MITRE Reviews in McLean, VA | Glassdoor

MITRE McLean Reviews

Updated May 25, 2017
243 reviews

Filter

Filter

McLean, VA

243 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
Cons
  • The quality of work-life balance has deteriorated (in 18 reviews)

  • The of lower management to impress upper management on the work of the umderlings was unreal (in 21 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Interesting and innovative workplace with good stability"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Strategist in McLean, VA
    Current Employee - Senior Strategist in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MITRE full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Healthy work-life balance; talented and hard-working colleagues; an opportunity to contribute to objective and interesting solutions in the pubic interest

    Cons

    The environment and mindset can be a bit old-school. MITRE is striving to assemble a more diverse workforce yet leadership remains significantly male and Caucasian.

    MITRE Response

    Apr 29, 2016 – Comms Representative

    Thanks for your review!


  2. Helpful (5)

    "MITRE - its not a pope hat"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Software Engineer in McLean, VA
    Current Employee - Lead Software Engineer in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MITRE full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Work Life Balance is great
    Enjoyable and impactful work
    Benefits are not too bad
    Tons of "lifers" 20+ years

    Cons

    Only way to get promoted is to go into management
    Managers are really unskilled at management as they are all promoted technical people

    Advice to Management

    Hire some people out of business school

    MITRE Response

    Apr 29, 2016 – Comms Representative

    Thanks for posting. We’re happy to hear you enjoy MITRE’s work-life balance and your work. We are currently working on a technical career path initiative to better clarify a path for those interested ... More


  3. Helpful (2)

    "Great Place"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Sys in McLean, VA
    Current Employee - Lead Sys in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at MITRE full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great place to learn. Great benefits. Flexible work hours.

    Cons

    Remote work is almost impossible. It's a fend for yourself mentality. Management does not support...but peers are very supportive.

    MITRE Response

    Apr 29, 2016 – Comms Representative

    Thanks for your review. We’re sorry to hear that you have not been able to successfully work remotely. Many MITRE employees enjoy that ability to do so, and we recommend discussing this further with ... More


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (16)

    "Was once one of the best companies to work for"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    Current Employee - Information Systems Engineer in McLean, VA
    Current Employee - Information Systems Engineer in McLean, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MITRE full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Retirement benefits are great, make sure you put in the max. Good internal and external education opportunities. Depending on where in IT you work benefits like work life balance and teleworking can be great.

    Cons

    Policies that are meant to be division/organization wide are implemented very differently. There is a strong lack of accountability when it comes to IT. There is also a lot of favorability to certain departments over another. The new review process they have implemented is far worse than the previous. Without sharing information like what value (numerically in the new system) the role you have in your department is valued, it is impossible to get a clear idea of how well you did. There are scenarios where a top performing employee is given a low number for their job role, and could score numerically in the system as a mediocre employee who is "valued" more at the higher levels. The system was communicated as a method to promote fairness, and with the current method of communicating your results makes that impossible.

    If you are looking to make money do not come here, the increases are incredibly low even if you are a top performer.

    Advice to Management

    Fix the review process and be more transparent.

    MITRE Response

    Apr 29, 2016 – Comms Representative

    Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear you are making the most of the retirement benefits and educational opportunities at MITRE. Because each center is sponsored by different government ... More


  6. Helpful (4)

    "Good work-life balance"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Research Analyst in McLean, VA
    Current Employee - Operations Research Analyst in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MITRE full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    There is a very good work life balance here and a lot of flexibility of working hours. The atmosphere is also very friendly and not cut-throat. There is also a lot of support moving between contracts.

    Cons

    There is limited career growth for early-career professionals. Promotions can be fairly slow moving.

    MITRE Response

    Apr 27, 2016 – Comms Representative

    We regularly hear that our employees continue to make MITRE a great place to work, and we appreciate that they make others feel welcome and appreciated. We recommend that you talk to your manager ... More


  7. Helpful (12)

    "Lead Engineer"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Engineer in McLean, VA
    Current Employee - Lead Engineer in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MITRE full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Excellent life-work balance and retirement benefits.

    Cons

    Pretty much impossible to get promoted.

    Advice to Management

    I am at the top of my pay scale, and receive no merit raises (just the lump sum). This is very demoralizing and demotivating, especially now when you are trying to be more open and transparent. Please think about the many people in a no-raise position when you tell us how well the new performance review system is working (because it is not working for us).

    MITRE Response

    Jan 11, 2016 – Comms Representative

    Thank you for your review. We encourage you to speak to your manager to discuss where you might like to take your career and ways to accomplish your development goals. We encourage you to share your ... More


  8. Helpful (16)

    "Don't believe the training hype! Ever!!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Technician in McLean, VA
    Former Employee - Operations Technician in McLean, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MITRE full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    The company stays true to sticking closely to maintaining a work - life balance. Offer "free" opportunities to refresh skills or try new things with internal training.

    Cons

    Make sure you will be satisfied with your starting salary for a few years, because not only is the method of laddering disappointing, but unless you are personal friends with management you can forget opportunity for promotion within. Training provided is limited and overall lacks substance.

    Advice to Management

    Train people well enough so they can leave, treat them well enough so they don't want to. - Richard Branson

    MITRE Response

    Oct 21, 2015 – Comms Representative

    Thanks for your review. It’s great to hear that you took advantage of some of the internal training opportunities that MITRE offers. We hope that our current employees will be pleased with the new ... More


  9. Helpful (8)

    "Great company that can do better"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in McLean, VA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MITRE full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    As many others have said, you cannot beat MITRE’s work-life balance and benefits. Some assignments are better than others but you can manage to move around over time and find a good niche. People are generally respectful and it is a great place to land if you need a break from a hectic for-profit corporate environment. Among the staff, there is a strong sense of altruism and desire to help the government.

    Cons

    Advancement and promotions can be painfully slow. Inbred management would rather be doing PowerPoint engineering or talking about the engineering stuff they did years ago. You can lose your edge if you hang around too long.

    Advice to Management

    Stop the incessant banter about how special we are and how much the government needs us. We can and should be doing a lot better. Get out to conferences more and engage more with staff and our government sponsors

    MITRE Response

    Oct 21, 2015 – Comms Representative

    Thank you for taking the time to comment. We agree that our staff’s strong sense of altruism and desire to help the government is part of what makes us successful. We encourage you to speak to your ... More


  10. Helpful (12)

    "hit and miss"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Info Systems Engineer, Lead in McLean, VA
    Current Employee - Info Systems Engineer, Lead in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    1) Reasonable pay and benefits for new hires. (This deteriorates over time, as pay raises are low at MITRE)
    2) The work-life balance is really unbeatable in the DC area.
    3) Opportunities for advanced degree reimbursement (MS and PhD degrees)
    4) Sometimes -- and this is highly variable -- the opportunity to do interesting or impactful project work

    Cons

    1) "Who you know" is very important at MITRE for getting good project assignments, just as it is at most consulting companies.
    2) Skill obsolescence is tolerated at MITRE. There is quite a bit of dead wood in the MTS-5/MTS-6 ranks.
    3) MITRE staff and management often reinforce the bad behaviors of our sponsors: Laziness, indecision, lack of accountability, lack of results.
    4) The "Strengthen the Technical Core" (STC) process is corrupt and broken --> It needs to be less subjective and more evidence based.

    Advice to Management

    STC needs to closely examine the documented RESULTS of our project work, not just the subjective opinions MITRE employees that want to self-congratulate themselves. Org. performance management is a fairly well defined subject matter domain. MITRE should make the STC process focus on project performance management and customer mission impacts, and less on popularity surveys.

    MITRE Response

    Oct 21, 2015 – Comms Representative

    We appreciate your feedback. We’re happy to hear that you enjoy MITRE’s benefits. MITRE’s Strengthening the Core process has provided good feedback and is continuing to evolve as we learn more.


  11. Helpful (1)

    "ehhhhh"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Developer Intern in McLean, VA
    Former Intern - Software Developer Intern in McLean, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MITRE as an intern (More than a year)

    Pros

    get to do literally top secret research; grad school program; people are friendly
    average tenure is probably a while

    Cons

    bureaucracy: there is a dress code, they're strict about hours
    everyone is locked away in their separate offices during work hours, so it's hard to meet people
    interns rarely get to check in code
    no perks
    compensation is lacking

    Advice to Management

    cut out the filler

    MITRE Response

    Oct 21, 2015 – Comms Representative

    Thank you for your feedback. We’re happy you enjoyed the research you were doing while interning at MITRE. We’re sorry to hear that you had trouble meeting others during your time here and didn’t ... More


Showing 243 of 722 reviews
Reset Filters