KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

MLive Media Group

Is this your company?

MLive Media Group

Add a Review

MLive Media Group Employee Reviews about "iphone"

Updated Nov 16, 2016

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9 of over 140 reviews

3.2
34%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
MLive Media Group President Dan Gaydou
Dan Gaydou
84 Ratings
Pros
  • "Learned a lot over the summer about digital marketing(in 9 reviews)

  • "IPhone, IPad, mileage reimbursement(in 9 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Seth Godin); I think this article lends a lot of insight into our culture here at Mlive(in 23 reviews)

  • "Little training, unusual super high turnover(in 8 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

    Reviews about "iphone"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Unique and exciting!

      Jul 9, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have never had a job before were I felt like my future was in the palm of my hands. The fact that I feel empowered to speak up when something is important and not being afraid of that is unique to MLive Media Group. Impossible isn't a word used there very often. Leadership is excited to hear innovative ideas and is willing to listen and have an open mind. When it comes to the work culture, you can't get much better. Everyone is so open and accepting. We are almost like family. Being yourself at work is something that is embraced throughout the organization. The fact that you can come into work and not feel like it is work is unique and exciting. If you are someone who likes to be challenged constantly then this is a place for you. Plus you get a laptop computer, iPad and iPhone as part of your hire package which is pretty nice.

      Cons

      Being such a large company, communication can be difficult.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Manager

      Jul 2, 2015 - Manager in Ann Arbor, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The company provides great technology, iphone, ipad, laptop. You get to develop good skills in digital marketing.

      Cons

      Leadership growth is based on popularity. Leaders seem to look down at rank and file and often won't even talk to you even if you're sitting at the same table. Sales rules are constantly changing, so if you are doing well don't be surprised if your goals change or your job changes and you have to start from scratch. Company leaders will tell you if you can't handle change, you're not right for the company. What they fail to recognize is that change comes for change sake and employee input is never taken into consideration when someone is "forced" into a job change. There is very little trust between management and staff. What trust existed in 2014 evaporated in 2015 when the company "re-organized." It has led to extensive turnover. Base salary for incoming sales team members is abysmal. That base also will not change unless you are promoted. Success at sales will just lead to higher goals until those goals are no longer achievable. Sales people are micro managed and it can feel like you have 2 - 4 bosses who all provide different directives. The culture at the company is fake. Turnover among staff is so great that customers get concerned and will cancel services. Mlive talks a big game but when it comes time to play, they fail every time.

      Continue reading
      12 people found this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Constant Change/ Low Pay/ Micro-Managed

      Jun 19, 2015 - Account Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You can pretty much work from anywhere as long we you're getting work done (this also depends on the manager you have). Technology is great (iphone, laptop, ipad). The people you work around are top-notch. The services we offer clients are also top-notch, however our processes for launching these services are archaic.

      Cons

      Extremely below the industry standard for pay. An account manager position shouldn't have to rely on a commission to make ends meet. This has caused some extremely high turnover within the company. Products & processes are constantly changing. You may learn one thing in training, but expect there to be a completely different process the following month. Managers are breathing down your neck to ensure you have some sort of upsell at each reporting meeting, however I think this is more or less pressure coming from the people above them. There is also a lack of trust within management. They want a supervisor at every client meeting even with some of the more experienced employees.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Current Employee

      Don't be fooled

      Nov 16, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Get a nice laptop, iPad, iPhone. Flexible schedule. Clueless managers. Easy for the pay check.

      Cons

      Wouldn't recommend to anyone. They talk the talk but can't actually walk it. They will give you all the time you need to talk about improvements, problems or things you need to be successful in your role, but every promise is a lie. If you want to be paid to do nothing this is the job for you. It is very easy to coast. It isn't about true success. It's about drinking the kool aid, listening to unqualified people give you direction and becoming a cog as much as they say they want to hire linchpins. Job positions change constantly without any consideration and is pitched to you like it is a good change. All in all the company is out for themselves. Leadership cares about themselves, not their employees or clients.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      A Classic Case of Lots of Talk, Little to No Follow Through

      Feb 8, 2016 - Marketing Executive 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      MLive Media Group, from everything that's verbalized, comes off as, in their own words "badass" and "leading the industry with cutting edge solutions". There is some encouragement and excitement from some members of management, what they actually do within marketing implementation is effective compared to traditional advertisement, and it's a nice office environment. They even give you a laptop, iPad, and iPhone to use for work. High expectations. They use "Start With Why" as a strategy base, which is an exceptional and powerful tool for evaluating and implementing marketing strategy.

      Cons

      MLive is a classic case of a company doing really well talking about something, but really poorly implementing it. Many things below are unintended consequences of 2 things. 1) Management uses fear and punishment as their defacto tactic. 2) Management does not care, or does not attempt to show that they care, for their employees. I've never seen a company care so little for its individual employees. The office structure is similar to an airport, which is to say, it communicates that they don't want you there. You can't take ownership over your work space, and it makes it so if you're gone for a week, a day, etc..., that noone really notices. They redesigned their office to have an open office environment, but kept in place the archaic bureaucratic management structures. They say verbally, "If you need anything from anyone, you can talk to them directly.", when in reality, I was told numerous times to only contact someone else in the company by going through a manager. Very counterintuitive. They say, "If you need any support, please let us know. We're committed to giving you the resources you need to succeed.", but in reality, when asking for support it was not only provided, leaving a new employee feeling lost, high and dry, and confused. In fact, I was there over 2 months before I was officially assigned an actual manager. If you try to implement something you have had from other companies that works well, management will shut it down. MLive Media Group has possibly the worst corporate culture of any company I've ever been at. Even when hitting sales goals, there are no real rewards apart from your commission. Most people eat lunch in front of their computer and don't really try to get to know you. Management gives different and often conflicting expectations of how your work performance is being measured. One person would say you needed to do __x___, while another member of the team would say you need to do ____y____.They view the sales role as competitive winning, no matter what. That means an expectation of working pretty much every day of the week, including nights and weekends. Management wants to be involved in every single step of your strategic plan, which communicates that they don't trust you to do your job well. Extremely unclear expectations as far as territory goes, both industry wise, and geographic wise. Numerous times had meetings setup with people I had met while networking and then had them shot down by management because they thought it was a bad idea. You can see how this might limit one's ability to be successful. When they say "You determine your success." they mean "You are expected to function independently on your own without any team support." They try to use whiteboards for creatively implementing strategy, but people are actually incentivized to NOT go to a meeting to help you, because it takes time away from when they could be calling or out creating new business. They give you 0 direction, contacts, or leads to create new business with -- -you're expected to make it all up from scratch. You are held to a double standard -- you're expected to respond to all e-mails and queries immediately, while other members of management or higher up sales team members often don't respond to you. They expect you to constantly be creating new business partnerships, without allowing any time for the development and implementation of strategies -- causing the end user, the client, to get the shaft. They do not make providing excellent customer service as a priority, but rather, prioritize the dollar amount. Considering business is all about relationships, this is pretty shoddy. Many of the best people at MLive show up, realize the company is all sorts of disorganized, and leave quickly to find a better, more supportive place of employment. This, in my opinion, shows that there is something wrong with the way the ship is wrong, and not with the excellent & highly qualified sales people they are hiring.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Account Executive

      Jul 10, 2016 - "AE" 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      IPhone, IPad, mileage reimbursement. Nice benefit package. This is a great "first job out of college" company and you can learn a lot.

      Cons

      This job is for people who have not yet experienced career success in their lives. Management will "talk you up" to make you feel like you are something bigger and better than a media sales person. Design team takes no creative liberties. No time allowed for creative process.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Everybody in the company has one foot out the door

      Aug 12, 2016 - Account Executive in Grand Rapids, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Laptop, iPhone (paid), iPad. All tax deductible for the company, but hey, they are company provided to you at no cost.

      Cons

      It's a complete mess. The leadership team as a whole acts as though they really have no idea what direction they're going in from day to day. One moment your being told to call on a specific "territory" the next minute your being told call on any business not already being called on. Most of the leadership team is full of lies.

      Continue reading
      12 people found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Misery Loves Company

      Jul 3, 2016 - Account Executive 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The only positive I can think of is the flexibility. You get a company laptop, tablet, and iPhone so you're able to work remotely.

      Cons

      MLive is hands down the worst company I have ever worked for. Management is shady and secretive - they are constantly changing things - and never for the better, I might add. Pay structures have been impacted (causing hard working reps to make less money), and commission checks are often wrong so be sure to check on this - otherwise you will get screwed out of money that is rightfully yours. The company is just a giant popularity contest. If you don't "drink the Kool Aid", you won't fit in. Upper management is an absolute joke. There are actually members of the team that don't hold college degrees and are completely undeserving of being in their positions. When all of the reps have either a Bachelor's degree or a Master's degree, why would we listen to someone whose highest education level is a high school diploma? I'll pass, thanks. MLive prides themselves on being #1 in technology and innovation, and for always putting their customers first. I can tell you first hand that this is complete garbage. The only thing MLive cares about is money. They always push you to SELL, SELL, SELL even if it is not right for the client. So in turn, we sell things that never should have been sold, clients get angry, we ruin a perfectly good relationship, and they no longer want to work with us. We violate their trust when all we ever want to do is get more money out of them. Newsflash MLive, this is not how you're going to get customers for life. Let's also mention the fact that MLive downsized back in January and fired 48 people across the state. Does this sound like a company that is doing well to you? When there is one round of cuts, there is almost always another. Current reps, watch out. Get out while you still can. I left MLive on my own volition to pursue an opportunity elsewhere. Let me tell you, the grass IS greener on the other side. To all of the miserable reps that are still there, start searching for other opportunities. Take the leap. I promise you it will be worth it.

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Garbage

      Feb 13, 2013 - Account Executive in Ann Arbor, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lapton, iphone and ipad. ability to work from home.

      Cons

      Poor compensation. Commissions aren't payed on the companies bread and butter product. Management gives ZERO positive reinforcement. Very vague communication throughout company. Third party most products, leads to breakdowns in communication and poor performance. Promotions based upon being in the "in crowd" poor compensation!!!!

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 9 of 9 English Reviews

    Popular Careers with MLive Media Group Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at MLive Media Group? Share Your Experiences

    MLive Media Group logo
    or