MITRE Reviews in McLean, VA | Glassdoor

MITRE McLean Reviews

Updated July 22, 2017
247 reviews

Filter

Filter

McLean, VA

247 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • In many departments, having work/life balance is just talk (in 19 reviews)

  • The of lower management to impress upper management on the work of the umderlings was unreal (in 22 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Engineer in McLean, VA
    Current Employee - Principal Engineer in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MITRE full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Competitive Pay, work in public interest (not for profit) strong mission focus, lots of work flexibility, top notch staff

    Cons

    A little heavy on internal overhead

    MITRE Response

    May 19, 2017 – Public Affairs

    We're glad to hear that you're enjoying the mission here!


  2. "A valued intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Software Engineer in McLean, VA
    Current Intern - Software Engineer in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MITRE as an intern (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I'm given real work and the flexibility to choose my projects as well as respect from my full time peers. Additionally, I have the flexibility to work remotely, (even while I'm at school full time) and I can choose when I want to work my hours. Let's be real, not everyone is productive on the 9-5 schedule. As long as I'm doing the work and logging my hours, I'm golden.

    Cons

    Unfortunately, some of my immediate superiors don't take as much interest in me or my work thus I struggle to find much room for growth within my department. The department you work in will largely shift your outlook of the company.

    Advice to Management

    ...

    MITRE Response

    Apr 3, 2017 – Public Affairs

    Glad to hear that you're enjoying your internship! You may want to discuss your concerns about growth with your HR business partner.

  3. "Collaborative engineering environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Staff Software Engineer in McLean, VA
    Current Employee - Senior Staff Software Engineer in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MITRE full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Public mission, excellent opportunities for prototyping to solve sponsor challenges, work life balance, collaborative environment, great colleagues

    Cons

    Can be conservative and under constraints of government programs

    Advice to Management

    Keep to grow focus on speed and innovation, hire more industry talent versus former government and DoD base

    MITRE Response

    Apr 3, 2017 – Public Affairs

    Glad to hear that you're enjoying your work here! We're continuously reevaluating recruiting and retention methods and appreciate your perspective.


  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Principal Policy Analyst in McLean, VA
    Former Employee - Principal Policy Analyst in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MITRE full-time

    Pros

    Generous benefits. Collaborative atmosphere. MITRE is a first-rate organization that really cares about its people. Turnover is about 5% and many employees have been there 10-20 or more years.

    Cons

    Not really much not to like other than too much nepotism at the top. Seems the only qualification required to reach the upper ranks of corporate leadership is being born into the right family. They hire smart people, and give them challenging work. MITRE runs five FFRDCs covering everything from the FAA, IRS, DoD to Medicare.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to hire talented team members. Strive to maintain the high standards that make MITRE a trusted name in its field. Shake up the senior leadership because there is too much nepotism. Too many of the top people are from one family.

    MITRE Response

    Feb 22, 2017 – Public Affairs

    Thanks for your feedback! We're glad to hear that you enjoyed MITRE's benefits and collaborative atmosphere.


  5. "A GREAT Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Multi-Discipline Systems Engineer in McLean, VA
    Current Employee - Lead Multi-Discipline Systems Engineer in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MITRE full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Working in the public interest is very rewarding, but doing so as part of a not-for-profit Federally Funded Research and Development company is even better.

    Cons

    I just can't think of any - seriously!

    Advice to Management

    Ensure all those who are producing for their sponsors are recognized for their contributions.

    MITRE Response

    Jan 6, 2017 – Public Affairs

    Thanks for your review! We’re glad that you share the commitment to helping our nation move forward. We agree that it is important to continue to recognize our employees for their hard work, and will... More


  6. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Computer Science in McLean, VA
    Current Intern - Computer Science in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MITRE as an intern (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Extremely flexible hours
    Ability to remote work on day one but not recommended
    Pay is more than other government organizations but MITRE is technically a private company
    There is an enormous amount of diversity in the projects you can work on

    Cons

    There's a slow climb to moving up the company ladder
    You likely won't be working in just one location unless you work at McLean. Any satellite offices will often report back to McLean on a weekly or bi-weekly basis.


  7. "Principal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal in McLean, VA
    Current Employee - Principal in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MITRE full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Excellent and interesting work. Strong management support.

    Cons

    Salary is close but not in alignment with consulting firms.

    Advice to Management

    Please make the promotion process more transparent.

    MITRE Response

    Dec 9, 2016 – Public Affairs

    Thanks for your review! Glad to hear that you enjoy your work and the support from your management.

  8. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in McLean, VA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MITRE full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Great public service focus; no quarterly pressures to meet wall street earnings. Incredibly talented and collaborative staff. Get to work on country's most challenging problems. Ability to work across a wide array of problems but you have to self initiate to get the diversity of work.

    Cons

    Fixing national scale problems that involve changing government can be hard and slow. Should continue strengthening technical career path options.

    Advice to Management

    Help new people onboard better. This is especially true for areas where lots of new hires from different companies require extra attention.

    MITRE Response

    Dec 9, 2016 – Public Affairs

    Thanks for your review! We are currently working on a technical career path initiative to better clarify a path for those interested in advancing their career without moving into management. We... More


  9. "Lead Information System Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in McLean, VA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in McLean, VA

    I worked at MITRE full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    A lot of opportunities to explore the new cutting technology. Great Colleagues, Nice working environment and benefits. Flexible schedule.

    Cons

    Sometimes projects run short and you need to hop around a lot to find the next ones.

    MITRE Response

    Dec 9, 2016 – Public Affairs

    Glad to hear you enjoyed your time here!


  10. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Manager in McLean, VA
    Current Employee - IT Manager in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at MITRE full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great place to work in northern virginia

    Cons

    Government contracting can be trying

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    MITRE Response

    Oct 26, 2016 – Public Affairs

    Thanks for the review! We're glad to hear you're enjoying your work here.


Showing 247 of 736 reviews
Reset Filters