MRA - The Management Association Reviews | Glassdoor

MRA - The Management Association Reviews

Updated Jun 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 49 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Susan Fronk
32 Ratings
  1. "Great Organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Learning and Development Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MRA - The Management Association full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great opportunity to utilize and build on your skill sets. Great co-workers. We have such a large array of services we provide that there is a wide distinction between different departments and job responsibilities. You have a lot of opportunity if you're motivated. Being an HR based organization, the culture overall is very pleasant. I have found management to be very accommodating and low pressure.

    Cons

    I have found nothing that compares with the despair I have encountered in the past.

    MRA - The Management Association2019-06-10
  2. "Bad Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MRA - The Management Association full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The work-life balance was good. Having locations at both Plymouth and St. Paul was good.

    Cons

    Over 90% of the people working there 5 years have left.

    MRA - The Management Association2019-05-24
  3. "The worse company in Recruiting."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiting Business Partner in Plymouth, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MRA - The Management Association full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Employees of MRA are very nice. Can be promoted within 6 months. Free lunch from time to time.

    Cons

    Extremely stressful environment. If you ask for help, you are penalized. High expectations of working more then 45 hours a week. Not paid for OT. Old office. Old ways. Applications/programs/hardware are behind in the recruiting realm. A not for profit organization that works as a for profit organization. Training has no structure. Expectations non-realistic. Managers need to TRAIN everyone even if you were familiar with...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Extremely poor management. Management should work on training themselves before trying to train others. Would not recommend this company to ANYONE.

    MRA - The Management Association2019-03-12
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Recruiting Business Partner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MRA - The Management Association part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    MRA's focus is on it's members while taking into account what will benefit the employees and help them develop and grow. Excellent opportunity to be challenged and have work life balance.

    Cons

    Office space needs to expand for the growth taking place.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work,

    MRA - The Management Association2018-11-28
  5. Helpful (1)

    "I had a good experience at MRA. It was a great place to gain more experience while maintaining work life balance."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Analyst in Plymouth, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MRA - The Management Association full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work life balance is great

    Cons

    Not much room to move up

    MRA - The Management Association2018-10-31
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to educate on HR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in Plymouth, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MRA - The Management Association full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Development opportunities, really nice people, variety of HR work available, wonderful member relationships, flexible scheduling, work life balance encouraged, social gatherings

    Cons

    Lack of interdepartmental communication, morale poor, not for profit but pressure to act as if a for profit company, High rate of turnover

    Advice to Management

    Encourage a better buy in from employees

    MRA - The Management Association2018-04-01
  7. "great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at MRA - The Management Association full-time

      Pros

      great company to work for

      Cons

      cant really think of anything negative

      MRA - The Management Association2018-01-23
    • Helpful (1)

      "Recruiting Business Partner"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Recruiting Business Partner in Waukesha, WI
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at MRA - The Management Association full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Flexibility, engaging work that is rewarding, wonderful team - overall a great place to work!

      Cons

      Outdated technology and office space - it is part of the strategic plan though according to what was presented in the all staff meeting.

      MRA - The Management Association2018-01-15
    • Helpful (1)

      "Recruiting Business Partner"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at MRA - The Management Association full-time

      Pros

      Wonderful organization! Company is always looking for the better way to do things, is working hard to be progressive and acknowledges top performance.

      Cons

      Health insurance has a high deductible but they are keeping the costs under control by doing this.

      Advice to Management

      Continue to move forward and continue to strive to be more progressive

      MRA - The Management Association2017-12-28
    • "Exceptional HR Partner!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Waukesha, WI
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at MRA - The Management Association full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Great Culture, strong employee engagement, visionary leadership

      Cons

      No complaints but wish we had a "Dress for your Day" policy! We seem too stuffy - even our members comment on it!

      Advice to Management

      Be available to employees, listen to feedback, be transparent and be aggressive our our strategic plan! We want to see our organization grow and remain a relevant employers association for years to come!

      MRA - The Management Association2017-11-29
    Found 49 reviews