MLive Media Group "mlive" Reviews | Glassdoor

MLive Media Group Employee Reviews about "mlive"

Updated Mar 13, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
39%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
MLive Media Group President Dan Gaydou
Dan Gaydou
84 Ratings
Pros
  • "Learned a lot over the summer about digital marketing(in 9 reviews)

  • "IPhone, IPad, mileage reimbursement(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "Seth Godin); I think this article lends a lot of insight into our culture here at Mlive(in 23 reviews)

  • "Little training, unusual super high turnover(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "mlive"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Kalamazoo, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MLive Media Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Industry leading technology from a marketing standpoint. I can only speak to the marketing and advertising side of things, but there are extremely smart people leveraging data in ways that are new to the industry, and creative some incredibly effective campaigns. The work-life balance is a plus, I rarely find myself working past business hours, and when I do, it's for my own betterment. This is a job where you get back what you put in - if you put in the effort and utilize the talented people around you, you'll be successful.

    Cons

    While the data-based technology at MLive is industry leading, the physical technology such as laptops and videoconferencing are outdated, and can sometimes slow down productivity.

    Continue reading
    MLive Media Group2016-12-02
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Detroit, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MLive Media Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There are no pros to working at MLive Media Group. Once you leave and work for a company that has integrity and values their employees you will see the grass is much greener elsewhere.

    Cons

    Management is so far out of reach with reality that it is impossible to ever "succeed" in their eyes. The teamwork talk in this company is a joke, unless your part of the upper management team. During my time here I watched veteran employees leave with zero respect to the time and hard work they had given over the years. When your top earners leave abruptly maybe you should pay more attention. The money is not worth losing parts of your soul. I have recently came in contact with current employees of MLive and I have to laugh, their reputation has gotten so bad in Grand Rapids that they now introduce themselves as Advance Digital. Really is sad how quickly a poor reputation can ruin your business.

    Continue reading
    MLive Media Group2018-03-13
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Grand Rapids, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MLive Media Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Overall, the best part about MLive is the people. Some really intelligent and supportive people there. You get a few cool perks... however, nothing greater than what you get at any other agency in town. MLive is a great stepping stone for someone just getting into the industry. You'll learn a lot and meet some great people.

    Cons

    Oh, lord... where do I begin. Let's start at the top! Most of the executive team is so out of touch with the reality of the business. The main guy (Matt Sharp)... he barely looks or talks to anyone unless you're on his team. If you are just an ordinary worker he doesn't even notice you. Great speaking in front of the group, but one-on-one you're invisible. The folks setting your goals aren't working towards any commission, so there's little support or compassion from them. You goals are so high that they are almost out of reach. Even if you hit your goal, when a client backs out of their agreement you lose out as that goes back on your goals. When a client cancels their agreement its not anything the sales rep did, its all MLive. MLive is not appropriately staffed to handle the work or the creative. Almost everything they do has little thought behind it, unless its a high paying client. There are a lot of folks getting rich over there and I promise its not the sales reps.

    Continue reading
    MLive Media Group2017-08-10
  4. Helpful (8)

    "Lazy and so oblivious"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Ann Arbor, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MLive Media Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I got a parking pass...

    Cons

    I went to MLive because the company was great about lying about how great and buttoned up they are. However I was hired in and worked here over three weeks and never had one conversation with my manager... Had no clue what my goals were, quota, commission... The list goes on... I personally emailed her a couple times and texted her twice asking her if we could have a 1 :1...she NEVER EVEN RESPONDED TO MY REQUESTS... Never have I ever had an experience like this with an employer... Worst place ever... Seriously, if you're thinking about joining this company, and you don't want to believe what I've written... Just continue reading all the other reviews!!! It's NOT a coincidence that most of these reviews say how horrible MLive is to work for.

    Continue reading
    MLive Media Group2017-07-02
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Sales and Marketing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MLive Media Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I have worked at Mlive Media Group for over 5 years and love my job. Digital marketing sales and account management is complex, complicated and constantly changing making this job challenging, yet extremely rewarding. Mlive offers cutting edge technology and a strong and solid foundation with it's affiliations with Advance Digital, Conde Nast and Reddit. The company is extremely competitive with it's products and it's constantly searching for new and innovative ways to grow. There are many talented people to work with that are always willing to assist when questions arise. Salary is competitive within the industry and benefits are also good. I work hard and put in extra hours when needed, but my job also offers the flexibility to take care of personal business free of repercussions. Like most jobs, you get out what you put in. This is a great place to work and I would highly recommend to those that are hard-working and up for the challenge.

    Cons

    Although some people may think this job is a piece of cake, it's not a job for everyone. Due to the constantly changing environment we work in, employees are forced to maintain a high level of knowledge of complex subjects in order to be successful. It's challenging and requires time management skills, problem solving skills, creativity, diligence, dedication, assertiveness and many other qualities. Sales reps are required to cold call and most people don't want anything to do with this. As a result, many new hires don't work out which creates a lot of employee turnover. In my opinion, new hire training is insufficient. New sales reps are pushed out the door in the first few days of hire with an expectation to sell with no product training. Not only do the reps suffer by the lack of training, but clients also get a poor experience of working with someone with no product knowledge. I have seen many new sales reps out trying to sell stuff they know nothing about, which is not an easy task. Fortunately, there are many good people willing to assist where needed, so don't be afraid to ask. Sales goals are extremely aggressive and YOY growth goals are difficult to achieve, even for seasoned reps. There is opportunity to make a great living, but that requires extra effort and extra hours. One of my previous managers gave me an article once titled “Pick Yourself” (Seth Godin); I think this article lends a lot of insight into our culture here at Mlive. If you’re accustomed to a tiered promotion system, this is not the place for you. Recognition in the way of promotion will not come easy unless you embrace this mantra; and for others, it will provide them an opportunity to succeed.

    MLive Media Group2017-01-24
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Do Your Research"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Grand Rapids, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MLive Media Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Office flexibility if you're performing. Equipment (iPad, phone, Laptop) provided to you. Benefits, Matching 401k, and expense reports.

    Cons

    Over the 6 months, the cons have began to far outweigh the pros. They derive mostly in middle to upper management, where a few toxic leaders sit. I can't say every manager was bad, but a few were extremely out of touch with the actual day to day processes of the people they allegedly lead. Not every good salesperson makes a good manager (especially the ones who sell with questionable moral sales tactics), and at MLive the result of promoting those lead to an extremely toxic fear culture that's causing many to jump ship. Processes and ideas are changed and twisted so often it's difficult to follow the direction of the company. There's no clear career path. Commission structure isn't properly explained to incoming AE's and never fully makes sense. Even if it does make sense, you wait in anticipation to see if you'll even receive the compensation.

    Continue reading
    MLive Media Group2017-02-22
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Don't listen to former disgruntled employees - there's a reason they aren't here anymore"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MLive Media Group

    Pros

    I'm not going to sugar coat anything... MMG is like every other company; they have their strengths and they have opportunities to improve. The strengths, in my opinion: MMG truly partners with its clients. Do we get everything right? No. But we listen, we innovate, we test and validate, and we push to raise the bar. If Marketing was easy, everybody would do it well. Our clients deserve custom marketing solutions and we can deliver this. The people of MMG (the current ones) are professional and caring. We thrive on building custom marketing strategies that work! We are focused on helping our clients grow their business. We can demonstrate this by the many ongoing partnerships we have with our clients. Yes we have some account churn. And yes we have many long-term relationships. Other pro's include good wage and bonus opportunities, flexible work schedule, cool office environment, great colleagues.

    Cons

    Like every company, MMG has opportunities to improve. MLive has made changes to the structure and the process over the past few years... this isn't bad... it was done to stay on the leading edge and provide support and services that our clients need and want. MMG does have leadership that tells it like it is... but they do listen... they are human... and they care about our clients. Do I agree with everything leadership has to say? No. But we have an environment that allows for differing points of view. And the collective of these differing points of view are what makes MMG great. I will add that yes, MMG is focused on money... we are a for-profit business... we need to maintain healthy revenue streams to provide high quality jobs for our employees. But with all this said I have never experienced a time where money trumped quality.

    Continue reading
    MLive Media Group2016-08-18
  8. Helpful (9)

    "MLive is the real deal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Williamston, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MLive Media Group for more than 3 years

    Pros

    MLive Media Group has some of the smartest people in the digital marketing industry incorporating the best technology platforms available utilizing proven strategy to grow business. MLive is consistently growing year over year for a reason; because this company is dedicated to breaking the mold, creating change and leading the industry in innovation. This is evident in the success of its customers.

    Cons

    Media sales is not easy, which is why not everyone does it. It takes dedication and a lot of hard work to be successful. MLive is no different in this regard. However, MLive has amazing training and support for people who want to work hard and have a successful career in a growing industry.

    Continue reading
    MLive Media Group2016-06-08
  9. Helpful (10)

    "Misery Loves Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Account Executive 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MLive Media Group for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The only positive I can think of is the flexibility. You get a company laptop, tablet, and iPhone so you're able to work remotely.

    Cons

    MLive is hands down the worst company I have ever worked for. Management is shady and secretive - they are constantly changing things - and never for the better, I might add. Pay structures have been impacted (causing hard working reps to make less money), and commission checks are often wrong so be sure to check on this - otherwise you will get screwed out of money that is rightfully yours. The company is just a giant popularity contest. If you don't "drink the Kool Aid", you won't fit in. Upper management is an absolute joke. There are actually members of the team that don't hold college degrees and are completely undeserving of being in their positions. When all of the reps have either a Bachelor's degree or a Master's degree, why would we listen to someone whose highest education level is a high school diploma? I'll pass, thanks. MLive prides themselves on being #1 in technology and innovation, and for always putting their customers first. I can tell you first hand that this is complete garbage. The only thing MLive cares about is money. They always push you to SELL, SELL, SELL even if it is not right for the client. So in turn, we sell things that never should have been sold, clients get angry, we ruin a perfectly good relationship, and they no longer want to work with us. We violate their trust when all we ever want to do is get more money out of them. Newsflash MLive, this is not how you're going to get customers for life. Let's also mention the fact that MLive downsized back in January and fired 48 people across the state. Does this sound like a company that is doing well to you? When there is one round of cuts, there is almost always another. Current reps, watch out. Get out while you still can. I left MLive on my own volition to pursue an opportunity elsewhere. Let me tell you, the grass IS greener on the other side. To all of the miserable reps that are still there, start searching for other opportunities. Take the leap. I promise you it will be worth it.

    Continue reading
    MLive Media Group2016-07-03
  10. Helpful (16)

    "A Strong Warning To Both Clients and Potential Employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MLive Media Group full-time

    Pros

    you occasionally run into some talented people. If their souls have not been crushed by the company's arrogance and dictator style of management. Made a few great friends, which is likely true of any company where you mutually suffer. I imagine that the people who were together on the titanic got to know each other real well before it sank.. If you're desperate for money, this place will likely hire you, with no relevant experience or education, so I guess things could always be worse. But realistically, my peers included people who previously sold cable door to door, who cut hair, who were secretaries, girls who sold overpriced spandex in malls, former plumbers, went to "online colleges", had an associates, had no degree period, had never even stepped on a college campus... The criteria to be hired is literally being a warm body.

    Cons

    Its very clear that as a company, they are hurting financially. Print revenue has come and gone, and the company had never planned on what to do after. bonus checks mysteriously got delayed, or paid less than what they should have been, or never paid at all. Raises were in the 20-300 dollar range, total, annually, if you were lucky. IF YOU ARE A CLIENT CONSIDERING ADVERTISING WITH THIS COMPANY, WAKE UP. Read the reviews, they can't staff the empty buildings anymore. The only way this company continues to function is they literally send inexperienced people, taught to repeat what they hear from others, to prey on unsuspecting business owners. Not a single client to this day, has had a truly successful campaign with mlive. All the reporting is manipulated, the figures are NEVER accurate, and employees are taught to be spin artists to deny lack of performance. The fulfillment processes are nonexistent. million dollar campaigns rely on 2-3 people to work 80+ hours a week to hopefully input archaic processes semi-correctly.

    Continue reading
    MLive Media Group2016-04-29

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 23 reviews