MITRE "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

MITRE Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Jan 27, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
59%
Recommend to a Friend
38%
Approve of CEO
MITRE President & CEO Jason Providakes
Jason Providakes
206 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "At least that’s how MITRE likes to introduce all staff to its sponsors(in 60 reviews)

  • "Lots of turnover in upper management(in 31 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (9)

    "Excellent place to work for tech people interested in public service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Group Leader in Bedford, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MITRE full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    MITRE works on interesting and challenging problems for our government sponsors. Great work/life balance - little to no overtime is expected. MITRE management cares about and invests in employees' careers and development. The culture is devoted to providing good R&D to help out the US government and taxpayers. Excellent benefits for the industry: pay, retirement matching, healthcare, facilities, and time off.

    Cons

    As a government FFRDC there are lots of bureaucratic policies, mostly imposed contractually by the government. Additionally as a hierarchical matrix organization, employees often have to deal with "lots of bosses."

    MITRE2019-03-29

    MITRE Response

    April 9, 2019Employee Experience Team

    Thank you for your service at MITRE. Our people are dedicated to solving difficult problems for the good of our nation and the world. As we pursue this mission, we are mindful that everything we achieve as an organization is accomplished by our talented team. We are proud to invest in our people’s compensation, growth and wellbeing.

    Continue reading
  2. "Great Place to Manage Your Own Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Connectivity Engineer in Bedford, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MITRE full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Tremendous job flexibility. Since MITRE has multiple FFRDC contracts, it’s easy to move into a new work area if you need a change. Work-life balance is excellent, and flexible hours working on critical items of national importance provides great incentive to get up and do the job!

    Cons

    Like all larger companies, work politics sometimes shows up. Nevertheless, navigating these waters is a must for almost any job.

    MITRE2020-01-18

    MITRE Response

    February 11, 2020Employee Experience Team

    Thank you for your perspective. We agree that there are many opportunities to maximize your potential and achieve your career aspirations at MITRE. Continuous learning and development, as well as collaborative work programs, are part of what drives a strong talent experience at MITRE and innovative solutions for our sponsors and partners, as together we tackle challenges to complex, global-scale problems.

    Continue reading
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. Helpful (14)

    "Works for some"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Engineer in Bedford, MA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MITRE full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    * Excellent work life balance. Your work and work load is up to you. * Coworkers are very nice, and for the most part actually care about helping the customers succeed. * Benefits are good. I will say, I never felt angry or upset coming in to work. The work load is pretty much whatever you want to make it, and the people you're surrounded by are friendly. However, you will get to a point where you realize your ambition, talent, and career is dying. Overall, I recommend the company to people who are just starting out, or later in their lives. If you got ambition, you'd do better elsewhere. If you wish to be able to coast, this is a fine place.

    Cons

    * Management is useless. This is especially true at the executive and upper levels. I mean, come on, how does the CEO have a 30% approval and still have his job? Middle management doesn't provide much help in advancing your career or advocating for you in any way. Usually, they barely even know what your project is, or what you do day to do. Their job ends at listening to your yearly review. * Useful work is hard to come by. Many projects are plain old seat filler paper pushing, or have the semblance of usefulness, but will lead to nowhere. * Things are too shrouded. A lot of the work is reproductions of previous work due to real or made up (security theater) restrictions. * Pay becomes quickly non-competitive at the L2-4 ranges. There's no adjustment for actual performance, only a facade. Yearly adjustment is just divided up equally among staff, +/- a few shekels. * The government has a clear bias towards the DC area even though they're supposed to be for the whole nation. Work, opportunity, networking and so on is all focused down in DC area. You will quickly realize you're invisible and have no opportunity up in Bedford. * Overhead on projects is solely there to make your job harder and worse.

    Continue reading
    MITRE2020-01-23
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Potential is there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Comminications Director in McLean, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MITRE full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance is really nice.

    Cons

    Stuck in the past. Old systems. Hard to advance in role people are always jumping around to get to the next level.

    MITRE2020-01-25
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Stress-less Place to Work with no Major Salaries"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Conracts Administrative 

    I have been working at MITRE full-time

    Pros

    Work/life balance is outstanding. Lot's of research areas to get involved with.

    Cons

    Many project and group leads are ineffective managers Salary is very stagnated. No bonuses

    Continue reading
    MITRE2020-01-28
  7. Helpful (20)

    "Where your your potential, skills & goals go to die"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in McLean, VA
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MITRE full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work-life balance - if you’re not deep into a high priority project/sponsor, you’re not doing much. The office is virtually empty after 3:30pm and no one comes to work on Fridays. Campus - easily commutable, 2 coffee shops & cafe The people - a majority of the people you meet and work with are very intelligent and great to be around. With that said, be aware of the snakes in the grass.

    Cons

    Zero career growth or opportunity - any skills or goals you had before joining will be lost in the slow paced, Govt red tape time suck that is MITRE. It’s well known the best way to get promoted at MITRE is actually to leave and come back at a higher level with better pay, and this happens OFTEN. Management - Leadership is appalling. The decision makers are frauds, lying about their education and everything under the sun. Younger/newer staff are used and abused doing the jobs of their managers while getting half the pay. Ethics & Trust - I’ve never seen more unethical behavior in all of my years, and don’t bother making an ethics complaint because you’ll be ignored. For a such a “mission” driven company, they turn a blind eye to the poor managers and employees that are making good employees’ lives painful. Management leads office gossip and talks trash about team members to other team members. I’ve heard some atrocious comments made by management that would be grounds for firing at any other company. By the way, it’s very difficult to get fired at MITRE, especially when you deserve it. Managers and directors (SEVERAL different directors in the last 3 years) in the HR dept are useless and cannot be trusted - that goes for everything from employee relations to recruiting. I’ve never seen such poorly trained/unqualified management and such an underfunded college/experienced hire recruiting program in any company I’ve been at. Culture & Diversity - There.is.none. There’s an entire I&D department that doesn’t do anything. If you think outside the box or offer up opposing viewpoints, be prepared to be labeled as difficult or be shut out from project work. There’s a massive “culture initiative” being led by our CHRO but so far, it’s the same old MITRE way with an extra employee event each season and snacks at meetings. “Be diverse & have a brownie! Nothing will happen if you don’t change, we are just pretending we care!”

    Continue reading
    MITRE2020-01-06
  8. Helpful (13)

    "Trust and Integrity diminishing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Leadership 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at MITRE full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Pays commensurate with industry Good work life balance

    Cons

    Long time employee who sees issues of trust and integrity with senior leadership precipitated by Mitre Way maneuver 7 years ago split the organization and in the view of many staff and leaders ...has created internal power plays and shifts that are not serving the public interest ... Constantly making big changes with little justification Disconnect between senior leadership and the staff, management and customer base...pushing what Mitre sees as value versus what customers see as Mitre value...

    Continue reading
    MITRE2020-01-05

    MITRE Response

    January 16, 2020Employee Experience Team

    At MITRE, we take our role of serving in the public interest very seriously and place the utmost importance on integrity and ethics. We value all of our employee and are proud of the work they do to support our shared mission to make our world a safer place. To empower our employees, we are constantly evolving to strengthen our culture and grow strategically to deliver continued impact and innovation to our sponsors. We encourage anyone with a specific concern to talk to your leader, your division’s HR lead, or our Office of Ethics and Compliance, ethics@mitre.org. If you prefer to remain anonymous, you can contact our employee hotline (800-MITRE-4U) or online reporting service (mycompliancereport.com).

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (38)

    "Loss of relevance."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer (L4) in McLean, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at MITRE full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Metro access/Free parking Workplace facilities Work-life balance Sole source advantage

    Cons

    Self-isolated leadership/management Increasingly undifferentiated from academic and for-profit/industrial roles Favoritism/discrimination limits opportunity to preferred candidates Sub-par professional development opportunities

    Continue reading
    MITRE2019-11-20

    MITRE Response

    December 24, 2019Employee Experience Team

    We do not tolerate discriminatory behavior of any kind. If you have a specific complaint, talk to your leader, your division’s HR lead, or our Office of Ethics and Compliance, ethics@mitre.org. If you prefer to remain anonymous, you can contact our employee hotline (800-MITRE-4U) or online reporting service (mycompliancereport.com).

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (41)

    "Air of superiority that doesn’t deliver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Burlington, MA
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MITRE full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work/life balance, flexible work location, very good retirement

    Cons

    MITRE as an organization grossly inflates its worth. If you like engineering, as in technical problem solving, this is not the place for you. If you like having a million useless meetings, moving at the snails pace of the U.S. Government, and routinely trying to find ways to justify your existence on a project when your organization isn’t really doing anything impactful and has zero control of scope... this may be a good fit. Be prepared to meet the most subject matter experts you’ve ever encountered in one place. At least that’s how MITRE likes to introduce all staff to its sponsors. Even when it’s blatantly false. Which you’ll find it is most of the time. MITRE tends to hire leadership from within and this has led to an echo-chamber/group think mentality that maintains the status quo of tooting your own horn while delivering nothing of any real value. The work is slow and generally not nearly as impactful cutting edge as MITRE claims.

    MITRE2019-11-12

    MITRE Response

    November 22, 2019Employee Experience Team

    We are proud of the work that each and every one of does us at MITRE to support our shared mission of solving problems for a safer world. We value all of our talent and strive to provide the environment in which we can maximize our collective potential. The work we do delivers innovative and impactful technical solutions to our sponsors across government—from patented, trademarked, copyrighted, published, and licensed solutions to tackling challenges in dozens of areas. In cybersecurity, for example, we created MITRE ATTACK(TM), a globally accessible knowledge base of adversary tactics and techniques based on real-world observations. Our employees collaborate closely through public-private partnerships, as well as our sponsor work, to create new solutions to difficult challenges, making a difference both at MITRE and around the world.

    Continue reading
  11. Helpful (30)

    "Hard Pass on this company; POOR work/life balance; meaningless work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Operations Research Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MITRE full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits, notably health care and retirement were really good. Pay was above average

    Cons

    Where to being... 1) MITRE is excellent at "admiring" the problem rather than solving it. It's amazing how often and quickly people there want to set up a perfect text-book problem to solve. Then they find that they can't, due to lack of data or something similar and basically give up and make a recommendation that the government try to collect said data. 2) The corporate culture is terrible. I felt constantly belittled and put down by my colleagues. I think that stems from not being a systems engineer. YOU WILL NOT SUCCEED HERE IF YOU'RE NOT A SYSTEMS ENGINEER. But, as a previous government civilian in a highly strategic environment, I felt that I was fundamentally demoted. Policy and campaign planning down to systems engineering is a step backwards, and I should've been smarter to see that. I don't think I did anything in my five plus years there that is meaningful. 3) The company micromanages you. I was TIRED of trying to build good work for myself, only to find little to no high level support for my endeavors. I was tired of things like Clarity (our resource allocation tool), "resource managers" failing to help people find coverage, useless meetings, project pages, and monthly reports. 4) I'm appalled (still) at the fact the company has no classified infrastructure. Not really. And, there's corporate pushback against going "native," that is, embedding yourself with government sponsors. So... how is this company relevant without classified systems? 5) MITRE is trying to branch out into other things... state governments, professional societies, etc. This on top of being the owner of FFRDCs for several agencies (FAA, DOD, DHS, DOJ, etc...). The cross-pollination is messy, to say the least. It dilutes expertise. 6) Those statements of work-life balance being good are blatantly false! I took my laptop on more vacations, more nights and weekends than at any other point in my career. All the work-development stuff, to include R&D proposals (it's an ffRDc, after all) are all on your own time.

    MITRE2019-12-03

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 346 reviews