times. No personal/sick days or vacation time (very challenging when on long assignments) until relatively recently.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Military & Family Life Counselor

    Dec 28, 2017 - Military & Family Life Counselor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The experience of working with service members and their families is the reason I do this job. Better pay than most professional counseling jobs.

    Cons

    No vacation or personal days. The only paid days are Federal holidays. You can request Leave Without Pay, but they discourage being gone more than three days in a row. Only 7 sick days a year. Toxic leadership. If you voice concerns to the wrong people you will be threatened with possible job loss or told to be happy that you have a job. We are not treated like professionals. No raises, but several pay cuts, with the most recent one being 20%.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Sr Embedded SPA

    Jul 17, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    ONLY thing good about working for this Company is working with the military members and their families, and I am lucky enough to work with a good team of MFLCs..

    Cons

    This is ABSOLUTELY the WORST company I have EVER worked for!!! They DO NOT care about their employees (i.e. MFLCs), and only thing important to them is bottom line (making money for their Company). They will do anything to the MFLCs they need to do (cancel assignments, reduce pay by $20,000, keep us wondering whether we have an assignment so we cannot plan our lives) in order to keep the contract and make money. The MFLCs are the last people considered in any decisions, We get NO paid vacation, and were only recently allowed to take off LWOP for anything during an assignment contract. They do not allow us to take care of ourselves so we can take care of the service members and families. Their communication with us is terrible, very seldom give us correct information, and get contradictory information from different departments The health insurance is the worst and they do not explain clearly how the insurance is paid for when off of assignments (have heard several different explanations from different admin people...none of which are consistent). Only 7 days sick leave and a few holidays a year. They constantly increase our paperwork and demand trainings and paperwork immediately, although we never get quick response times from our questions to them. Our Supervisors are useless since their only job is to make sure we are not making mistakes and very seldom advocate for our needs. Many of the Provider Relations Staff (people who give us our assignments) very rarely return emails or calls or communicate with us so we know how to plan our lives. Unless you REALLY have a passion to work with the military, I do not recommend working for this Company!!!

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    MFLC- Senior

    Feb 11, 2017 - Military Family Life Counselor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Previous opportunity to travel the world

    Cons

    Required to pay for housing on out of town assignment, no transportation provided on assignment within US

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    First experience working with a government contractor

    Aug 10, 2016 -  in San Rafael, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I found it outstanding for the company to compensate me to complete my 400 hours required for a fellowship as a financial counselor. Otherwise, I would have been paying very expensive daycare expenses, while earning nothing at work. This company allowed me the ability to earn money, which more than helped to offset daycare expenses, and I was able to successfully complete my 400 practicum hours earning the Accredited Financial Counselor (AFC). I will always appreciate this company. It was a great company to work for.

    Cons

    I learned that working with a government contractor one must be flexible. When I say flexible, I mean about almost everything. For example, you may be hired with a certain compensation and benefit package, then after the contract is up the contractor, in order to beat all other bids being submitted to the government, may change your pay or other benefits, to obtain the contract. This never happened to me, but I saw it happen to others doing contract work in other companies.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 26 Reviews
</>Embed

MHN Government Services Reviews FAQs

MHN Government Services has an overall rating of 2.9 out of 5, based on over 41 reviews left anonymously by employees. 49% of employees would recommend working at MHN Government Services to a friend and 35% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -1% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, MHN Government Services employees rate their compensation and benefits as 2.7 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at MHN Government Services. This rating has decreased by -2% over the last 12 months.

49% of MHN Government Services employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated MHN Government Services 2.4 out of 5 for work life balance, 2.8 for culture and values and 2.4 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at MHN Government Services to be coworkers and the cons to be career development, management, benefits.

Work at MHN Government Services? Share Your Experiences

MHN Government Services logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

MHN Government Services Job Seekers Also Viewed

Magellan Health Logo
Magellan Health

3.2

1,155 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 41 MHN Government Services reviews submitted anonymously by MHN Government Services employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if MHN Government Services is right for you.