MITRE Reviews | Glassdoor

MITRE Reviews

Updated July 24, 2017
689 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

689 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • In many departments, having work/life balance is just talk (in 19 reviews)

  • The of lower management to impress upper management on the work of the umderlings was unreal (in 22 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Information Systems Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Information Systems Engineer in Washington, DC
    Current Employee - Information Systems Engineer in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MITRE full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Great benefits, Flex Hours, Paid Vacation, Training, and higher studies

    Cons

    Lack of growth, Stale Job

    MITRE Response

    Apr 3, 2017 – Public Affairs

    Thanks for your review!


  2. Helpful (1)

    "MITRE-Great Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends

    I have been working at MITRE full-time

    Pros

    Great retirement, education and other benefits.There is work/life balance.

    Cons

    Limited opportunities for people in finance compared to engineers. No bonuses and raises are low.

    MITRE Response

    Apr 3, 2017 – Public Affairs

    Thanks for your review!

  3. Helpful (6)

    "Worst run company for whom I have ever worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at MITRE full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    There are some smart people. Many not smart or imaginative.

    Cons

    Lots of dead weight. Current "MITRE Way" aside from being pretentious, makes up no-work jobs with overlapping responsibilities for very expensive level 6 and 7 staff who add no positive value for the customer. Then leadership bemoans that customers don't understand why we are so expensive... If you are having a conversation about cost, then you're value propostiion isn't very good.

    Claiming low overhead while shifting overhead cost to direct is dishonest.

    Just appointed the second CEO that has no work experience outside MITRE. The last one was the sucker of the industry. Expect nothing better from Jason.

    Advice to Management

    Get a grip before it's too late.

    MITRE Response

    Apr 7, 2017 – Public Affairs

    We're sorry to hear that you're not happy. We receive regular feedback from our sponsors, who tell us they are happy with the value we add and the contributions we make to their missions. These... More


  4. Helpful (8)

    "Principal Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Engineer
    Current Employee - Principal Engineer
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at MITRE full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    This is a post retirement job. You can work here well into your 70s or 80s if you desire.

    Cons

    Company does not value great technical people. There is no real upward path for great technical people. Company is highly political. So called leaders and managers do not know how to lead and manage. Managers throw their own people under the bus. This has happened to me and numerous colleagues (current and former) all across the company. If someone has a grudge against you, they can say something to your manager and that will negatively taint your annual review. Truly poor performing people only get moved around the company but do not get fired. Management have their heads buried in the sand until poor performing Staal get fired by customers. Large numbers of qualified technical staff are leaving the company. NOT JOIN THIS FIRM!

    Advice to Management

    Start taking charge and truly managing downwards. Treat your employees respectfully and get rid of.all the dead wood in the firm. Most Level 4s and above are overpaid for what they do. Take employee complaints seriously and stop permitting middle level/department managers and project leaders from responding to their subordinate staff with reprisals if complaints are made against managerial staff.

    MITRE Response

    Apr 3, 2017 – Public Affairs

    Thank you for your feedback. A variety of elements factor into performance assessments. Managers take into account feedback from several sources including supervisors, project leaders, and... More


  5. "Wonderful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Clinical Analyst in Falls Church, VA
    Current Employee - Senior Clinical Analyst in Falls Church, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MITRE full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    The company has great Benefits especially for tuition reimbursement and loan repayments. Great work life balance. Teleworking full time from home

    Cons

    The company doesn't really offer much in performance No bonus and only a 3-5% annual raise based on where you fall in your pay band and your performance

    Advice to Management

    Incentivize early career professionals for staying long term

    MITRE Response

    Apr 3, 2017 – Public Affairs

    Glad to hear that you're enjoying the flexibility and benefits!


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to work, great benefits, career advancements limited"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MITRE full-time

    Pros

    Good place to work, great benefits. Highly educated work force

    Cons

    Govt. work has many ups and downs. Sponsor work often gets repetitive and boring. MITRE does do research work but being a non profit the research $$s are very limited and tough competition

    Advice to Management

    They need to support diverse work force. Company's diversity does not reflect the society. Talent management is a skill that needs to be developed.

    MITRE Response

    Apr 3, 2017 – Public Affairs

    Glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience here! We are excited and impressed by the diversity of talent that our recruiting team is bringing in and are continuously reevaluating our recruiting... More


  7. "Administrative Assistant Jobs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Bedford, MA
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Bedford, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MITRE full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Non-profit company. Very good benefits. Fairly flexible work schedule. Good pay.

    Cons

    Large corporation where sometimes you feel like you're just a number and a statistic that looks good on paper. Sometimes felt Admin. staff were treated as second class.

    Advice to Management

    I would advise management to be more open to suggestions from Admin staff who often try to make things run more effectively and efficiently. Engineers are great at Engineering. Not always great at managing Administrative Assistants.

    MITRE Response

    Apr 3, 2017 – Public Affairs

    We're glad to hear that you enjoyed the benefits and flexibility! We value all employees here and appreciate your feedback regarding administrative assistants.

  8. "Great Company to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in Bedford, MA
    Former Employee - Intern in Bedford, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MITRE (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great company, I liked the MITRE culture, it seemed very supportive and conducive. I felt as though I was part of my team.

    Cons

    Commute is almost never good regardless of where you live

    MITRE Response

    Apr 3, 2017 – Public Affairs

    Glad to hear that you enjoyed our culture!


  9. "engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at MITRE full-time

    Pros

    people, challenge, gym, benefits, pay

    Cons

    none really unless you don't like DOD

    MITRE Response

    Apr 3, 2017 – Public Affairs

    Thanks for your review!


  10. Helpful (5)

    "Insider view"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at MITRE full-time

    Pros

    Work from home and flexible hours

    Cons

    Unfair promotion and low utilization of skillsets

    MITRE Response

    Apr 3, 2017 – Public Affairs

    We're glad to hear that you appreciate the flexible hours and ability to work from home. We encourage you to discuss your concerns about your career path with your supervisor or HR business partner.... More


Showing 689 of 736 reviews
Reset Filters