MITRE Reviews in McLean, VA | Glassdoor

MITRE McLean Reviews

Updated February 20, 2017
89 reviews

Filter

Filter

McLean, VA

5.0
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
MITRE President & CEO Jason Providakes
Jason Providakes
0 Ratings

89 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
Cons
  • Most managers don't offer work from home or telecommuting even though they brag about work life balance (in 19 reviews)

  • The of lower management to impress upper management on the work of the umderlings was unreal (in 21 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (8)

    "Company of thinkers and doers that listens and deliberately tries to change"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in McLean, VA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MITRE (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Very smart and motivated people, everyone is very "achievement focused" (goes above and beyond to honor promises), and a strong push to maximize work-life balance. Strong sense most of the time that what you do matters, and that you are making people's lives better as a result. Much of the work is hard, but I feel like I'm both doing *good* and treated well. For example, the first post on this page (requesting management do a quality survey) is now a standard practice and they started with CCG as the commenter recommended. It might take some time, but it seems all good ideas are listened to. I feel like I'm very well listened to, as long as I communicate clearly and frequently.

    Cons

    This place is a strong mix of government, academia, management, and consulting. It seems that people who don't communicate what they want feel left out. Some employees act like typical contractors waiting to be told what to do, and they seem to have the worst experiences. Those who communicate clearly with their managers and take some risks seem to rise quickly and are trusted within the organization. Lately there have been many more "business" people hired that have less of a technical background - and they seem to have trouble integrating with the deep technical roots of the company.

    Advice to Management

    Refocus on the technical core - and communicate clearly to new business-minded employees that lower quality work will not be accepted. Everyone has a duty to use the most technically appropriate solutions for their work, and we need more attention to incentivize people to use that technical mastery.

    MITRE Response

    Oct 3, 2016 – Comms Representative

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time and making the effort to communicate your thoughts with us.


  2. "Collaborative engineering environment"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Staff Software Engineer in McLean, VA
    Current Employee - Senior Staff Software Engineer in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MITRE full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Public mission, excellent opportunities for prototyping to solve sponsor challenges, work life balance, collaborative environment, great colleagues

    Cons

    Can be conservative and under constraints of government programs

    Advice to Management

    Keep to grow focus on speed and innovation, hire more industry talent versus former government and DoD base


  3. Helpful (1)

    "Lots of changes on the horizon"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in McLean, VA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MITRE full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits, interesting work, some really great people at all levels of the company

    Cons

    Work-life balance and the gender gap in pay


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "A GREAT Place to Work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Multi-Discipline Systems Engineer in McLean, VA
    Current Employee - Lead Multi-Discipline Systems Engineer in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MITRE full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Working in the public interest is very rewarding, but doing so as part of a not-for-profit Federally Funded Research and Development company is even better.

    Cons

    I just can't think of any - seriously!

    Advice to Management

    Ensure all those who are producing for their sponsors are recognized for their contributions.

    MITRE Response

    Jan 6, 2017 – Public Affairs

    Thanks for your review! We’re glad that you share the commitment to helping our nation move forward. We agree that it is important to continue to recognize our employees for their hard work, and will ... More


  6. "Great company"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Computer Science in McLean, VA
    Current Intern - Computer Science in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MITRE as an intern (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Extremely flexible hours
    Ability to remote work on day one but not recommended
    Pay is more than other government organizations but MITRE is technically a private company
    There is an enormous amount of diversity in the projects you can work on

    Cons

    There's a slow climb to moving up the company ladder
    You likely won't be working in just one location unless you work at McLean. Any satellite offices will often report back to McLean on a weekly or bi-weekly basis.


  7. "Great Place to Work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in McLean, VA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MITRE full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Great public service focus; no quarterly pressures to meet wall street earnings. Incredibly talented and collaborative staff. Get to work on country's most challenging problems. Ability to work across a wide array of problems but you have to self initiate to get the diversity of work.

    Cons

    Fixing national scale problems that involve changing government can be hard and slow. Should continue strengthening technical career path options.

    Advice to Management

    Help new people onboard better. This is especially true for areas where lots of new hires from different companies require extra attention.

    MITRE Response

    Dec 9, 2016 – Public Affairs

    Thanks for your review! We are currently working on a technical career path initiative to better clarify a path for those interested in advancing their career without moving into management. We ... More


  8. "Lead Information System Engineer"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in McLean, VA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in McLean, VA

    I worked at MITRE full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    A lot of opportunities to explore the new cutting technology. Great Colleagues, Nice working environment and benefits. Flexible schedule.

    Cons

    Sometimes projects run short and you need to hop around a lot to find the next ones.

    MITRE Response

    Dec 9, 2016 – Public Affairs

    Glad to hear you enjoyed your time here!


  9. "Manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Manager in McLean, VA
    Current Employee - IT Manager in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at MITRE full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great place to work in northern virginia

    Cons

    Government contracting can be trying

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    MITRE Response

    Oct 26, 2016 – Public Affairs

    Thanks for the review! We're glad to hear you're enjoying your work here.


  10. Helpful (5)

    "Great Place to Work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in McLean, VA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MITRE full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Excellent work life balance; lots of flexibility in how you do your job
    Opportunity to work on national level problems
    Overall job security - minimal to no lay offs
    Great environment for collaboration

    Cons

    No bonuses etc.
    Harder to get promotion, especially into higher level management jobs
    Growth pretty much dependent on how much time the employees put into personal growth

    MITRE Response

    Oct 3, 2016 – Comms Representative

    Thanks for posting.


  11. Helpful (2)

    "Working at MITRE"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources in McLean, VA
    Current Employee - Human Resources in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at MITRE full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Why people work here--#1 the work, #2 the people, #3 the balance of work and personal life.

    Cons

    Can be slow to get things done.

    MITRE Response

    Oct 3, 2016 – Comms Representative

    We’re happy to hear you like working here. Thanks for taking the time to post.



Showing 89 of 704 reviews
Reset Filters