Cover image for MICROS Systems
Logo

MICROS Systems

Part of Oracle
Is this your company?

MICROS Systems

Add a Review

MICROS Systems Employee Reviews about "name recognition"

Updated May 13, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 312 of over 317 reviews
2.6
37% Recommend to a Friend
MICROS Systems President & CEO Peter A. Altabef
63% Approve of CEO

Found 5 of over 317 reviews

2.6
37%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
MICROS Systems President & CEO Peter A. Altabef
Peter A. Altabef
72 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

497

70 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Gender

This rating reflects the overall rating of MICROS Systems and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "name recognition"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    great

    May 29, 2018 - Tech Support Representative in Columbia, MD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It's a big company that servers several different industries.

    Cons

    Raises could be higher.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Worst company I ever worked for

    Jan 13, 2022 - Customer Support Representative in Scottsdale, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Learned some genuine business skills. Made some long-term friends.

    Cons

    1. They kept the lights and AC turned off after 5 to save money. In AZ. They did this for the 7 years I worked for them. 2. You could not get promoted out of support the way the review program was set up. In order to get promoted, you had to have at least a 3.5 on your last review. How, here's the kicker. Your raise was tied to your review score. If you score a 3, you get a 3% raise, etc. Management told my boss he could not give more than a 3% raise, which means on my review, I got a 3. The review means nothing, its just tied to how much they are allowed to give out for raises. Remember, you can't get promoted unless you have at least a 3.5 on your last review.....which no one gets, because they're not going to spend the money on that. It was really, really messed up. And the reason I left. 3. Perpetually understaffed which made it impossible to give good customer service. Hold times for customers were usually 20-30 minutes. 4. No respect for a scheudle. They would schedule you to get off at 11pm only to come back at 6 AM. This happened all the time.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the MICROS Systems team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    MICROS is an industry leader with great products and a promising future. I like working at MICROS.

    Aug 23, 2014 - Implementation Consultant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I work in the Hotel Systems Division My managers have all been great and I like the people I work with. I think upper management honestly appreciates my efforts. I feel that I am rewarded and recognized for the work that I do. MICROS has been good to me and I feel very fortunate to be able to work there. There are many opportunities for growth and advancement. This would be a great place for a recent college grad with some hotel or restaurant experience to start a career, or for anyone with industry experience and an interest in technology. For an entry level installer position, be prepared to travel nearly 100% of the time, which can be fun and is certainly interesting. I don't know what the recent acquisition of MICROS by Oracle will mean to the future of MICROS, but I'm excited about it. I would recommend MICROS to anyone who is deemed qualified to work there.

    Cons

    There were some conerns in the past about the lack of culture at MICROS. Some of this was fueled by comments from disgruntled employees. The culter is much better though, and it continues to improve. It seeems like the better you are, the harder they work you. This is espcially impactful to travelling employees. The better ones hit the road while the losers sit at home. They tend to not have enough employees for the work that needs to be done, so the existing staff has to work that much harder and I think in the end it's the customers who suffer.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Former Employee

    A bright future for a growing company built on the backbone of it's beleaguered employees.

    Oct 4, 2008 - Customer Support Analyst in Columbia, MD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Micros presents a great opportunity for advancement in the technical computer field, on the job training, and in-company education. You can work you way up from customer support analyst to to manager, implementation specialist, product manager and more. Micros provides clearly defined tiers for upward mobility that will appeal to the career-minded with their eye on a company that is showing a bright future for growth and expansion.

    Cons

    Micros is a publicly traded company and is thus subject to regulations by the SEC as well as it's board of directors. This creates a highly-micromanaged work and social environment that will turn most people off who are used to injecting personality into their workplace and having the freedom to do their job on their own terms.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Decent place to work, not a lot of room to grow

    Mar 20, 2013 - Customer Support Analyst in Columbia, MD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There are enough calls coming in and they are varied enough to keep the day moving pretty quickly. My particular team is usually supportive and friendly, which lends itself to a generally pleasant working atmosphere. You get about a month of training (2 weeks classroom style, about two weeks shadowing/working with a more experienced employee while taking calls), so you end up fairly well prepared. It's a good salary for an entry level job that doesn't require a degree.

    Cons

    It's customer support, so expect to get at least a few bad calls a week. It's also a 24/7 operation, so you'll probably work some holidays and at least one weekend a month. While people are friendly, morale is pretty terrible, since raises seem to be nearly nonexistent, among various other complaints. There is room to move around within the company, but I don't have high hopes for my salary to increase much at all, even if I can get promotions. There's no option to remote in for customer support and scheduling is pretty rigid.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  7. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Implementation Specialist

    Aug 22, 2014 - Implementation Specialist in Columbia, MD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Travel to nice resorts IDEAL JOB FOR: for a grad first out of school that is VERY knowledgeable with computers and building systems and so forth AND that has had experience in the service industry at some point. Rewarding feeling after training individuals to use a product that scares them initially; I couldn't have met a more appreciative staff at the job site I was assigned; it felt great to give them the tools and information they need to suceed since change usually scares people.

    Cons

    Pay is low (starting $42K), no opportunity of a raise until 1 year of employment is over. Pay is based on assumption that you work 40 hours per week; however, weeks will be much longer at times while assigned to a project and pay will remain the same (check out the pending CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT filed against Micros Systems by implementation specialists who encountered this problem. While you may be in a beautiful place for your project; do not count on having a day off sometimes for weeks - months (even when nothing needs to be done by you to justify overtime if your lead has to be there then [depending on the lead] you may be sitting there staring into space with nothing you can do). The interviewer failed to inform me of how knowledgeable I should be with programming, instead making it seem as if I will thrive based interpersonal skills alone. Watch your back; especially with management in particular the one who does your job assignments.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    Current Employee

    Haven't felt this way since high school.

    Apr 4, 2012 -  in Columbia, MD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    A paycheck. Free parking. Recognizable industry name. They hire bar management right out of the restaurant so it's a good place to apply for "career bartenders" who are getting too old.

    Cons

    Working at MICROS has reminded me of all the downsides of a high school ruled by tyrannical nuns. Dress code is strict, even though you sit in a cubicle all day and don't speak to anyone. Hours are strictly 8-5 (except once I was reprimanded for getting there at 7:55) and lunch is strictly 12-1. They might as well ring a bell. When noon or five hits, employees fly out of there like the place is on fire. In terms of the work culture: revenge of the nerds. You work with a bunch of snitchy, catty people who have been and always will be nerds, except now they're surrounded by other nerds so they feel like they can finally make their mark. In terms of the product, their POS systems are on the ball but they have all these technologies that go no where. They have a great app that allows you to control your bar tab via smart phone, but their most successful venue gets about 7-10 hits/day per use. Everyone is too old to maintain the up-and-coming desires of the industry.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Dropping like flies

    Oct 23, 2010 - Developer in Columbia, MD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Plenty of work to be done and the products you work on will be used by hundreds of people. In the Columbia area, many jobs are government so if you are a foreigner MICROS offers an alternative for employment. Just hope that your spouse works somewhere else to have enough money to pay the bills

    Cons

    Utterly horrific work environment. Prominent personnel leave weekly. The primary FOH developer, the primary BOH developer, a few good testers, and even the CFO have all left within a month, around the time I left. With no documented descriptions of how anything works, how much longer can this place survive? And product documentation? There is only one tech writer for this near-billion-dollar company. Pathetic. This is not like any other tech place in the world because you must work 8-5 with a lunch that must be from 12-1. This is highly inconvenient for people with kids or the need for different schedules. The managers here understand that the schedule is ridiculous but all are too cowardly to raise the point with the CEO. Truly they pay 15-20% under the average for the area, and when my husband recently interviewed in the area the other employers and recruiters knew about MICROS reputation for being a crappy place to work and underpaying. Weekends are always on the table and you often have to work them. There is no hope for a raise, only one direction as a career path to positions you don't want, and they will keep you two positions below your actual value anyway.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Former Employee

    People were great, process and management not so much. Too much of "we always did it this way"

    Mar 23, 2015 - Technical Consultant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Micros hires from the industry. Which is great. I met some of the closest friends I have there.

    Cons

    Management and business process is severely lacking. There are way too many Silos to get things done there. And way too many people spend time CYA than on doing the actual work. Micros doesn't pay for what the industry stipulates people should make. Case in point - I got promoted to a senior level position. The position called for X amount in salary. I was making Y. X was 40% more than what I was making. I asked HR why I only got a 3% increase. And they said that they don't increase people that way. I said that the Senior position calls for this range here (stated on the intranet at the time - they've since taken it down) and she said that I will need to quite and get rehired at that rate in order to make it. I asked - but I am doing the same work - she says, that's the way we do it here.

    2 people found this review helpful
  11. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    GREAT place to work for Software Engineers

    Dec 14, 2012 - Senior Software Engineer in Naples, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Relatively flat organization. While there is a well defined chain of command in every function, the engineers are still empowered to take initiative. - The company is moving in a good direction and is staying innovative using bleeding edge technologies such as Java, ADF, Security, Web Services, SOA, Database, Mobile, Web 2.0, Web Logic, .Net - CTO is great visionary, highly technical and easy accessible to all engineers - Great trainings, open forums and general technical discussion sessions to share knowledge - Excellent combination of techno-business expertise of middle managements - Amazingly smart coworkers with diversified culture and knowledge - Hardworking and dedicated employees to make good products - Projects have a worldwide visibility and Market Leader in what they are doing - Good balance between work and personal life. Management respects family needs

    Cons

    - Not flexible timing or telecommuting options - Naples office space is not impressive

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 5 of 5 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with MICROS Systems Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at MICROS Systems? Share Your Experiences

or

Reviews by Job Title

MICROS Systems Photos

+ Add Photo
MICROS Systems photo of: Corporate Office
MICROS Systems photo of: Micros Lobby
MICROS Systems photo of: Hospitality Systems

Have you worked here?

See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

MICROS Systems Job Seekers Also Viewed

Oracle Logo
Oracle

3.6

45,185 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 317 MICROS Systems reviews submitted anonymously by MICROS Systems employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if MICROS Systems is right for you.