KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

MITRE

Engaged Employer

MITRE

Add a Review

MITRE Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Jan 21, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 384 of over 1,442 reviews

3.9
75%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
MITRE President & CEO Jason Providakes
Jason Providakes
396 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good benefits and nice work-life balance(in 372 reviews)

  • "Great benefits and pay for a Florida-based job(in 80 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Company is losing its value proposition to sponsors(in 70 reviews)

  • "Upper management has lost touch with Operations personnel(in 35 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    What people are saying about MITRE

    Join the conversation on

    Data & Analytics Consultants

    16d

    works at 

    Booz Allen Hamilton

    Looking at jumping to other firms, but trying to navigate the positions they use for data and analytics leaders in consulting. I’m trying to move up overall, but can’t seem to find position alignment that sticks out; less director titles, and more principal engineer titles. Maybe it’s not knowing what I don’t know in progression at other firms in data. Any advice is helpful. Have looked at GT, MITRE, Deloitte, and others. TIA

    3

    1 Comment

    Join the conversation on

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of MITRE and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "work life balance"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great company to work for!

      Jan 21, 2021 - Product Manager in McLean, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits and nice work-life balance

      Cons

      Nothing really , there were only positives.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Good, but management not so good.

      Jan 18, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer in McLean, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good retirement benefits really good work-life balance

      Cons

      You only move up if you know someone They like to "re-organize" older employees out of the company Not loyal to older employees

      12 people found this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Intern, less than 1 year

      Wonderful place to work

      Jan 18, 2021 - Software Engineering Intern in Bedford, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Wonderful people, excellent environment, interesting projects, great work/life balance

      Cons

      Might not make quite as much as elsewhere

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Employees first

      Jan 5, 2021 - Program Manager in McLean, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Commitment to employees is top priority, including benefits offered and work/life balance. Strong commitment to the mission and delivering high quality technical work.

      Cons

      Highly academic/competitive environment. Organizational change fatigue and inconsistent business practices. Hard sciences valued heavily over soft sciences.

      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great work life balance

      Jan 2, 2021 - Lead Network Engineer in Bedford, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Employee health is prioritized Work/life balance Research Opportunity

      Cons

      Can be difficult to network into good projects.

      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great “Stepping Stone” Job

      Jan 16, 2021 - Cyber Security Engineer in Bedford, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work/life balance Training Mentoring Interesting work if you’re in the right department

      Cons

      Some work can be unsatisfying Upper management can get in the way

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Awesome place to work!

      Dec 28, 2020 - Network Engineer in Bedford, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - work life balance - benefits - responsabilities

      Cons

      - bureaucratic - many concurrent projects

      2 people found this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Working as an Administrative Assistant

      Dec 22, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work/Life Balance, great benefits, very interesting work with the US government

      Cons

      Political and executive management information does not trickle down

      2 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great company

      Dec 25, 2020 - Principal Consultant in Norfolk, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work life balance is great

      Cons

      None that I can think of

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Get Your Act Together

      Dec 2, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work Life Balance remains a value. Employees care about the mission.

      Cons

      To understand how MITRE has devolved on a macro level, answer to the following questions: Why would an ethical company try to claim credit for employees’ off-hour pursuits? Why would any employee give away their intellectual property? Why should employees include their personal accomplishments and activities in corporate databases just to receive participation ribbons (ROAR Awards) instead of compensation? When did the corporate values change? Over the last five years or so. One could brand it the new MITRE Way! The latest and greatest idea is to request staff members to provide contacts and ideas for partnerships to management. Guess they are so lacking in original thought; the PDs and officers need to beg for IP to brand as their initiatives and the company’s property. On a micro level, consider the following. It might also be useful to not penalize staff for non-participation in department meetings, especially when no charge codes are provided. The reverse also holds true. Keeping attendance records and providing points for showing up and/or providing snacks. The HR staff might want to determine if these incentives might be considered unfair labor practices (e.g., ad hoc and potentially discriminatory). Stop creating meaningless awards and establishing elementary school student rewards such as achievement badges. Hate to tell you Executive Management – these practices are not inspirational or effective. They are just expensive. Better to invest in real education and training for staff members. Perhaps actual recognition for consistent, strong performance and an actual heartfelt thank you might be added to the mix. You might find that morale and performance would improve.

      Continue reading
      25 people found this review helpful

      MITRE Response

      Employee Relations Representative

      Thank you for sharing your feedback. While we appreciate your thoughts, we believe the greater employee experience at MITRE differs appreciably from your perspective. While our corporate values remain the same, we are also guided by our cultural attributes, including speed, risk-taking, adaptability, grace and respect, and collaboration. These are all essential aspects of our culture at MITRE and we exhibit them daily. To continually increase our collective knowledge and foster growth for our employees, we invest substantially in learning options. Whether it is one of thousands of course offerings through MITRE Institute, talks from a government or professional expert, or sharing expertise across the organization, we provide countless ways for our employees to increase their knowledge and impact. Outside of the organization, we offer generous assistance through our educational assistance programs. To attract and retain the finest talent across the nation, we continue to refine and enrich our compensation and incentive programs. We want to ensure that our compensation programs remain leading and innovative. Our people continue to share with us how they appreciate being acknowledged and rewarded, whether individually or as part of a team, for contributions towards the impact we provide to our sponsors and partners and the fulfillment of our mission. Each year we review, modify, and enhance these awards and celebrations, both monetary and non-monetary. We invite you to speak with any member of our leadership team, your manager, or a member of human resources team to share and discuss your suggestions. As you know, MITRE is an organization that works in the public interest. Maintaining the highest ethical and professional standards is a responsibility we take very seriously. For this reason, we have established several methods for our employees to express a concern. If you have encountered behaviors that you believe do not align with our workplace culture or corporate values, we encourage you to utilize one of those methods, which are accessible to all our employees.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 384 Reviews

    Popular Careers with MITRE Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at MITRE? Share Your Experiences

    or