MNP LLP "busy season" Reviews | Glassdoor

MNP LLP Employee Reviews about "busy season"

Updated Feb 3, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
86%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
MNP LLP CEO Jason Tuffs
Jason Tuffs
194 Ratings
Pros
  • "The firm promotes work-life balance(in 65 reviews)

  • "MNP provides in depth training by helpful staff that are willing to answer any questions you may have(in 47 reviews)

Cons
  • "May work long hours during tax season(in 39 reviews)

  • "Can get a bit stressful during busy season(in 28 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "busy season"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at MNP LLP full-time

    Pros

    - Great culture - Great experience

    Cons

    - Long hours during busy season

    MNP LLP2019-06-16
  2. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative in Toronto, ON

    I have been working at MNP LLP full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good work life balance - fun events

    Cons

    long working hours during busy season

    MNP LLP2020-02-04
  3. "Pros: Like a Family Cons: Like a Family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Kenora, ON

    I have been working at MNP LLP full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The office I specifically work at is amazing. The people are all super helpful and want to see you succeed! A lot of places say they are like family but in my specific office, we honestly are. If you disappear for a day without letting someone know, they worry about you.

    Cons

    While my office is amazing, sometimes dealing with other offices can be a headache which is why I'm limiting myself to my office rather than my organization as a whole. I'm also not going to mention the normal accounting things like long work hours during busy season because every firm has that. One con is that like any family, there can be personality conflicts and butting of heads.

    MNP LLP2020-01-08

    MNP LLP Response

    February 10, 2020

    Feedback is a gift, thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are thrilled to hear you all support each other. Being in the company of amazing team members certainly makes coming to work more enjoyable, and much easier to manage the long hours through busy season. As with any family personalities differ, but it sounds as though you and the team have it all figured out. Thank you for being part of the MNP family.

    Continue reading
  4. "Overall good environment with tough hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Accountant 

    I have been working at MNP LLP full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great experience with good people

    Cons

    Hours during busy season time

    MNP LLP2019-12-14
  5. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Accountant 

    I have been working at MNP LLP full-time

    Pros

    Good company to work for.

    Cons

    Can get a bit stressful during busy season.

    MNP LLP2019-11-22
  6. "Long hours in busy season"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Accounting Co-op in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MNP LLP for less than a year

    Pros

    - Traveling (may also be a con depending on how much you like to drive) - Monthly company events (free food, massages, etc...)

    Cons

    - Long hours during busy season - Low-mediocre pay

    MNP LLP2019-10-03
  7. "Great job if you are serious about C PA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CPA Articling Student in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MNP LLP full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very good management and supportive staff Provide ample training Pay for CPA expenses, give paid time off to study Have a good overtime program where all overtime hours can be cashed for paid vacation during slower months

    Cons

    As with any other accounting firm, very long hours during busy season. 60 hour work week is expected, possibly more depending on clients' needs

    MNP LLP2019-09-11

    MNP LLP Response

    September 20, 2019

    Welcome to our MNP Team! At MNP, we support and emphasize the importance of career development through various learning opportunities. Providing our team members with the tools and support throughout their CPA studies, such as CPA buddy, prep exams and paid time off, helps team members reach their maximum success. At MNP, we value and encourage a balanced lifestyle through vacation, paid personal days, team building events, banked overtime, balance subsidy, observance celebrations, and much more. We appreciate all the long hours you dedicate and hope you have been able to take time for yourself. Thanks for taking the time to write a review.

    Continue reading
  8. "Review of MNP"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accountant 
    Recommends

    I have been working at MNP LLP full-time

    Pros

    Great work life balance Everyone is super friendly and willing to help

    Cons

    Can be very long hours during busy season

    MNP LLP2019-09-07

    MNP LLP Response

    September 11, 2019

    Thank you for taking time to write a review. We are thrilled to hear you are living a balanced life at MNP. In our business, longer working hours are needed during busy season, but hopefully you have been able to leverage your banked overtime to take time for yourself. Thanks very much for your feedback.

    Continue reading
  9. "Great Company To Work For!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MNP LLP full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    MNP has been growing by leaps and bounds which means that there is lots of opportunities for fast career progression. They promote employees based on merit, not by the number of busy seasons they have worked. They also offer lots of fun activities during busy season such as free massages, ice cream sundae day, soup and panini days, trivia contests where we can win $50 gift cards, etc. They also have bankable overtime. The people are also really nice which is important to me.

    Cons

    Nothing comes to mind other than longer hours during busy season, but I that's pretty typical for all accounting firms.

    Continue reading
    MNP LLP2019-08-09

    MNP LLP Response

    August 20, 2019

    Feedback is a gift, thank you for sharing your thoughts. Wow! Massages, ice cream, paninis, and gift cards? Sounds like the dream! We are thrilled to hear you are enjoying being part of our team. At MNP, providing our team with opportunities to push themselves and advance their career is important, and ingrained in our culture is truly recognizing and promoting based on merit. Thanks again!

    Continue reading
  10. "Exceptional Team, Innovative thinking"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Marketing Manager in Grande Prairie, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MNP LLP full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    MNP is a National firm that operates as one large unit. You are able to rely on team members across the country to expand your expertise. MNP is a forward thinking company that values its employees and works hard to be forward thinking and innovative. Management is supportive and dedicated to team members growth, and they treat their employees fairly with genuine care and compassion.

    Cons

    Some people may find the hours challenging, especially during busy season, but the team offers endless support during busy times to keep morale high and make people feel appreciated

    Continue reading
    MNP LLP2019-07-30

    MNP LLP Response

    August 9, 2019

    Thank you for providing valuable feedback. We really are one firm, one pot, one team no matter how many kilometers are between each office. We are proud of our diverse team and ability to support each other near or far. Remaining innovative and best in class is a priority. Busy season can have challenging hours, but we are happy to hear you are receiving support and appreciation. Thanks again for your comments.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 35 reviews