Cover image for MITRE
Logo

MITRE

Engaged Employer

MITRE

Add a Review

MITRE Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Nov 2, 2021

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 1,784 of over 2K reviews
3.9
73% Recommend to a Friend
MITRE President & CEO Jason Providakes
58% Approve of CEO

Found 55 of over 2K reviews

3.9
73%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
MITRE President & CEO Jason Providakes
Jason Providakes
582 Ratings

What people are saying about MITRE

Join the conversation on

Salary Negotiations

3m

works at 

MITRE

Question for MITRE employees: if you already work at MITRE, then apply to a different job vacancy (within MITRE but in a different department and where the position is externally advertised), and then get the position… how do you handle the salary negotiation? ………….. Let’s say the new department offers you 180k… I know you’re always allowed to ask for more, but do you negotiate for more or no because you’re already a MITRE staffer? If you do, how much more would you ask for above 180k?

3

1 Comment

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
  • "There seems to be a divide between management and technical staff (with the exception of Ph.Ds concentrating on research).(in 74 reviews)
  • "workers are not technical (without engineering degree training) and many managers' resume (their resumes are online) include graduate degrees that are useless for technical work.(in 54 reviews)
  • "Senior leadership quietly watching the CEO deteriorate the quality and integrity of the company in fear of their jobs.(in 47 reviews)
  • "Salaries are low but competitive by non(in 40 reviews)
  • "Upper management is a bit bloated and out of touch; technical company that hasn't figured out how to establish a clear technical track.(in 31 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of MITRE and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Amazing workplace

    Aug 28, 2021 - Lead Systems Engineer in McLean, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Interesting and meaningful projects, great benefits, authentic coworkers. Support for education and risk taking.

    Cons

    Some bureaucracy. Lower level employees sometimes disconnected from upper management.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Good work/life balance but terrible pay and no growth opportunities

    Nov 2, 2021 - Financial Analyst in McLean, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work/life balance Some of the health benefits

    Cons

    You aren’t paid well if you aren’t technical Top heavy Mid-Management doesn’t listen to employees Lack of diversity in upper management

    9 people found this review helpful
  3. Join the MITRE team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 1.0
    Current Employee

    Was a good company, headed down fast

    Sep 24, 2021 - IT Systems Security Engineer in Fairfax, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great work life balance. Good sponsors and great people at lower levels and that work close to customers.

    Cons

    Current CEO and upper management are leftist activists and have turned this formerly neutral company overtly partisan. They are slowly abandoning DoD and intel work which was the foundation of the company in favor of political civilian agencies (like HHS) and NGO groups . Management use CRT and covid/Vax rules to segregate staff, lots of tension between employees and with management now.

    Continue reading
    30 people found this review helpful

    MITRE Response

    Employee Relations Representative

    At MITRE, we are proud of our 60-year legacy as a proven, public-interest organization across an increasing array of fields and domains. From our early roots working with the DOD – we are expanding our national and global impact as we partner across government, industry, and academia in the fields of health, cyber, justice, veterans affairs, social innovation, government modernization, and security and intelligence. Our value rests in our role as an independent and objective advisor, that serves our citizens and nation through a non-partisan, evidence-based approach that does not advocate for any specific position. We encourage and strive for diversity of thought and discourse across our organization, but we are apolitical in the solutions that we develop and deliver and always through a neutral lens in support of solving problems for a safer world.

  5. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Good pay; amazing benefits; great people; great work-life balance

    May 28, 2021 - Business Systems Engineer in McLean, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -No always be billing (ABB) attitude as a non-profit -Intelligent, considerate people -Should still make 6 digits as an early-career consultant/engineer -Amazing job security -High retirement match (7.5% min, 10% max) -Good insurance, high-deductible HSA option (MITRE contributes $650+ per year) -Great educational benefits and loan assistance ($1800 a year for 3 years) -Great cafeteria and gym at good prices (for NOVA)

    Cons

    -Don't pay middle to upper management quite as much as for-profits

    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Less of a family than it used to be, still more than most jobs

    Apr 7, 2021 - Senior Financial Advisor - Financial Planning in Herndon, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work/Life balance Waking up in the morning feeling like you're making the world a better place

    Cons

    Upper management has failed to effectively communicate its vision Emphasis on process over people has made the company feel colder to work for

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  7. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Not A Good Place for Women to Work

    Mar 20, 2021 - Business Analyst 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Ability to work on a variety of projects. Work-life balance can be fairly decent.

    Cons

    Sexism and ageism is rampant, particularly in upper management. Favoritism is evident in management positions, particularly when favored employees are called out and not reprimanded in the slightest. Hypocritical management styles. If you stand up for yourself, you're downgraded. Management still acts as though this is the 1950s. MITRE will not survive if they do not start being innovative, and not just innovative in name only.

    Continue reading
    31 people found this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great “Stepping Stone” Job

    Jan 16, 2021 - Cyber Security Engineer in Bedford, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work/life balance Training Mentoring Interesting work if you’re in the right department

    Cons

    Some work can be unsatisfying Upper management can get in the way

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Company is great

    Dec 11, 2020 - Senior Engineer in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very knowledgeable individuals who are highly motivated and experts in their field.

    Cons

    Upper management can tend be a bit hard to reach out to and there is a lot of "high school" drama where there's a hierarchy and there a small handful of people is high positions who are essentially the ring leaders for this

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Average

    Oct 7, 2020 - Finance 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good benefits all around and nice facilities

    Cons

    Corporate organizations have low pay compared to industry and upper management used to value its people and respected their work life balance, but that deteriorated overtime with new management.

    5 people found this review helpful
  11. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Good, not great

    Apr 1, 2020 - Security in Bedford, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work life balance, freedom to make decisions, middle management

    Cons

    Upper management has lost touch with Operations personnel. H.R. falls back on “canned" responses

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful

    MITRE Response

    Employee Experience Team

    We appreciate your feedback. We provide opportunities to hear from our team through our regular Pulse surveys, lunch discussions and virtual coffee with our CEO, staff focus groups, all-employee meetings, and other forums. We hope that you’ll take advantage of these opportunities, and we encourage you, or anyone with a specific concern, to talk to your manager or your HR Business Partner.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 55 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with MITRE Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at MITRE? Share Your Experiences

MITRE logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

MITRE Photos

+ Add Photo
MITRE photo of: MITRE CEO Jason Providakes talks with employees about our vision of pioneering for a better future.
MITRE workplace photo
MITRE workplace photo
MITRE workplace photo
MITRE workplace photo
MITRE workplace photo
MITRE workplace photo
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

MITRE Job Seekers Also Viewed

Gallup Logo
Gallup

4.1

887 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 1,784 MITRE reviews submitted anonymously by MITRE employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if MITRE is right for you.