MITRE "upper management" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

MITRE Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Jan 4, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
59%
Recommend to a Friend
38%
Approve of CEO
MITRE President & CEO Jason Providakes
Jason Providakes
206 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "At least that’s how MITRE likes to introduce all staff to its sponsors(in 60 reviews)

  • "Lots of turnover in upper management(in 31 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great overall environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Site Administrator in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MITRE part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Opportunities to learn new things. Lots of trust in abilities from immediate supervisors. Great retirement match.

    Cons

    Upper management was not quite as supportive and ensured administrators knew their place.

    MITRE2019-12-31
  2. Helpful (13)

    "Career Sandtrap"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior MultiDisciplinary Systems Engineer in McLean, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at MITRE full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Free parking, good retirement match, tuition reimbursement, well integrated internal portal.

    Cons

    Don't be fooled by the latest rebranding and egalitarian attitude, MITRE is still a staff augmentation company like any contractor in the Beltway. You will be assigned to a location at a customer site just like your manager and their boss. Everyone is billable. Everyone. If you are a project leader you will discover how little is left after management takes their percentage. You are then expected to find cheaper (lower end) staff to backfill your project to carry out actual work. Do not expect any level of support from the management, security, facilities, or anyone else that charges your project for their tax to your project. They are there to ensure the rules are followed, not to advocate for you or smooth your day-to-day operations. You will meet people with two and three Master's degrees and even multiple PhDs -- all paid for by MITRE. However, if you ask for training outside graduate school, "soft skills" development, or attend a conference, you will be told that there is no budget for that or you can "take X time" that has to be worked with extra hours over the next 6 months to cover your lost billable time. You are on your own to navigate career-development and advocates. Your management is busy ensuring the lowest performers are billable and looking for their next big project. Do not look for assistance when you have issues with staff from your management or HR, neither are interested in accountability or ethics violations (and there are many). They will work VERY hard to cover up bad behavior that has existed for years but they have ignored; whether it's poor conduct, questionable time reporting, outright contract violations, or security infractions. If you call it out, your career will be negatively impacted and you will be advised by senior managers to "transfer to a different part of the company." MITRE does not deal with toxic staff, whether they are support staff or upper management. They simply transfer them to a different part of the company and let someone else discover the issues. The most disconcerting part of working for MITRE is the low bar for delivery and the morass that is "technical review." Whether you're a cyber professional, behavioral scientist, or program manager, your skills will drop precipitously here because of the lack of training, accountability, and poor attention to delivery. You will be pulled down into the mire like everyone else and two years from now realize that you can't leave because you are no longer competitive for a job outside MITRE.

    Continue reading
    MITRE2020-01-04
  3. Helpful (46)

    "Increasingly top heavy, at detriment to "regular" employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Engineer in Bedford, MA
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at MITRE full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Work is high impact and interesting. Many great people

    Cons

    Increasing management overhead is taking away from employees. Department management budgets are also decreasing - no charge codes being provided for all hands meetings, less money for training for staff, the number of staff under first-line managers continues to increase while the amount of time they are given to manage stays the same. Employees are left to scrounge for things that are provided routinely at other companies, like a second monitor. Meanwhile more and more VP positions continue to be added, and more upper management is made bonus-eligible. I feel less connected to upper management than I did when I was an entry-level employee, and have heard similar complaints from others.

    Continue reading
    MITRE2019-06-25
  4. Helpful (54)

    "Lots of projects to learn from, too many layers of management, lack of impactful work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Engineer in Bedford, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MITRE full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Lot of nice people. Flexibility to work on multiple projects allows employees to pick up skill sets. You can have a lot of fun and learn a lot depending on the project you're working on. Also depends on the people you're working with on your project. Lots of training opportunities. Management seems to be okay with spending money to getting people certified or furthering their education. Good work-life balance. If you're young, your salary increases will be nice but your industry value will most likely diminish outside of the government space. I encourage people to try interviewing at other places just to get a feel for expectations outside of the MITRE world.

    Cons

    Most of the work you do amounts to a powerpoint presentation and/or a demo and no actual operational impact even if its considered impactful work by upper management. It's unfortunate that for a large number of projects out there, its more important for you to charge your hours than it is to actual contribute meaningful work. Instead of getting fired for not doing your work, you get kicked off the project once they find someone that can fill in your hours, and the cycle continues. Sometimes you're left charging hours on the project until the end of the year. Every few years, MITRE completely changes their "specialty" and then expects everyone to become an expert in that field. This includes spending the effort and energy just to change department names and project names. Security/cyber seems to be the current theme. Some of the people at MITRE are true masters of verbal facade to make things sound really good to the customer. Some people unfortunately just copy and paste materials from vendors and pre-existing documents to claim the work as their own. Management is not very in sync with employees. Your department head probably has very little insight into what you do. If you're lucky your group leader is in sync with your work but has little control over your salary increases.

    Continue reading
    MITRE2019-02-09

    MITRE Response

    February 18, 2019Employee Experience Team

    Thank you for taking the time to share your perspective on multiple topics. We, too, appreciate MITRE’s investment in the career development of our employees, and the emphasis on work/life flexibility. We are proud of the work we do, which continues to have significant impact on the security and wellbeing of our nation, and we are proud of our workforce, which operates with the highest standards of integrity.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Good benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at MITRE full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits and retirement, smart people

    Cons

    Lots of turnover in upper management

    MITRE2019-05-07
  6. Helpful (34)

    "A great place going through a rough time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Group Lead in Bedford, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MITRE full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits. Nice people. The best work/life balance of anywhere I've worked. This is the only place where I was encouraged to truly work only 40 hours a week. There were also many opportunities for career growth. I was encouraged to stretch myself and learn new things constantly. The amount of training and classes offered by the company is amazing. It is a really great place.

    Cons

    The current CEO and COO have created a completely different culture in the company that is not for the better. When I left, a sense of unease and fear was beginning to run rampant. I worked in the Corporate Shared Services organization and I think this org was hit especially hard by the new CEO's desires. The communication of layoffs in this organization in 2018 were handled abominably and this is in comparison to layoffs I've been through at other companies that were handled poorly. I believe these cons can be fixed with different upper management and I honestly hope they are and that I can return to the Mitre that I started at years ago.

    Continue reading
    MITRE2019-01-31

    MITRE Response

    February 6, 2019Employee Experience Team

    Thank you for sharing your perspective. We are very proud to offer a wide range of benefits to support our employees’ growth, including world-class training and development opportunities focused on maximizing our potential. Our work/life flexibility is an important part of who we are as a company and is recognized by our employees regularly in surveys and other forums. We feel strongly about preserving our culture of excellence, integrity and inclusivity, while continually working to enable even greater levels of impact and innovation to serve the public interest. Like many MITRE employees, our leaders are driven by our commitment and passion for our mission. Our talented workforce includes both long-tenured employees as well as many new MITRE employees who offer diverse perspectives and experiences. We are confident that, together, we can continue to meet the needs of our sponsors and grow our impact to address our nation’s most critical challenges.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (30)

    "Lead engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MITRE full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Our small team at a sponsors site is awesome, and we have trustworthy department management.

    Cons

    Awful health care plan. Upper management seems to be tone deaf to the needs and recommendations of long term employees. (Famous quote from all hands: we will now listen to you.). High level managers are leaving. I am considering as well.

    Continue reading
    MITRE2018-11-24
  8. Helpful (50)

    "Hard to get work even after being employed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at MITRE full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    * good work-life balance * flex hours and telecommuting * nice facilities

    Cons

    * dead wood in upper management * too much politics and not enough competency in senior management * it's all about who knows who * age bias in favor of young new hires resulting in many full time employees not finding work 'coverage'

    Continue reading
    MITRE2018-08-22
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Rewarding Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Multi-Disciplinary Systems Engineer in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MITRE full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Impactful work, respected company, experienced peers, great middle management

    Cons

    Harder for early-career, less strictly technical work, upper management

    Continue reading
    MITRE2018-09-24
  10. Helpful (7)

    "Project Leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Leader in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MITRE full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Highly talented workforce; excellent benefits; flexible work arrangements; very professional workplace. One of the best companies I've ever worked for - woudl highly recommend.

    Cons

    Upper management is a bit bloated and out of touch; technical company that hasn't figured out how to establish a clear technical track.

    Continue reading
    MITRE2018-04-28

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 31 reviews