KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

MITRE

Engaged Employer

MITRE

Add a Review

MITRE Employee Reviews about "sponsors"

Updated Jan 18, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 113 of over 1,447 reviews

3.9
75%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
MITRE President & CEO Jason Providakes
Jason Providakes
396 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good benefits and nice work-life balance(in 372 reviews)

  • "Great benefits and pay for a Florida-based job(in 80 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Company is losing its value proposition to sponsors(in 70 reviews)

  • "Upper management has lost touch with Operations personnel(in 35 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of MITRE and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "sponsors"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Tremendous Benefits

      Oct 19, 2020 - Cyber Security Engineer in Huntsville, AL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great retirement benefits and matching.

      Cons

      Lots of on sponsor site work

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Running Off The Rails Began Over 20 Years Ago

      Jan 18, 2021 - Lead Multi-Discipline Systems Engineer in Bedford, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Competent Peers Excellent health and retirement benefits Interesting projects with real value

      Cons

      Poor workforce organization. Departments should be Project Centers eliminating redundant cross-discipline management structure What company of this size needs 21+ VPs?!! Employee review and value system is archaic and biased Becoming too politically close to sponsors, devaluing real independence.

      Continue reading
      18 people found this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee

      great Non-For Profit Systems Engineering Co.

      Dec 17, 2020 - IT Systems Security Engineer in Lawrenceville, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Pension Plan High Tuition Assistance Program for Advanced Degrees Good training from MITRE Institute

      Cons

      A lot of changing with support of sponsor organizations Performance rating system changes too frequently Not enough employee feedback from leadership

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Long-time engineer mini-review

      Nov 12, 2020 - Senior Systems/Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits, interesting work and sponsors, ability to choose projects

      Cons

      Path to promotion can be elusive if not working in main HQ location (Boston, DC)

      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Current Freelancer, more than 8 years

      Things Feel Very Different

      Nov 6, 2020 - Chief Bottle Washer in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      World class IT infrastructure and information sharing is the best I've seen anywhere outside the googles and apples of the world. Given MITRE manages multiple FFRDCs involved in supporting many agencies across the US government without firewalls is extremely powerful and is high value to the sponsors. There are pockets of technical excellence that are world class rooted in unique expertise and longevity of the employees. This is coupled with mutual trust and respect given MITRE has been mission focused and traditionally not been bottom-line driven. Much of the Dir level and middle management have been brought up to care and feed the staff with focus of sponsor needs. This is often a thankless job, but they generally care about the people and the success of the company.

      Cons

      Constant deck chair shuffling which has only accelerated with the recent reorg, overloading middle management with constant and poorly thought through initiatives that are near impossible to be genuine when communicating down. I assume this is caused by execs with too much time on their hands due to COVID. Change is great with proper business model development and clear objectives. The MITRE culture has always fostered healthy discussion on company direction that doesn't seem to be acceptable any longer....too many L6s, L7s and VPs scared for their jobs are not able to be independent leaders. Things are breaking and the GLINT survey won't tell you what you need to hear to fix things because of the fear. Hiring VPs that don't understand the FFRDC model and culture and are trying to change us into a commercial-model professional services company and some form of product company. They don't know the staff who have grown up together. MITRE is becoming bottom-line driven which is the exact reason many left other companies to come to MITRE...this is creating considerable confusion at all levels as the mission driven soul of the company appears to be disappearing.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Pretty good...but some problems with the C-Suite

      Aug 20, 2020 - Senior Principal Software Engineer in New Bedford, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Been at MITRE for a while and it’s a tribute to the work force and some executives of how we’ve persevered during the Covid pandemic. My colleagues are very astute and technically competent and have been here for a while which is unheard of on the technical software side given the private sector demand. We are going through a major reorganization, which seems to the norm these days, but staying optimistic given the demand from our sponsor. Nothing like job security during times of Covid.

      Cons

      Pretty good overall but lots of bureaucracy. I mentioned the steadiness during the Covid crisis but mind blowing that management would think layoffs wouldn’t have any repercussions during this time of anxiousness. Everyone is scared they may be next. And beyond recycled buzzwords, CEO never gives a good analytical reason for the numerous organizational changes which always unsettles the workforce and no one knows how to explain the changes to sponsors. CEO views himself as bold while most of us view him as entitled, without direction and always chasing the next shiny object.

      Continue reading
      25 people found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Great work environment and support but losing focus and getting woke

      Sep 8, 2020 - Lead Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      MITRE continues to press forward with really thinking about work-life balance and pressing forward to enable employees to work remotely. Initiatives like making company-paid iPhones available to nearly all employees, expanding tele-presence so we have been helping our sponsors who lack sufficient teleconference capability, increasing flexibility on work hours, etc. The company took the pandemic seriously early on and shut down company travel. Even now corporate travel requires VP-level approval and the company requests notification and isolation if the employee engages in personal travel. In a recent company-wide telecon, the company president encouraged employees to take Friday off and turn Labor Day weekend into a four-day break. The company encourages innovation and has been opening up its definition of innovation. Previously, only "new science" or "new technology" qualified but demonstrating new ways to get value for our sponsors, even if it uses COTS equipment, is getting funded.

      Cons

      The same company president got somewhat political on a company-wide teleconference 3 months ago and company VPs also engaged in rhetoric and speculated about directing contracts toward black-owned businesses. Many employees also engaged in harassing anyone who felt an analytically-focused company dedicated to public service should be guided by objective numbers and factors instead of socio-political trends. It actually had me thinking for the first time (even if only for a moment) about leaving the company -- this in the middle of a pandemic and uncertain economic circumstances nationwide. It's hard to separate personal and work life philosophically and politically when being inundated and spammed with the "woke" agenda.

      Continue reading
      18 people found this review helpful

      MITRE Response

      Employee Relations Representative

      Thank you for your feedback and for recognizing the seriousness with which we took the pandemic and the effort we made to support our employees, their families, and our sponsors throughout. Regarding our work, we know we add value to our sponsors and the public by bringing our systems-view and evidence-based approach to tackle complex issues. Because we operate in the public-interest, we have a responsibility to use our unparalleled ability to convene problem-solvers to address difficult challenges, and we are proud of our track record of providing objective, apolitical data, products, and capabilities to help policymakers and public and private sector leaders find effective, equitable solutions.

    8. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Great mission suffering under poor leadership

      Aug 24, 2020 - Department Head in McLean, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Mission alignment with sponsor organizations enhances “doing the right thing”. Reasonable pace of work and work/life balance. Strong education programs. Opportunities to work in different areas abound. Leadership response to COVID has been a highlight in an otherwise ineffective leadership culture.

      Cons

      CEO and Sr Leadership disconnected from middle management and rank and file. Leadership has created a culture of “do as I say or suffer consequences”. Intellectually honest debate no longer tolerated and those who don’t parrot the leadership line are ignored, discarded, or targeted for separation/demotion. Leadership musical chairs often results in long successful engineers and managers having to recompete (often unsuccessfully) for their old jobs because they are not part of the “in crowd”. Morale issues continue to grow.

      Continue reading
      47 people found this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Great People to Work With!

      Aug 13, 2020 - Senior Principal in McLean, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Employees are committed to serving the Public interest.

      Cons

      Company is losing its value proposition to sponsors.

      9 people found this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Poor CEO Leadership and Too Many Changes

      Jul 4, 2020 - Software Engineer in McLean, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      MITRE offers a tremendous amount of autonomy and flexibility to employees. Most staff have the ability to traverse projects across MITRE's many FFRDC's. This allows staff to follow growth opportunities and get away from stagnant or less-impactful projects. On the personal side, MITRE's flextime benefit is amazing and allows you to make your own workday outside of obligations that have to be met (meetings and deliverable deadlines). Benefits are excellent and pay is good, although benefits have been slowly lessened in the past several years (health insurance cuts, paid time off flexibility, etc..) COVID response and ability of company to telework are impressive. Financials are incredibly strong. If you are in agreement with leadership's politics and don't mind treading the waters of bureaucracy to make a decent living, I would recommend MITRE to others.

      Cons

      MITRE culture has been rapidly deteriorating with the endorsement of certain political and social viewpoints/values (but not others). Likewise, C suite level leadership is a revolving door and the CEO has done a very poor job of implementing change, communicating vision, and keeping MITRE a non-partisan, apolitical place to perform impactful work for the US Government. Our campuses (headquarters) are top notch. Some sites are not. If you are applying for a position outside of Bedford or Mclean make sure you visit in person before accepting the position. MITRE is still top-heavy with a bunch of level 5 and 6 leadership that doesn't do much of anything. Technical career advancement can be tough, and most level 4's ad 5's (mid level employees) are non-technical to the point that it becomes burdensome to Level 1, 2, and 3 staff who actually have current engineering competency. Our organizational structure is not conducive to the way we aim to support our sponsors. This may change with the current re-organization, but I doubt it with Jason Providakes in charge.

      Continue reading
      43 people found this review helpful

      MITRE Response

      At MITRE, we are proud of our mission and our employees who deliver impactful work in service of the public interest. Offering growth opportunities, flexibility and excellent benefits are part of our commitment to providing our employees with experiences to grow, thrive and prosper. Our innovative approach, technical know-how and objective insight are exemplified in our collective response as an organization to COVID-19, and also in the work that we do every day. With the support of our Board of Trustees, we recently announced changes resulting in a more seamless organization that enables greater agility, speed, and boldness while driving excellence through collaboration and innovation. These decisions are never taken lightly; they are deliberate, thought-through, and grounded in our corporate strategy. We continue to be a non-partisan organization that operates in the public interest by being innovative on multiple levels to deliver solutions to our sponsors and partners to make our world a safer place. As pioneers for a better future, we are proud to provide an environment where all of us can safely and openly discuss the current events we face in our communities and work to solve—in partnership with others—some of the biggest challenges facing our society today.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 113 Reviews

    Popular Careers with MITRE Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at MITRE? Share Your Experiences

    or