KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

MLive Media Group

Is this your company?

MLive Media Group

Add a Review

MLive Media Group Employee Reviews about "high turnover"

Updated May 2, 2017

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
34%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
MLive Media Group President Dan Gaydou
Dan Gaydou
84 Ratings
Pros
  • "Learned a lot over the summer about digital marketing(in 9 reviews)

  • "IPhone, IPad, mileage reimbursement(in 9 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Seth Godin); I think this article lends a lot of insight into our culture here at Mlive(in 23 reviews)

  • "Little training, unusual super high turnover(in 8 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

    Reviews about "high turnover"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Rough launch, seems to be settling down now

      Apr 7, 2014 - Senior Sales Consultant in Detroit, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      MLive's digital advertising is based on Advance -- which is a highly respected digital marketing company for a good reason. They do seem to sincerely want what's best for the client overall and the editorial staff also are professional and committed to putting out a quality product.

      Cons

      High turnover for sales managers causes a lot of wasted effort and energy. Good sales people do NOT always make good sales managers. Still, it's a good company that seems to be recovering from a lot of churn-and-burn at the launch of MLive Media Group (had been Booth newspapers).

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Constant Change/ Low Pay/ Micro-Managed

      Jun 19, 2015 - Account Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You can pretty much work from anywhere as long we you're getting work done (this also depends on the manager you have). Technology is great (iphone, laptop, ipad). The people you work around are top-notch. The services we offer clients are also top-notch, however our processes for launching these services are archaic.

      Cons

      Extremely below the industry standard for pay. An account manager position shouldn't have to rely on a commission to make ends meet. This has caused some extremely high turnover within the company. Products & processes are constantly changing. You may learn one thing in training, but expect there to be a completely different process the following month. Managers are breathing down your neck to ensure you have some sort of upsell at each reporting meeting, however I think this is more or less pressure coming from the people above them. There is also a lack of trust within management. They want a supervisor at every client meeting even with some of the more experienced employees.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Good first job for college grads --not good for experienced sales professionals

      Jul 28, 2014 - Retail Sales Representative in Grand Rapids, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great training on products and services. MLive does put time and resources into their new hires. Very thorough process and practice make sure that new recruits have solid product knowledge before their first sales call.

      Cons

      Lack of support after training. Inexperienced management created high turnover plus lack of respect for older, more experienced sales people. The structure is too ridgid to be able to react to changes in the marketplace. MLive culture is that the company is more important than the customers.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Good Starter job, not a good career

      Nov 10, 2014 - Account Executive in Kalamazoo, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      awesome employees, hard-working sales force where you learn a lot. gas match, benefits, 401k. Great vision when they first bring you in.

      Cons

      POOR MANAGEMENT, no clear way to move up, no leads- all cold calling - high turnover, TERRIBLE BONUS STRUCTURE you inherit a sales territory, and you also inherit the lost accounts debt, so it is completely unfair among reps. Poor training

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Jump Ship

      Apr 26, 2016 - Account Executive in Detroit, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The flexibility of this place is nice, although, strangely weird how you can basically be gone an entire day and no one notices. That's all I think of

      Cons

      So I too, ignored these reviews and accepted my offer, because it sounded so nice at first. Training (the very little three days you get of it) makes you think this place is going to be there for you to succeed in, that you'll always make goal and if you're failing someone will help you out. MLive really harbors in during those brief training moments that this is the place for change and how they're on the forefront of the industry. However, I'm not sure what industry. Because they don't really train you much on products or what you're selling. "You'll pick it up along the way!" - Direct quote from my regional sales manager. I think there's a real lack of clarity at MLive, generally when you have a question, and you will from the lack of training, it's a bit of a rat race to find the right person to answer your question. Management generally doesn't give a crap about you, until you make sales, and are setting weekly appointments. The very few people in my Hub that have been here for a few years, seem un-phased by the high turnover. "They just didn't fit in here." - Direct quote from a coworker. Meanwhile, management is constantly interviewing new people weekly, in my opinion, to have a back up when someone jumps ship, which happens a lot here. I think this would have been a great job to be with right after college and not having seen outside of MLive. If you have any true advertising experience, I wouldn't come here. The logic at MLive is extremely flawed, definitely agree with the posting that said this place is a sinking ship.

      Continue reading
      11 people found this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Company seems to really be struggling. Volatile. No direction.

      May 2, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Detroit, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Some of the benefits include laptop, and cell phone. You can get hired with little or no experience or no college degree. This is great for someone right out of school than wants to start at a career. Money is ok if you meet your goal, but goals can be tough. Good benefits available.

      Cons

      It's impossible to manage accounts effectively with account executives and other team members wear dual hats. The customer is the one that really loses. Little involvement from management after sale is made, not enough support as promised. Very high constant pressure to get sales. Little opportunity for advancement unless you know someone or drink the cool aid. It's not what you know, its who you know. There are some really good managers at the company, however there are some directors or managers that are not very well respected and do not know how to positively manage and motivate staff. Little training, unusual super high turnover. Because of this there seems to be little respect from advertisers as they are constantly getting new reps. High customer cancellation and churn. Various pay gaps for same positions across the state. Some employees come in at higher salary than experienced staff. There are rarely open job postings for employees to have a shot at. Many times undeserving or unexperienced people get promotions because of who they know. No equal opportunity for advancement it seems.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Inexperienced Management, Poor Compensation Plan for Sales

      Jul 21, 2014 - Account Executive 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      MLive has cutting edge marketing solutions for their clients. Where most people talk about having a needs based approach, MLive really walks the walk in needs based selling. Our technology and resources are second to none.

      Cons

      The compensation plan for the sales staff is not unfair, it is simply not set up for long term success. For example, if I am asked to make $200,000 in sales my first year, and I make 100% of that goal, I will get paid X. In year two, I am asked to increase sales to $300,000. If I make 100% of that goal, I will receive the same compensation as the year before. And if I increase by only 95% year over year, I will make less in year two than I did in year one, despite my 95% increase. What is unfair about the compensation is that management has the ability to change these annual goals each month without reason or prior knowledge. This is one of the reason why we have such high turnover in the sales staff. If you bring these concerns, or any concerns to the management team, they ask you if you feel that you are still a "good fit" with MLive If not, then you have a decision to make. Maybe you should find another place to work. We have had high turnover in the past 6 months and each time, our managers have explained that the person that left "wasn't a good fit" and that everyone is better off.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      unrealistic expectations

      Jul 8, 2014 - Anonymous Employee in Kalamazoo, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good product offerings for marketing local businesses

      Cons

      Very Low pay, Little chance for advancement, high turnover and low morale mostly due to low pay and poor management

      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 8 of 8 English Reviews

    Popular Careers with MLive Media Group Job Seekers

    Account Executive
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Outside Sales Representative
    Learn About the Job

    Work at MLive Media Group? Share Your Experiences

    MLive Media Group logo
    or