MLive Media Group Employee Reviews about "mlive"

Updated Mar 13, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 23 of over 140 reviews

3.2
34%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
MLive Media Group President Dan Gaydou
Dan Gaydou
84 Ratings
Pros
  • "Learned a lot over the summer about digital marketing(in 9 reviews)

  • "IPhone, IPad, mileage reimbursement(in 9 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Seth Godin); I think this article lends a lot of insight into our culture here at Mlive(in 23 reviews)

  • "Little training, unusual super high turnover(in 8 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "mlive"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Place to Work

      Dec 2, 2016 - Account Executive in Kalamazoo, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Industry leading technology from a marketing standpoint. I can only speak to the marketing and advertising side of things, but there are extremely smart people leveraging data in ways that are new to the industry, and creative some incredibly effective campaigns. The work-life balance is a plus, I rarely find myself working past business hours, and when I do, it's for my own betterment. This is a job where you get back what you put in - if you put in the effort and utilize the talented people around you, you'll be successful.

      Cons

      While the data-based technology at MLive is industry leading, the physical technology such as laptops and videoconferencing are outdated, and can sometimes slow down productivity.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Evolve at MLive

      Aug 13, 2014 - Anonymous Employee in Grand Rapids, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      As a young professional, this is my first "real" job, and I feel absolutely lucky that I am here. I can see myself working at MLive for a very long time in many different ways. I am a person that loves a challenge, and loves innovation. MLive provides a workplace that is unpredictable and exciting, yet still consistent enough to stay comfortable. My managers help me set and reach my goals, and encourage me to improve myself, even if it means moving locations, departments, etc. I work in the call center, and I am confident in saying it is the most positive and FUN department in our building! What other company can say that about their call center?

      Cons

      I wish we were more well-versed on how to address customer concerns about the company. Although I support the changes that MLive has made over the years, our customers are sometimes frustrated with it. I just wish we were more aware of the message MLive would like us to convey with customers that are late-bloomers with technological advances. What is MLive's Why Statement?

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      MLive is the real deal

      Jun 8, 2016 -  in Williamston, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      MLive Media Group has some of the smartest people in the digital marketing industry incorporating the best technology platforms available utilizing proven strategy to grow business. MLive is consistently growing year over year for a reason; because this company is dedicated to breaking the mold, creating change and leading the industry in innovation. This is evident in the success of its customers.

      Cons

      Media sales is not easy, which is why not everyone does it. It takes dedication and a lot of hard work to be successful. MLive is no different in this regard. However, MLive has amazing training and support for people who want to work hard and have a successful career in a growing industry.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Happy to work here

      Aug 1, 2014 - Anonymous in Grand Rapids, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I feel like I found my work family at MLive. The sense of team and all hands on deck has been really wonderful. I also feel that the company has an interest in investing in my growth and continues to challenge me. MLive hires good people, all who fit into a friendly culture. Management is easily accessible and open to hearing ideas from all levels, instead of just management.

      Cons

      Overall the managers are wonderful and you can tell that MLive hires people that excel at managing people instead of putting the most focus on product knowledge. However, some of the first level managers and directors are a bit inexperienced and need some additional training on team bonding and how to grow each team member. Additionally, sometimes it feels that the same people are promoted every few months, which wouldn't be a problem except there isn't a direct growth track for most employees so it can become demotivating. Creating individual career paths is a part of the culture at MLive and I agree with the philosophy. I do think this needs to be better communicated to the employees so they feel like they have something to work towards.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Not what it appears...or claims to be.

      Sep 30, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The part that really shines about Mlive is the sales department. But the reason is does is reflected in the "cons" section below. If you are looking for a sales or advertising job, this is a great place to work.

      Cons

      Mlive bills itself as a news media organization. It isn't that at all. They do run newspapers and news websites, but no attention or priority is given to those departments because journalism is only the vehicle they use to deliver their real product...advertising. It is a means to an end, and not the end itself. As a journalist, this is wholly unacceptable and it is not apparent to those who come to work for Mlive that this is the situation. They do a great job of paying lip service and making everyone *feel* like the news end of the business is important, but when it comes time for them to actually give the news departments what they need to do their jobs well all you get is excuses. If you are a journalist, or want to be one, this is NOT the place to go.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Do Your Research

      Feb 22, 2017 - Account Executive in Grand Rapids, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Office flexibility if you're performing. Equipment (iPad, phone, Laptop) provided to you. Benefits, Matching 401k, and expense reports.

      Cons

      Over the 6 months, the cons have began to far outweigh the pros. They derive mostly in middle to upper management, where a few toxic leaders sit. I can't say every manager was bad, but a few were extremely out of touch with the actual day to day processes of the people they allegedly lead. Not every good salesperson makes a good manager (especially the ones who sell with questionable moral sales tactics), and at MLive the result of promoting those lead to an extremely toxic fear culture that's causing many to jump ship. Processes and ideas are changed and twisted so often it's difficult to follow the direction of the company. There's no clear career path. Commission structure isn't properly explained to incoming AE's and never fully makes sense. Even if it does make sense, you wait in anticipation to see if you'll even receive the compensation.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Manager

      Jul 2, 2015 - Manager in Ann Arbor, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The company provides great technology, iphone, ipad, laptop. You get to develop good skills in digital marketing.

      Cons

      Leadership growth is based on popularity. Leaders seem to look down at rank and file and often won't even talk to you even if you're sitting at the same table. Sales rules are constantly changing, so if you are doing well don't be surprised if your goals change or your job changes and you have to start from scratch. Company leaders will tell you if you can't handle change, you're not right for the company. What they fail to recognize is that change comes for change sake and employee input is never taken into consideration when someone is "forced" into a job change. There is very little trust between management and staff. What trust existed in 2014 evaporated in 2015 when the company "re-organized." It has led to extensive turnover. Base salary for incoming sales team members is abysmal. That base also will not change unless you are promoted. Success at sales will just lead to higher goals until those goals are no longer achievable. Sales people are micro managed and it can feel like you have 2 - 4 bosses who all provide different directives. The culture at the company is fake. Turnover among staff is so great that customers get concerned and will cancel services. Mlive talks a big game but when it comes time to play, they fail every time.

      Continue reading
      12 people found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Account Executive

      Mar 13, 2018 - Account Executive in Detroit, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There are no pros to working at MLive Media Group. Once you leave and work for a company that has integrity and values their employees you will see the grass is much greener elsewhere.

      Cons

      Management is so far out of reach with reality that it is impossible to ever "succeed" in their eyes. The teamwork talk in this company is a joke, unless your part of the upper management team. During my time here I watched veteran employees leave with zero respect to the time and hard work they had given over the years. When your top earners leave abruptly maybe you should pay more attention. The money is not worth losing parts of your soul. I have recently came in contact with current employees of MLive and I have to laugh, their reputation has gotten so bad in Grand Rapids that they now introduce themselves as Advance Digital. Really is sad how quickly a poor reputation can ruin your business.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Pros

      I'm not going to sugar coat anything... MMG is like every other company; they have their strengths and they have opportunities to improve. The strengths, in my opinion: MMG truly partners with its clients. Do we get everything right? No. But we listen, we innovate, we test and validate, and we push to raise the bar. If Marketing was easy, everybody would do it well. Our clients deserve custom marketing solutions and we can deliver this. The people of MMG (the current ones) are professional and caring. We thrive on building custom marketing strategies that work! We are focused on helping our clients grow their business. We can demonstrate this by the many ongoing partnerships we have with our clients. Yes we have some account churn. And yes we have many long-term relationships. Other pro's include good wage and bonus opportunities, flexible work schedule, cool office environment, great colleagues.

      Cons

      Like every company, MMG has opportunities to improve. MLive has made changes to the structure and the process over the past few years... this isn't bad... it was done to stay on the leading edge and provide support and services that our clients need and want. MMG does have leadership that tells it like it is... but they do listen... they are human... and they care about our clients. Do I agree with everything leadership has to say? No. But we have an environment that allows for differing points of view. And the collective of these differing points of view are what makes MMG great. I will add that yes, MMG is focused on money... we are a for-profit business... we need to maintain healthy revenue streams to provide high quality jobs for our employees. But with all this said I have never experienced a time where money trumped quality.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Rough launch, seems to be settling down now

      Apr 7, 2014 - Senior Sales Consultant in Detroit, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      MLive's digital advertising is based on Advance -- which is a highly respected digital marketing company for a good reason. They do seem to sincerely want what's best for the client overall and the editorial staff also are professional and committed to putting out a quality product.

      Cons

      High turnover for sales managers causes a lot of wasted effort and energy. Good sales people do NOT always make good sales managers. Still, it's a good company that seems to be recovering from a lot of churn-and-burn at the launch of MLive Media Group (had been Booth newspapers).

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 23 Reviews

    Popular Careers with MLive Media Group Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at MLive Media Group? Share Your Experiences

    MLive Media Group logo
    or