MRL Consulting Group Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

MRL Consulting Group Reviews

Updated Jul 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
96%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
MRL Consulting Group CEO David Stone (no image)
David Stone
33 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Brought me in to the world of recruitment!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Hove, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MRL Consulting Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I originally started in the graduate academy with no previous recruitment (or even sales!) experience. The academy provided a healthy mixture of classroom based theory and practical modules which developed a solid foundation and skill set in both traditional and modern headhunting techniques. Going through an individual training plan to become an Account Manager allowed me to focus on key strengths of managing... complex accounts across multiple territories. This in turn has resulted in me becoming one the company’s top performers. In my opinion MRL provides a unique, mature and highly productive environment to work in. Enabling the best possible results through individual support in a fun yet challenging work environment.

    Show More

    Cons

    Not many (if any) come to mind! Office is a jovial place to work.... can be easy to get distracted (not too bad of a negative I suppose!)

    Advice to Management

    Keep the culture the same, since I have been here there have been very few (if any) people who dont fit the company culture. Continue to hire people that have the MRL attitude/mentality.

    MRL Consulting Group2016-06-23
  2. Helpful (1)

    "What a fantastic place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Hove, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MRL Consulting Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Work hard and the rewards will come to you. But from day one you get rewarded very well. A great salary for the geographical area, pension, free health care and I have travelled across Europe, Middle East and Asia too. The little things in life matter and when you get recognised for the hard work you put in as I have, it makes a great job that much more enjoyable. (Along with the free fruit, great coffee and... fantastic facilities) Come to MRL they said, it's a great place to work they said. And I can't disagree

    Show More

    Cons

    We only need hard working employees. Work shy shirkers need not apply

    MRL Consulting Group2016-06-22
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Working at MRL, long-term employment experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative in Hove, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MRL Consulting Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I have been working at MRL for almost six years now and am still loving my job here. It's evident that we work as a big, but close team - no one is singled out. Every one receives support, friendship and understanding not just from the management, but from all employees. Some reviews really are a shame on here and in my opinion completely inaccurate. I have never experienced any inappropriate, sexist or... uncomfortable behaviour, nor have I ever witnessed such here. Quite frankly if that were the case, a company would not be thriving with the same CEO since 1997! During my first year here I was offered the chance to complete NVQ's to help me progress in my career whilst working full-time which is a great benefit for a younger employee, now five years on I am seeing my colleagues being offered the same course options and support from management, it's a great additional benefit and shows that MRL really values us being long-term employees. I am due to leave on maternity this year and the support I have been given from our CEO since the beginning and the options regarding returning to work have been great, I know I can come back when I'm ready and return to a great place of work.

    Show More

    Cons

    MRL as a company - none

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing!

    MRL Consulting Group2016-06-22
  4. Helpful (3)

    ""The way recruitment should be done""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Hove, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MRL Consulting Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Salary, benefits and package are industry leading. Relaxed but professional working environment. Support and training easily accessible. Management supportive, constructive and knowledgeable . Very approachable Excellent team, fantastic socials and enjoyable working environment.

    Cons

    Lack of accessible lunch time options.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work, after working in a couple of recruitment companies it's refreshing to work in constructive, entrepreneurial environment

    MRL Consulting Group2016-06-09
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Chief Executive / David Stone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Consultant in Hove, England

    I have been working at MRL Consulting Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I am the co-founder and Chief Executive of MRL. Of course I'm going to say we're a wonderful company and that it's a great place to work - it's my job to do this! And, in all honesty, I think it is, too. I work hard to maintain a great, supportive working environment, provide fantastic remuneration / benefits packages and to look after my people. I have a mantra that I live by - "I look after my people, and my... people look after me" - but here's the hook, it starts with me looking after them, first. And I mean that. As part of any interview process I encourage applicants to quiz my colleagues, both experienced and junior, about what it's really like to work here. No tricks, no fibs and no gimmicks or spin - transparency is extremely important to me.

    Show More

    Cons

    I'm only human and I don't always get it right - I make mistakes. But I'll always learn from them - isn't that how we improve? And I tell all new joiners - it's fine to make mistakes - honestly - just don't make the same one twice! Recruitment isn't for everyone - it's a tough job with plenty of pressure some stress on occasion. It's not for everyone. You need a fast brain, a big memory and a massive work ethic.... Plenty of people think they like the idea of recruitment, but when push comes to shove they either don't have the mental horsepower or work ethic for it. And, try as I might, I can't train for "attitude". But we don't take ourselves too seriously, have a lot of fun and the best people make a lot of money whilst delighting clients and candidates alike. Life is good.

    Show More
    MRL Consulting Group2016-06-09
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Fabulous Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Hove, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MRL Consulting Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I am treated like a grown up - no strict KPI's/manager breathing down my neck every 10 mins! this really is a place where experienced recruiters like myself can work and thrive in a grown up and supportive environment. The people that work here are not the stereotypical cheesy/annoying recruiters. Great company to work for

    Cons

    nothing I can think of from the top of my head...

    Advice to Management

    keep doing what you are doing! - never change

    MRL Consulting Group2016-05-31
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Highly recommend!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Recruitment Consultant in Hove, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MRL Consulting Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    MRL offers some excellent benefits from remuneration and commission to location and working environment, it has it all! This is not your standard recruitment firm, it's not heavy handed, overly high-pressured or sexist. My experience is that you can learn about real recruitment in a supportive and enjoyable environment. Occasionally things get pressured towards the end of a month/quarter but it's sales at the end... of the day! I've enjoyed working for MRL and have always been given support, encouragement and free reign to do new things.

    Show More

    Cons

    Fairly long working hours, but you get out what you put in. One or two irritating characters in the office, but that's less of a business issue and also quite normal in sales!

    Advice to Management

    Business: Remove the account manager function, it doesn't work as it stands. Personal: Keep doing what you do, speak to people directly if you have any issues - the personal touch is what differentiates you.

    MRL Consulting Group2016-06-22
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Clear progression and good working culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Brighton, England
    Recommends

    I worked at MRL Consulting Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Started in the Graduate Academy programme in 2011 with clear attainable progression into a team on the sales floor after an in depth and excellent training schedule teaching you all the basics needed to succeed as a recruiter. Constant assistance and help from senior management in the form of group or 1-1 training sessions which could be requested whenever by the consultant. Clear KPIs and understanding of what is... required to be promoted and move up within the company. If you work hard and act in the correct manner then the company will do whatever they can to keep you happy, performing and motivated. Convenient office location by the train station makes it easy to commute or travel for client meetings.

    Show More

    Cons

    Something which has probably since been addressed that the graduate academy programme was probably too large which led to only half graduating to the sales floor but a few since have gone on to have successful careers in recruitment.

    Advice to Management

    Try and maintain the positive company working culture by employing and retaining like-minded employees. Appreciated the camaraderie between everyone on the sales floor where there was good support and lots of people with similar work and life values.

    MRL Consulting Group2016-05-31
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Administrator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at MRL Consulting Group

    Pros

    The Management Team are incredibly efficient. Felt instantly part of the furniture from day 1 of joining. A lovely Group of People to work with.

    Cons

    Yet to come accross any bad Points.

    MRL Consulting Group2016-05-25
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - 360 Consultant in Hove, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MRL Consulting Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Private Healthcare Great Office Environment Fantastic commission structure Get treated like a well respected member of the team Career Progression

    Cons

    Long hours and hard work - not really a con as you get out what you put in

    Advice to Management

    Stop smoking

    MRL Consulting Group2016-05-23
Found 42 reviews