MITRE Reviews | Glassdoor

MITRE Reviews

Updated July 24, 2017
689 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

689 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • In many departments, having work/life balance is just talk (in 19 reviews)

  • The of lower management to impress upper management on the work of the umderlings was unreal (in 22 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at MITRE full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    It is good work/life balance here

    Cons

    I guess benefits could be better

    MITRE Response

    Jul 14, 2017 – Public Affairs

    Thanks for your review!


  2. Helpful (1)

    "Organizational Chanages"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at MITRE full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Great benefits at this time
    Terrific co-workers

    Cons

    Organizational changes are happening too fast and it does not appear that enough thought is occurring before implementation. Too many new hires without job postings.

    Advice to Management

    Slow down and think about the decisions that are being made and how it will affect the 8,000+ employees. Without employees management will not have jobs.

    MITRE Response

    Jul 14, 2017 – Public Affairs

    I'm glad to hear that you're enjoying working with the amazing staff here. Your feedback about the pace of organizational change is appreciated. I'm interested in hearing more of your perspective and... More

  3. "Senior Cyber Security Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MITRE full-time

    Pros

    Great place to learn and grow.

    Cons

    Working for non-profit pay may not reflect that of a private industry

    MITRE Response

    Jul 14, 2017 – Public Affairs

    We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your work here!


  4. "Great flexibility and management support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Cyber Security Engineer
    Current Employee - Senior Cyber Security Engineer
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at MITRE full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Management allows you to work independently with zero micromanaging. They are also flexible in allowing you to come in early/late and leave early/late, as long as you are completing your hours during the pay period.

    Cons

    There are so many tenured personnel that it can be hard to promote into management.

    Advice to Management

    Be more willing to pay for career enrichment training without having to directly bill a customer.

    MITRE Response

    Jul 14, 2017 – Public Affairs

    Thanks for your review!


  5. "Work Life Balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MITRE full-time

    Pros

    MITRE Has the best work life balance for their employees

    Cons

    The culture tends to be on the older side.

    MITRE Response

    Jul 14, 2017 – Public Affairs

    Glad to hear that you're enjoying our work/life balance!


  6. "Contract Recruiter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Great people great environment at Mitre

    Cons

    Huge campus in McLean Va

    MITRE Response

    Jul 14, 2017 – Public Affairs

    Thanks for your review!


  7. Helpful (1)

    "Awesome company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Assistant in McLean, VA
    Former Employee - Executive Assistant in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MITRE full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great pay and benefits some of the best I've seen. Company definitely gives employees the opportunity to improve their skills.

    Cons

    Too competitive resulting in unethical behavior. Some upper level management seem to endorse this behavior. Need to spend time deterring this type of behavior.

    Advice to Management

    Spend time resolving issues that seriously affect the work environment.

    MITRE Response

    May 19, 2017 – Public Affairs

    Thanks for your review! We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your time here.
    As a public-service oriented organization, we take ethics seriously, and believe that it's critical for all employees to... More

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in McLean, VA
    Current Employee - Project Manager in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MITRE full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Wicked smart people, important mission, unusual business model (FFRDC),

    Cons

    At times overly conservative, many have the "engineering mindset" - which his solve the problem first and launch "a pilot" before investigating how to work across the organization to solve a problem corporately.

    Advice to Management

    Keep going with your reorganization efforts - you CAN change a winning strategy to make it stronger

    MITRE Response

    May 19, 2017 – Public Affairs

    Thanks for your review! We appreciate the feedback.


  9. "Mitre review by ARS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Systems Engineer in McLean, VA
    Current Employee - Principal Systems Engineer in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at MITRE full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Work life balance is a priority and expected at Mitre. Clients present interesting opportunities for meaningful and interesting work. Compensation and benefits are among the best for not for profit Federally Funded Research and Development Centers.

    Cons

    Organization structure is relatively flat and may limit opportunities for upward progression.

    Advice to Management

    No advice, leaders are open to suggestions and show a genuine concern for their employees.

    MITRE Response

    May 19, 2017 – Public Affairs

    Glad to hear you're enjoying your work – and work/life balance!


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Flexible, engaging, and challenging. Great people!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Systems Engineer in Bedford, MA
    Current Employee - Software Systems Engineer in Bedford, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MITRE full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    - Incredibly smart, kind coworkers.
    - Managers who genuinely want you to succeed (and help you get there)
    - Culture of collaboration
    - Coworkers will drop what they're doing to help someone else learn and grow
    - Innovative environment where I feel challenged
    - Flexible schedule
    - Great PTOB allowance
    - Tons of career options, no matter if you're younger or older
    - Extremely generous education reimbursement
    - Fun environment - lots of hackathons and other activities

    Cons

    - Typical 'old boys club' mentality among some of the older male employees. They are allowed to treat others badly because of their government connections and ability to 'bring in business'. That is found more on the Project side. Get yourself into a Tech Center and you'll find a lot less of that. Also, most of the 'bad apples' (again, there are only a handful in a company of thousands) are retiring now and the younger folks are much better.

    - Engineering leaders (PLs, CEs) should be required to take the same management/people-facing classes as Group Leaders and Department Heads. Many engineers cannot deal well with people and could definitely use some training on the subject!

    - Nepotism abounds (can be good in some cases, but terrible in others)

    Advice to Management

    HR, if there are multiple bad reports on one employee, it shouldn't matter how much business they bring in, please fire them. MITRE has so much going for it, weed out the bad apples.

    MITRE Response

    May 19, 2017 – Public Affairs

    We're glad to hear that you're enjoying the culture and career opportunities here! We appreciate your feedback on the other issues you raised. We encourage you to share your concerns with your HR... More


Showing 689 of 736 reviews
Reset Filters