MINDBODY "growing pains" Reviews | Glassdoor

MINDBODY Reviews

Updated Sep 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
66%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
MINDBODY Co-Founder & CEO Rick Stollmeyer
Rick Stollmeyer
461 Ratings
  1. Helpful (6)

    "Pros & Cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at MINDBODY full-time

    Pros

    Great environment, laid back, cool perks

    Cons

    lack of resources and employees in position which led to stress and overworked employees. Growing pains, SUPER LOW PAY for California tech company (san luis is not cheap to live in!).

    MINDBODY2015-09-02
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Business Development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MINDBODY full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There a lot of opportunities to grow on the team. We do a great job of hiring off of core values. Work life is enjoyable because of the quality of people on the team.

    Cons

    Growing pains. As we continue to scale we are presented we organization structure challenges. Cross departmental communication and inefficiencies seem to be challenge. However we have done a group job evolving to overcoming. In relation to our industry peers I believe we most productive work culture.

    Advice to Management

    Create an efficient ways to gather feedback. Feed a relevant way to manage quarterly CVA goals. Get ride of Popolos Catering. Give everyone laptops and create collaborate work spaces. We don't need assigned work areas

    MINDBODY2015-08-12
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Best Place Ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Supervisor in San Luis Obispo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MINDBODY full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    PTO, sick days, medical benefits paid at 100% for myself and my spouse, great wellness incentives, great leadership development.

    Cons

    Sometimes there are growing pains felt from a company accelerating as fast as this one, however the exec team and CEO are great with communication about changes and updates.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to keep staff informed, we appreciate the transparency!

    MINDBODY2015-07-26
  4. "Great Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Luis Obispo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at MINDBODY full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    MINDBODY is by far one of the best places I have ever worked!! The people here are dedicated to the mission and live our core values to the fullest.

    Cons

    There are some growing pains. As long as your are prepared to be fluid and accept changes as the come, you will still love it!

    MINDBODY2015-07-29
  5. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Data Conversion Specialist in San Luis Obispo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MINDBODY full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The best thing about MINDBODY is the people. Having co-workers who generally care about each other, about making the world a better place and working together in the best interest of the customer is great. The customers are generally small business owners determined to make the world a better place, and it's great to help them manage their business successfully.

    Cons

    Growing pains are difficult. You can't get too comfortable in thinking you know what you were hired to do. It will shift and grow and evolve, and if you're comfortable with that you will thrive.

    Advice to Management

    The MINDBODY Connect movie was amazing. Thank you for that, and hopefully we can have it available to watch on demand. The videos of Rick on MBNN are helpful. It's good to know what the big picture is.

    MINDBODY2015-07-10
  6. "Young, fun place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in San Luis Obispo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MINDBODY

    Pros

    Flexibility, Relaxed culture, young enthusiastic culture

    Cons

    Growing pains of a growing company

    MINDBODY2015-03-21
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Implementation Coach"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Implementation Coach in San Luis Obispo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MINDBODY full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    MINDBODY offers great perks, like any young tech company. Yoga balls, stand up desks, new buildings with slides are but a few included benefits. The Implementation department is moving in a positive direction and leadership within the department is extremely supportive. The CEO is very involved and appears to have the employees in mind with each decision he makes. It's a great place if you want a work-life balance and motivation to be a healthier person inside and out.

    Show More

    Cons

    With any young and growing company there are growing pains. I believe the company is growing faster than it can support, and it seems like the company is struggling to keep their top performers in customer service roles. There seems to be a lack of communication between departments, but I am hopeful that this will eventually improve.

    Advice to Management

    I would suggest taking a more forthcoming approach with information regarding in what direction the department is moving.

    MINDBODY2014-10-16
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Great people to work with!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MINDBODY full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Core values are lived by at MINDBODY. This is why the staff is so great - they are chosen largely based on their alignment with the companies core values. - Health and Wellness is a large focus, so plenty of activities, classes, and opportunity to live a healthy, balanced life - Flexible work schedule (depending on position)

    Cons

    - Growing pains - Low pay overall (but good benefits). Typically appears to be that it's a good company to start your career at, but may not be possible to stay for a long time. Many people who have been at the company for 2+ years are at much too low pay and have not been brought up to the level the company is hiring at :(

    Advice to Management

    Pay fair and at market wages. Try and refrain from swift decisions being put into action. The aftermath can really affect those on the "front line". If it's necessary though, just communicate the "why" to get employee buy-in.

    MINDBODY2014-09-17
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Serious growing pains."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MINDBODY full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The culture is great! MINDBODY is a fun place to work in terms of culture.

    Cons

    There are some serious growing pains.

    MINDBODY2014-09-29
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Love going to work every day"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service/Technical Support in San Luis Obispo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MINDBODY full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fun, friendly, relaxed, casual atmosphere. We're treated great with so many benefits: monthly wellness vouchers, onsite massage, onsite wellness classes, insurance, paid time off, etc. Managers are great! CEO is inspiring and visionary. From the top down funnels good vibes.

    Cons

    Parking due to growing pains; getting so big and we're all in separate buildings.. a bit of a disconnect from other departments.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!

    MINDBODY2014-06-14
Found 28 reviews