KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

MOD Pizza

Engaged Employer

MOD Pizza

Add a Review

MOD Pizza Employee Reviews about "no one"

Updated Aug 30, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 7 of over 729 reviews

3.8
69%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
MOD Pizza Chief Executive Officer Scott Svenson (no image)
Scott Svenson
332 Ratings
Pros
  • "Excellent pay in comparison to similar roles elsewhere, great people and free food on shift(in 33 reviews)

  • "a good friendly work environment(in 30 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "bad/ no training, different expectations from different captains/managers(in 21 reviews)

  • "Upper management didn’t handle conflict resolution well(in 13 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of MOD Pizza and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "no one"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      A hot mess

      Apr 10, 2018 - Captain in Oconomowoc, WI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Free meals 50% discount Decent insurance Vacation and sick pay

      Cons

      Can’t use vacation or sick pay because you never get a moment off work Contacted outside of work constantly Painful concrete floors Expected to drop everything and go when someone needs coverage or help Can’t call in sick as a captain Forced to work while throwing up if no coverage Constantly understaffed, especially if squad members call in sick because no one will cover Raises never go through Constantly running out of product ZERO work/life balance Guilted for requesting off Feedback not taken when given to higher ups on how the store could run better Constantly called in for shifts Not enough time to get everything done Not enough staffing to get everything done Unrealistic expectations by upper management Forced to stay late or come in early especially if former manager leaves you a bad shift change (am to pm or pm to am) Overlooked good people for promotions and they are given to people who don’t want or deserve them Upper management refuses to close ever or cover shifts for captains or squad members Constant pressure by upper management to transfer stores or take opportunities someone might not want No follow through by upper management Promises made by upper management with no follow through

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Bad company, judgmental, and hostile.

      Apr 13, 2016 - MOD in Lake Stevens, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Customers and health benefits.

      Cons

      Absolutely the worst company I have ever worked for! I was harassed, constantly criticized, and singled out every day. I was cussed at by my captain in front of a whole line of customers. My manager started drama when I asked my captain if I can get a drink of water which apparently was not aloud even though I was taking orders for over 4 hours without a break! Which is illegal. They only treat their friends and favorites with respect and kindness no one else. I have contacted corporate and still nothing back. The manager expects us to communicate with her when she does not communicate at all... She has her captains comunicate for her. All I have to say is this company was not about what Ally and Scott said it was! I'm very disappointed!

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      A Job for Younglings

      Apr 26, 2016 - Squad Member 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Free pizza for your lunch break (or to take home) on your scheduled shift, otherwise 50% off at any store (just show your proof of employment). Health benefits if you work at least 26 hours a week. Yes, you can be yourself, as some employees/reviews say. And in theory, the job does have SOME fun moments as long as it's not too busy, which affords you the time to enjoy a brief rapport with the customers as you make their pizzas. When it's moderately busy, the job can be fun because everyone is clicking together seamlessly like a well-oiled assembly line, almost to the point where it doesn't feel like working.

      Cons

      It can be very fast and intense at times -- weekends, evenings, holidays, etc. -- especially if the location generates a lot of foot traffic and is situated in a prime, family-friendly area full of shops, movie theaters, and other full service restaurants. Since time is of the essence, most opt for MOD because of the fast service! Customers can occasionally get testy and restless while you're trying to do ten things at once and no one is there to take their order. Some get too bossy about their pizza. Yes the toppings are free and unlimited, but within reason! We're told by the manager and captains not to go overboard, no matter what the customers demand. It is to your advantage to be well-acquainted with the menu items. It's pretty much a requirement to not only know the menu, but all the various ingredients that go into it. You'll have days when there's a crush during lunch or dinner hours, and there is very little time to think it over while customers are waiting. Because this is "fast food," pizza style, customers expect their food promptly. Unfortunately, there are days when you'll be working with an understaffed crew, and you'll find yourself digging a hole with customers coming faster than you can process the order AND prepare the pizza. There are some logistical issues that occur throughout the day. You'll be refilling the ingredients trays constantly throughout the day so it's well stocked, and customers can choose their customized pizzas accordingly. But sometimes you'll run out (including the pizza shells), and because everyone is tied up with some function, there are delays in getting the pizza completed. The manager and team captains are busy trying to catch up in getting the orders processed, so there is usually no one to help the squad members up front. One person usually has to quickly go to back and get a replenishment, which in turn causes even more work for others. There are many days when you'll be doing a lot of back and forth with multiple duties because the other person is busy too helping out as many customers as humanly possible. We've had situations where only ONE person was in front to take an order, make the pizza shell, pile on the toppings, and repeat the procedure for the next three or four customers. It's a good way to test your sanity. It's gotten so busy at times where there was absolutely NO time to get in a lunch break, much less a ten minute one -- which is especially terrible if you work close to an 8 hour shift. When some employees do get a break, it's at the expense of making us understaffed during peak periods and creating unnecessary burdens.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great start, terrible ending

      Aug 22, 2018 - All Star Captain 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Free food, coworkers can be mostly chill, relaxed environment sometimes Loved my first month or two here The highs are extremely high but the lows cancel out any joy you might’ve had in the past month or so

      Cons

      Where to begin? -currently a captain (only one of two for my store right now) and finally got it after months of working my butt off and being promised the position time and time again -they work you until you’re dead and have no outside life -management rarely takes the blame for anything and it’s all everyone else’s fault according to them -they abuse hard workers until they snap and then make you feel bad when you try to bring it up to them -feel betrayed by people you thought you could trust -gm’s aren’t willing to come help and just say they’ll call people in but they come hours later when you’re not in the middle of a rush -when gm’s are scheduled their shifts always have extra people, and leave the other captains with the lazy and slow workers. Still expecting you to get all of your duties finished. -you feel like a piece of garbage 99% of the time after work because you get scolded on a regular basis for stuff you couldn’t control -no one actually checks in on the stores and sees what the problems are -they try to act like a ‘big family’ when in reality they don’t give a flying duck about you, you’re just another number in the computer -no real time off, especially if you’re a captain -there is no respect for the hard workers (I’m putting my two weeks in within these next few days. This toxic work environment has caused me to get barely any sleep, I don’t eat much, and I’ve become filled with rage more than I thought I could ever be. I hate who I am as a person and hate how I feel about everyone. I can’t imagine what this company is going to be like in the next few years. Get out while you can)

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Had bad experience...

      Nov 3, 2017 - Crew Member in Asheville, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      As a kid, the pay was more than I could ask for. I got a solid pay of $8.50 plus tips which averaged 2.67 and hour. You also got a free pizza but they still charged me the difference of $2.14 for gluten free pizza which was a shame. Honestly the only good thing is the pay and the pizza if you like it. Its also a very social job if you like socializing.

      Cons

      I called in sick the day of writing this review. This was my first time calling in sick. They said I would have to find someone to cover my shift or show up. I asked about 4-5 people to cover for me and no one did, so I just did not show up for the sake of the people eating the food and my personal health. I still dont know if I was fired or not but im guessing I was. They havent told me and its 5 hours past the indecent. They overwork you for what you are being paid. I have found that when there is nothing to do, you just clean stuff over and over again. They even go as far out as to give you a pointless task to keep you busy. They seemed overly concerned with labor costs. There have been times were I am working for only 4 hours and they give me a 30 minute non paid break and try to send me home early when there is nothing to do. The hours are not reliable. Sometimes they keep you there extra. They ask you show up 10 minutes early and usually you find yourself leaving up to an hour later. Average was 15-30 minutes. They seem to use your lack of knowledge about your employee rights to their advantage. They didnt tell me I could clock in for the Pizza Test. Good thing I passed. Unfortunately I never saw that $9 raise. Poor training. I have been working there for almost 4 months and I still dont know how to do half the things there. They dont tell you how to do something once it needs to be done that moment. Honestly, I felt used there. Everyone who trained me there ended up quitting. I just wish they told me why. I now know why. They care more about profits than they do their employees.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Decent

      Aug 19, 2018 - Crew Member in San Antonio, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Decent Pay, Lots of Hour, Lots of opportunities for advancement

      Cons

      Always super busy, pay doesn’t increase unless you advance, still a ton of responsibilities, lots of kids working, no one wants to do their job, there were training videos that they never showed us. Small amounts of training

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Only if you're desperate!

      Aug 30, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Snoqualmie, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Tips are pretty decent if you work enough hours Free food

      Cons

      Management is a joke and the lackey's below him are even worse. No one really knows the actual way to do things. Performance means nothing to them, it's all about how brown you wanna get your nose. Pay is extremely low compared to job responsibilities and expectations. 2nd Chance company - you have to work with convicted felons.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 7 of 7 English Reviews

    Popular Careers with MOD Pizza Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at MOD Pizza? Share Your Experiences

    or