MINDBODY "growing pains" Reviews | Glassdoor

MINDBODY Reviews

Updated Sep 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
66%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
MINDBODY Co-Founder & CEO Rick Stollmeyer
Rick Stollmeyer
461 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great resume builder"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in San Luis Obispo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MINDBODY part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Relaxed environment, continuously growing, young workforce, great location, room for upward movement within the company, great coffee machines

    Cons

    No parking, growing pains because it's so new and growing so rapidly

    Advice to Management

    Continue growing, release different versions of the software that are more particular to each vertical so it's not so broad.

    MINDBODY2014-06-03
  2. "Best Company I have worked for, BY FAR!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Luis Obispo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MINDBODY full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very welcoming community, promotions from within, great benefits (401k, dental, vision, 160 hours PTO/year, etc.), casual work environment, and onsite wellness providers. While people say that this company is "cult"-y, I don't find that you need to change who you are to fit in or be successful in this company! There is a group for everyone! There are jugglers, gaming wizards, exercise fanatics, and so much more! Everyone has a common goal at MINDBODY - to continuously evolve as a person, an employee, and a company.

    Show More

    Cons

    Promotions from within is definitely preached here, but like any company promotions, it may not happen for everyone or at the time you are wanting one. Everyone is wanting a promotion, the main difficulty is finding some way to differentiate yourself from others. Salaries are slightly lower at this company, which is a downside. The company is also going through some growing pains, which is expected. This means that they are playing catch up in some areas. But I have confidence that all departments will catch up soon!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I might reevaluate salary structures later down the road as we get bigger. Employees recognize that they could receive higher compensation somewhere else for the same work they are doing at this company. Other than that, keep up the hard work! This company is growing exponentially!

    MINDBODY2013-12-17
  3. "Great place with great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MINDBODY part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Growing, entry positions usually opening up. They tend to be hard to get yourself in the door. Your network will help you out here.

    Cons

    Growing a bit too fast, experiencing acceptable growing pains. Also they don't respond after the interview unless they take you on, so you could be left waiting.

    Advice to Management

    They need to realize they're not the only kids in the industry anymore. They'll need to improve if retain and grow market share. Also communicate with applicants post interview, let then know directly they didn't get a position.

    MINDBODY2013-10-28
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing, growing company to work for. Great environment and benefits. Some growing pains."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Luis Obispo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MINDBODY full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    MINDBODY bucks for local wellness services- yoga, pilates, martial arts, spa etc. Opportunity to grow, strong emphasis on promotion from within. Exciting, happy and healthy work environment!

    Cons

    MINDBODY is growing so quickly that growing pains are often felt. Parking set-up is not ideal. Shuffling around of staff, desks, computers etc.

    Advice to Management

    Earlier preparation for internal growth.

    MINDBODY2013-06-03
  5. "Best work enviroment I have ever seen"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Luis Obispo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MINDBODY full-time

    Pros

    MINDBODY management cares about their employees and treats them as humans. A healthy work-life balance is part of the published core values. Just walk into the lobby area and you will feel the energy that 400 happy employees make. I found the work in the technology departments challenging and rewarding. There are un-sexy aspects to working with some legacy systems but that's the challenge. The reward is in solving tough problems and helping the company continually improve. Overall: Exceptional work environment, exceptional employees and interesting, challenging work. If you will be doing software or engineering you should be comfortable supporting legacy systems.

    Show More

    Cons

    Growing pains are always evident. Requires you to improvise frequently.

    MINDBODY2012-11-10
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great Experience for New Graduates"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support Specialist in San Luis Obispo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MINDBODY full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great values, work environment, and coworkers - High level of responsibility for certain entry level positions - Potential for individual growth as company continues to rapidly expand - International business experience

    Cons

    - Starting salary can be relatively low for the San Luis Obispo area - Some departments are severely understaffed - all part of the growing pains, though. Management is responsive and reactive to this.

    MINDBODY2012-10-11
  7. "Amazing place!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Marketing Manager in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MINDBODY full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people, the culture and the company vision

    Cons

    Growing pains of a maturing, expanding business

    MINDBODY2019-09-23
  8. "Work hard, play hard!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends

    I have been working at MINDBODY

    Pros

    MINDBODY, Inc is a great place to work because of the Core Values that the company is based on. The Core Values ensure that all employees are working with a united vision and mindset, making MINDBODY a great place to work. Not only it is a fun, casual and supportive work environment, but we are also united in our hard work and dedication to get the job done!

    Cons

    Growing pains as we transition from a small to mid size company.

    Advice to Management

    More training for leaders/managers on how to be most effective.

    MINDBODY2011-10-31
Found 28 reviews