MLive Media Group Reviews

Updated Dec 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
2.8
37%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
MLive Media Group President Dan Gaydou
Dan Gaydou
83 Ratings
Pros
  • "Learned a lot over the summer about digital marketing(in 9 reviews)

  • "IPhone, IPad, mileage reimbursement(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "Seth Godin); I think this article lends a lot of insight into our culture here at Mlive(in 23 reviews)

  • "Little training, unusual super high turnover(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Join this team"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MLive Media Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great training, great people, great clients!

    Cons

    You will work hard

    Continue reading
    MLive Media Group2019-12-04
  2. "This isn't your newspaper anymore..."

    3.0
    Former Employee - Account Manager 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MLive Media Group full-time

    Pros

    Energetic and forward thinking company.

    Cons

    Lots of change in account lists/territories.

    MLive Media Group2019-12-04
  3. "Not a place to grow your career"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Support 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MLive Media Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexibility was amazing occasional free food

    Cons

    management was bad no room for growth

    MLive Media Group2019-08-24
  4. "Family atmosphere, just too few of people"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Curation Editor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at MLive Media Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great atmosphere. Everyone did everything to get the job done

    Cons

    responsibilities increased while manpower decreased

    Continue reading
    MLive Media Group2019-06-04
  5. "Good Experience"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Content Producer in Grand Rapids, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MLive Media Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    A good place to work

    Cons

    Lack of promotion Low pay

    MLive Media Group2019-04-26
  6. Helpful (3)

    "This isn't complaining it's the truth"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MLive Media Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The Health Benefits are fair, speaking for a single individual. The 401k is comparable to other organizations. You'll get a company cell phone and laptop but that also makes you completely accessible 24/7. The two best things about MMG are: Your Colleagues (non managerial) I've never worked with such a great group of individuals who will help any way they can. Training - At least when I was there they were constantly training us on digital marketing and providing us with tools to understand the products we were selling. I felt confident and knowledgeable speaking to business owners and marketing leaders. Some of the middle managers are fantastic. But several of the good ones have since left to find greener pastures.

    Cons

    -100% Upper Management (Director & above) - They haven't left MMG because they would not succeed outside of this cult like organization. -Work Life Balance ... does not exist. Yes, you may be able to get in a doc appointment here and there but once you establish a few accounts you will work weekends, while on vacation and holidays while managers are completely unresponsive. -Every person wears 2 or 3 hats. And the jobs are ever changing. Just because you were hired in as a "Account Manager" doesn't not mean in 90 days you'll still be doing what you got hired in for. If you're hired in for something other than an Account Executive come Q3 they'll do a "hub tour" and try and get everyone (even those non client facing) to go out and SELL SELL SELL. The organization was so lean to try and save money (to spend on upper management bonus's) that account managers have 20+ accounts while telling their customers they had around 10 to not seem like they were spread too thin. All of the impactful, helpful & knowledgeable employees have since left company. Which means there's a handful of role models left scattered throughout 10 office locations. Lastly, I laugh at the reviews that mention anything about "remote work" you're only allowed to work remotely after normal business hours and weekends. 8-5 Monday thru Friday, you will be questioned if you're not in the office. Don't let them sell that to you in your interview. The entire 3 years I was there, everyone had one foot out the door because either they were so terrified of being fired or because of absolute misery.

    Continue reading
    MLive Media Group2018-12-10
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Account Executive"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MLive Media Group full-time

    Pros

    Great tactic training on digital products.

    Cons

    Inexperienced management. sales managers with no sales experience.

    MLive Media Group2018-11-26
  8. "High Pay"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Grand Rapids, MI

    I worked at MLive Media Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good Pay and good benefits

    Cons

    Not a clear path for the company

    MLive Media Group2018-10-29
  9. "Reporter"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at MLive Media Group full-time

    Pros

    -Great place for starting journalists. -Learn different ways to use multimedia in reporting. -Good mix of reporters with plenty of experience and those starting out. -Overall friendly environment. -Decent technology provided. -Decent amount of paid time off.

    Cons

    -Hard to get a raise -Lots of moving around and restructuring

    MLive Media Group2018-10-22
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Account Executive"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Grand Rapids, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MLive Media Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible, phone and laptop provided.

    Cons

    Finding the right fit for management positions, lack of proper training for new hires, individuals promoted and employee development, company morale, work/life balance and lost sense of self and values.

    MLive Media Group2018-08-07

    MLive Media Group Response

    August 14, 2018Talent Development & Communications Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on areas that we need to improve. We strive to provide an environment that allows our employees to grow and learn while all working toward the same goal. We are making efforts to improve the areas you listed so our employees won't feel like you did in the future. If you care to elaborate on any more details, feel free to reach out to HRcares@advancelocal.com. We are always open to more feedback.

Found 133 reviews