MINDBODY "growing pains" Reviews | Glassdoor

MINDBODY Employee Reviews about "growing pains"

Updated Sep 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
66%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
MINDBODY CEO Rick Stollmeyer
Rick Stollmeyer
458 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "They preach core values but hardly follow them(in 28 reviews)

  • "Lots of growing pains in all departments(in 28 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "growing pains"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MINDBODY full-time

    Pros

    great vision, mission and values

    Cons

    with growth comes growing pains

    MINDBODY2017-07-06
  2. "Lovely People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - QA Engineer in San Luis Obispo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MINDBODY full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I absolutely loved working with my team and my manager. Stellar, supportive, and competent people (for the most part). Felt like I could trust the lot of them.

    Cons

    The company was experiencing some growing pains when I was there and the culture/organization changes were a bit rough, especially on those who had been there when it had more of a small-company, startup-esque vibe. Furthermore, I may have lucked out re: my manager, as I've heard that my experience was not universal.

    MINDBODY2018-04-06
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Technical Support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support Specialist in San Luis Obispo, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MINDBODY full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, ok pay, extra perks are helpful.

    Cons

    Lots of growing pains. Growth is good, change is hard.

    Advice to Management

    In the midst of growth and change do not forget the effect on your team by the constant changes in processes. We believe in the core values, lets stay focused on them.

    MINDBODY2017-10-13
  4. Helpful (8)

    "Great Culture, Horrible Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Payments Team in San Luis Obispo, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MINDBODY full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people who work here is the best thing about MINDBODY hands down. Coffee and fresh fruit always provided. Onsite wellness and wellness cards. Great core values.

    Cons

    Unprofessional managers. The managers I had were innappropriately close which made it difficult to have respect for them. If you get on managements bad side, they will turn on you. Lots of growing pains in all departments. Lack of communication within client facing teams.

    Advice to Management

    Hire managers who are capable of having an appropriate relationship with their team members such as being able to act professional instead of work being one big party.

    MINDBODY2017-07-15
  5. Helpful (7)

    "I've never felt more supported by an employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Administrator in San Luis Obispo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MINDBODY full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, culture, onsite classes and wellness team. Engaging work with great leadership and career path expansion

    Cons

    Starting pay a little low at head quarters and housing locally can be an issue. Parking also gets full. Growing pains?

    MINDBODY2017-06-01
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great company growing like wildfire!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MINDBODY full-time

    Pros

    Good people, great mission, fantastic culture, family oriented

    Cons

    You have to like the quieter life of the region, growing pains during rapid growth

    MINDBODY2016-11-29
  7. "The good majorly offsets any growing pains."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MINDBODY full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    meritocracy. considerate management. helping small businesses that improve people's lives is fulfilling. interesting technology challenges. lots of opportunity for the business to grow.

    Cons

    same growing pains every company at this stage faces. expanding customer types, lots of new hires, and lots tweaks to the tactics to achieve strategic goals create churn. new processes to create more order need to mature into scaleable process.

    Advice to Management

    keep up the emphasis on finding the right balance between tight focus and innovation.

    MINDBODY2016-08-15
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Best Company Ever!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MINDBODY full-time

    Pros

    Great work environment with amazing amenities. Huge upside potential for people willing to put in the work.

    Cons

    Company is experiencing some slight growing pains.

    Advice to Management

    Do your best every day to live by our companies core values.

    MINDBODY2016-07-14
  9. "Business Development Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at MINDBODY part-time

    Pros

    Great sales team with lots of energy and a fun group of people, makes working there a fun time.

    Cons

    Training is limited and there are some growing pains that come with that.

    MINDBODY2016-02-02
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Great Company to work for, still has some"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MINDBODY full-time

    Pros

    Great people and culture. Good vacation benefits and if you are management level, good health benefits. Onsite wellness classes and massages are a huge plus. Ability to work remote/from home occasionally. Great opportunities for growth within the company.

    Cons

    Pay not very competitive. Most managers have other jobs in addition to their management duties, which distracts them from being able to focus energy on their direct reports. The company has some growing pains and there are a lot of top down decisions being made and people set in their ways. Also, the onsite food is terrible. The quality of the food being served is comparable to Denny's. The food does not... reflect our "committed to wellness" core value in any way.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Take care of your team so that they will want to stick around forever. Find managers who are great at mentoring and leading teams and let them focus on that. Foster innovation and creativity from multiple sources within and outside of the company instead of focusing on only top down direction. Get a different onsite catering company that has a mission to serve healthy, organic, non GMO, non toxic food.

    MINDBODY2015-10-21
Found 28 reviews