Cover image for MIT Lincoln Laboratory
Logo
See All Photos

MIT Lincoln Laboratory

Engaged Employer

MIT Lincoln Laboratory

Add a Review

MIT Lincoln Laboratory Reviews

Updated Jan 30, 2023

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 390 of over 565 reviews
4.3
87% Recommend to a Friend
MIT Lincoln Laboratory Director Eric Evans
91% Approve of CEO

Found 390 of over 565 reviews

4.3
87%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
MIT Lincoln Laboratory Director Eric Evans
Eric Evans
199 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "did i mention the people are great?(in 73 reviews)
  • "Great benefits for both the Laboratory and MIT(in 55 reviews)
  • "Good work life balance for specialists(in 28 reviews)
  • "Nice and smart coworkers.(in 11 reviews)
  • "My experience there was phenomenal, I got to work with so many great students along with my great colleagues.(in 11 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of MIT Lincoln Laboratory and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year
    Featured Review

    Great Company

    May 26, 2022 - Systems Engineer in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Ability to work on what you want Unlimited opportunities for growth. If you want to do something new here. Just do it. Work life balance is great

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee

    lincoln lab review

    Dec 17, 2022 - Specialist in Lexington, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good work environment and collaborative

    Cons

    Not great mobility without a higher degree

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the MIT Lincoln Laboratory team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Great Mission But Old Habits Die Hard

    Jan 30, 2023 - Anonymous Employee in Lexington, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The benefits are fantastic; matching 401K, MIT pension, PTO, federal holidays off, flexible work schedules.

    Cons

    The Lab has been around a long time and, despite junior employees finding newer, more efficient processes for executing tasks, there is still a lot of push back from lower level management with "this is how we have always done it". Can be discouraging at times but overall, I understood the reasoning why.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Good for the start and end of your career but that is it.

    Dec 19, 2022 - Assistant Staff 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Cool innovative projects. If you work hard you can develop your own ideas to retain funding

    Cons

    There are no promotions for hard working and innovative staff members. They generally push people to quit versus promoting their own staff and it takes years to get promoted to the position you actually work at. This generally leads to high staff turnover. The thing that is the most frustrating is generally management realizes they need to replace the staff that quit with someone who works at the level they were asking for in the first place. The salaries are really low for the area and management is generally poor.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great People, slightly archaic

    Jan 25, 2023 - Business Manager in Lexington, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good benefits Great people Good Pay

    Cons

    Disorganized in some areas Very intelligent people who may not be willing to change Limited upward mobility for business backgrounds as engineering dominates

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Beaver Works Summer Institute

    Oct 18, 2022 - Teaching Assistant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I worked at the Beaver Works Summer Institute as a Teaching Assistant. My experience there was phenomenal, I got to work with so many great students along with my great colleagues. I participated in the program as a student the previous year, and it was a great time to come back as a TA to give back what the program has given me.

    Cons

    The program was hosted online, and as a result it was difficult at times to aid students with their projects. Additionally, it is sometimes difficult for students to connect with each other, but we utilized online platforms, such as Discord to help with that.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    MIT Lincoln Laboratory Response

    Manager, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and insights as a former employee of Lincoln Laboratory! We are pleased you had a positive experience as a student and a TA and it is nice to read what you find most enjoyable about working at Lincoln Laboratory.

  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great place to work

    Nov 30, 2022 - Technical Staff in Lexington, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Exciting work in all kinds of technical areas. Large enough to be very stable without being overwhelming.

    Cons

    Closely aligned with government/DoD so bureaucracy of some tasks can be annoying. Pay slightly lower than some similar industries, but job security is very good.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    MIT Lincoln Laboratory Response

    Manager, Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for sharing your appreciation for the research and work load across the Lab, as it signals we are focusing our efforts in the right areas. But we do understand that our incentives won’t appease everyone, but we’re doing our best to listen and improve where we can.

  9. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Ok

    Jan 10, 2023 - Finance 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great place to work after COVID.

    Cons

    None that I can think of at the moment.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Former Employee

    OK Employer

    Dec 5, 2022 - Quantum Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Technology emporium where you will learn a lot.

    Cons

    Could be more employee centric.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    MIT Lincoln Laboratory Response

    Manager, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and insights as a former employee of Lincoln Laboratory! We are pleased you had a positive experience as a Quantum Engineer and it is nice to read what you found most enjoyable about working at Lincoln Laboratory.

  11. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Research Lab

    Nov 29, 2022 - Assistant Group Leader in Lexington, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Excellent people, facilities, and world class research

    Cons

    Process and detail-laden. Can be slow to react.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    MIT Lincoln Laboratory Response

    Manager, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for holding our employees and research in high regard, just as we do. We're proud of each one of our employees and the meaningful contributions they make to the organization.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 390 Reviews
</>Embed

MIT Lincoln Laboratory Reviews FAQs

MIT Lincoln Laboratory has an overall rating of 4.3 out of 5, based on over 565 reviews left anonymously by employees. 87% of employees would recommend working at MIT Lincoln Laboratory to a friend and 77% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -2% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, MIT Lincoln Laboratory employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.9 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at MIT Lincoln Laboratory. This rating has decreased by -4% over the last 12 months.

87% of MIT Lincoln Laboratory employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated MIT Lincoln Laboratory 4.3 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.1 for culture and values and 3.7 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at MIT Lincoln Laboratory to be culture, career development, benefits and the cons to be management, compensation.

Popular Careers with MIT Lincoln Laboratory Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at MIT Lincoln Laboratory? Share Your Experiences

MIT Lincoln Laboratory logo
or

MIT Lincoln Laboratory Careers

Cover image for MIT Lincoln Laboratory

Rich Technical Challenges The real-world challenges of U.S. security and protection provide a continuously evolving array of satisfying,...More

  • Working Here
  • Culture
  • Development
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Reviews by Job Title

Company Updates

Logo

MIT Lincoln Laboratory

1 days ago

Careers
SUMMER RESEARCH PROGRAM Each summer, the Laboratory offers undergraduate and graduate students the unique opportunity to gain hands-on experience in a leading-edge research environment. Program participants contribute to projects and gain experience that complements their courses of study. In recent summers, we've hired more than 200 students representing top universities. Students have opportunities to: - Interface with national experts in numerous fields of research - Work with state-of-the-art equipment on real-world technical applications - Present the results of their research conclusions at the end of the summer
Shared image - Summer Research Program
Summer Research Program
www.ll.mit.edu
Logo

MIT Lincoln Laboratory

22 days ago

Company News
In a visit to MIT, Under Secretary of Defense for Research and Engineering Heidi Shyu spoke about the DoD’s initiatives to build a stronger U.S. manufacturing base and to tackle the country’s “toughest challenges.” After the talk, Shyu visited labs across campus. MIT Lincoln Laboratory’s Eric Evans and Bob Shin joined Under Secretary Shyu to hear about student projects at MIT Beaver Works and about Beaver Works’ summer institute for high school students
Shared image - Strengthening America's manufacturing base
Strengthening America's manufacturing base
www.ll.mit.edu
See all

MIT Lincoln Laboratory Photos

+ Add Photo
MIT Lincoln Laboratory photo of: The Laboratory's Main Entrance
MIT Lincoln Laboratory photo of: MIT Lincoln Laboratory
MIT Lincoln Laboratory photo of: MIT Lincoln Laboratory
MIT Lincoln Laboratory photo of: MIT Lincoln Laboratory
MIT Lincoln Laboratory photo of: MIT Lincoln Laboratory
MIT Lincoln Laboratory photo of: MIT Lincoln Laboratory
MIT Lincoln Laboratory photo of: Some of the MIT Lincoln Laboratory Team that developed Localizing Ground Penetrating Radar.
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

MIT Lincoln Laboratory Job Seekers Also Viewed

MITRE Logo
MITRE

3.7

1,913 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 565 MIT Lincoln Laboratory reviews submitted anonymously by MIT Lincoln Laboratory employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if MIT Lincoln Laboratory is right for you.