MRP "150 calls" Reviews | Glassdoor

MRP Employee Reviews about "150 calls"

Updated Nov 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
57%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
MRP CEO & Managing Partner   Kevin Cunningham (no image)
Kevin Cunningham
160 Ratings
Pros
  • "The new Belfast offices are very nicely finished, comfortable and in a good location(in 18 reviews)

  • "As an AE, the bonus structure allows for a lucrative salary on a per monthly basis(in 16 reviews)

Cons
  • "As an example when the campaign had a minimum purchase of 20 desktop computers the leads I was issued were mostly tiny primary schools(in 16 reviews)

  • "Bullies are placed on purpose all over and they literally play cards all day meanwhile the others are dialling 150 calls /day with a miserable database(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "150 calls"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Unexpectedly, the best career decision I’ve ever made"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at MRP full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Ok, maybe it’s not 5 stars all the time. There are definitely 2 star days (same as any job). But I’ll give them 5 for what they’ve given me in return. I worked as an AE for over a year before receiving a promotion. Coming to MRP was a major career change and a difficult one. I understood when I was hired that I would be making 150 calls a day and that if I did my job, I could make great money. All of that held true. Being an AE was definitely one of the more tedious jobs I’ve ever had and definitely frustrating at times. However, I stayed with the company because I had such a great time with my coworkers and I hadn’t really figured out what I wanted to “do” professionally. The other promise MRP made to me when I came through the doors was that there are great opportunities for professional growth. Eventually, I was promoted into a role that I loved and have received two other promotions since that time. MRP went from being one of my more challenging career moves to my favorite job I’ve ever had. I’m so grateful that MRP gave me the chance to successfully launch a new career path. A lot of doors have opened for me because I stuck it out and worked hard. That’s been true for my friends here as well. The promotional opportunities are definitely something that I find to be invaluable about this company. If you want an opportunity to grow and you are willing to work hard and be patient, MRP will give you the launching pad you need. Plus the Happy Hours are awesome.

    Cons

    AEs get paid a lot of money to do work that clients don’t have the bandwidth to do themselves. It’s definitely a challenge to drum up new business, which is why you can make anywhere between $40-80k annually for having a handful of successful conversations a day. I don’t understand the people who come on Glassdoor to complain that “they make you make 150 calls a day!”…I mean, they tell you that in the interview process…did you think that they were lying and magically giving you a different job because you’re just that awesome? If you’re not a hard worker, don’t apply here. If you’re not willing to receive feedback and make changes, don’t apply here. If you’re not willing to be patient before getting a promotion (6 months – 2 years), don’t apply here. But especially if you don't want to work in sales or in an environment that requires you to hit goals, don't apply here. It's up to you on how you look at the opportunity.

    Continue reading
    MRP2015-08-28
  2. Helpful (4)

    "A Peasant’s Penny"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MRP full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The ones you watch on TV and are talked about in the office. Some good ‘pros’

    Cons

    A lot of them figuratively and literally. Had to have been the most unprofessional job experience ever. Not only did I have to endure that brutally terrible training, but I wasn’t even compensated for it. Then, they have the nerve to give out wawa gift cards and Philly cheesesteaks as a rewards system. Also, the job actually looks pretty bad on a resume unless you’re actually selling predictive data, which is what they stated that you are selling during the interview. They make you dial 150 calls which isn’t bad compared to other call centers, but it is BAD because their click to dial does not WORK the majority of the time. Team leads will hound you to death because they’re hounded by upper level management. The PTO is limited here as well. No type of growth whatsoever within this company. There’s also a crazy amount of favoritism here, as I was twice given desks that had terrible seating. AVOID STAYING HERE AT ALL COSTS.

    Continue reading
    MRP2018-07-31
  3. Helpful (10)

    "AE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Account Executive in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MRP full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It's a Job to say the most. The office is in a great location in the heart of the city. You have the ability to make bonus each month, but some numbers are very hard to achieve. - Great skill set to possess for business development. You will get very comfortable talking to C level employees and decision makers.

    Cons

    - Management does not put you into a position to succeed unless they like you - Promotions are based on friendships, and not work ethic (mock interviews to make it look fair) - 150+ calls a day. You will not get out what you put in unless management sets you up to succeed. - Database is unreliable, and crashes often. - No help given by upper management after bring issues to their attention. I could go on, but I do not want to bash the company to hard, as they do get paid well for some of the simplest telemarketing techniques if we can call them techniques more so common sense.

    Continue reading
    MRP2015-05-06
  4. Helpful (7)

    "Not a slight, but the AE role is 100% old-school telemarketing!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MRP full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Well, it's a job. If you are going into this role as a fresher, looking to cut your teeth on Sales & Marketing as an intro -this may be for you. Perhaps you like having conversations where you have to remain persistent, repeatedly overcoming objections, in order to continue the dialogue to get your message across. You are tenacious & hell-bent on having the last say, converting the person you are calling into a "lead." -The training program has improved in a paradigm shift from what was offered to incoming AE's a few years ago. -CEO is a nice guy.

    Cons

    Much of this is sifted from previous comments (some of which I read prior to taking this role & now concur post-op): -Your effort is not rewarded, only the results you provide. It does not matter how hard you try/work if you do not get any leads you do not matter. -The CRM tool that the company uses is indeed dated & frequently causes lag in production time (too frequently). -Ironically, MRP is experiencing growing pains & hence, is grappling with managing the influx of new hires with the work demand. -Expected to make 150+ calls a day to people who were likely contacted about the same thing the previous week. Non-exaggerated. -Speaking with seasoned AE's, the bonus structure has greatly diminished from what it was - say two years ago. Point system connotates to less money to be made. -Benefits program is at best sub-par & increasing in cost - 2015. -More telemarketing than 'true' marketing. -Dress code is not enforced.

    Continue reading
    MRP2015-03-22
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to start a sales career and learn the tech industry across numerous brands and many solutions."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Brand Manager in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MRP full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Great opportunity to gain cold calling experience along with build you sales skills and technology knowledge. The basics you learn as an Account Executive will stay with you as you grow in your career and as an individual. - I have been promoted twice in 18 months and was able to grow with the training and help Brand Managers and other talented Account Executives taught me. -Co-workers overall are a great group of people.

    Cons

    -Daily grind of 100-150 calls -Siebel is outdated and needs to be upgraded, makes the workflow very difficult throughout the day

    Continue reading
    MRP2014-09-05
  6. Helpful (13)

    "Market Resource Partners has the potential to to be a great Company but fails on too many areas"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive II in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MRP full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You can potentially earn decent money here but management will go out of their way to ensure you see as little of it as possible.

    Cons

    Bonus figures are always wrong and you have to fight for what you're owed. Terrible working environment. Expected to make 150 calls a day to people who were likely contacted about the same thing the previous week. Poor management, especially Senior Managers.

    Continue reading
    MRP2014-07-13
  7. Helpful (13)

    "Don't believe all the positive hype until you read all the reviews and judge for yourself."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at MRP full-time

    Pros

    Center city location which is convenient for public transportation. Work hours are not that bad but only if your hourly. Promotions are very common but the compensation is unreasonable.

    Cons

    Don’t believe most of the positive reviews for this company. The company is trying to rally up current/former staff to write good reviews to overlook the bad (true) ones. This company was once an ok place to work before it was taken over by FD (another company with many negative reviews, go do the research). Now this place has gotten a lot worse with long time employees leaving left and right. Some of the things that plague this place are: • Greedy owners that rather pocket profits than investing back into the company. • Senior management that’s been too cushy with their positions way to long without contributing to the company. • Sales and account managers that don’t have a clue on how to perform their jobs (MRP can’t afford to hire these positions from the outside so they promote within with no or little raise and no formal training. • Technology that is outdated by today’s standards which contradicts what they do since MRP is a “technology” company. • Turnover rate is a bit high even for a call center which shouldn’t be a surprise since they tend to hire inexperienced people. • Sales managers giving their good list to their favorite account executives or staff that they flirt with while giving everyone the crappy lists which they end up getting fired over for due to low sales. • Salary staff are overworked due to lack being under staffed so the work-like balance is completely tipped to the work side. • Relationships between associates and managers are allowed and overlooked when issues arise. • Outsourcing jobs overseas to Ireland and Central American claiming that these call centers target those areas. In reality, it’s cheaper for the company to open new offices and hire staff overseas than to expand in the states. If you’re a professional with years of experience or have family to support then I wouldn’t even bother with MRP. However if you’re a recent college grad looking for a 1st job to build up experience in the tech field and don’t mind making +150 calls a day, then this is the place for you.

    MRP2013-12-04
  8. Helpful (16)

    "Garbage Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at MRP

    Pros

    Nothing good came out of this place, you are one of 150 young professionals that are just making 150 phone calls to people who don't want nothing to do with us

    Cons

    Bad hours, bad environment, management doesn't know what they are doing, 150+ calls in a day, don't let this place pull you in. You WILL be wasting your time or quit a position that is a million times better than market resource partners.

    Continue reading
    MRP2013-11-08
  9. "Great stepping stone into the world of tech sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive II in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MRP full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The work-life balance is above-average: 40-hour weeks (early-out incentives on Fridays during the Summer), work-from-home is an option, business casual dress attire (jean Fridays). Account Executives are aligned with 2-3 brands and receive extensive training on those companies' products and solutions. Continuous training by SMEs is always readily available when a new technology is introduced or if an individual is struggling. The likelihood of making a significant bonus is very realistic for the average AE. If you are half-decent at generating opportunities and follow-up for feedback diligently, you could very well double your base salary. Great location, and it gets even better in a few weeks when we move next to the Comcast building (awesome view of the city). Tir Na Nog will automatically become the new default Happy Hour location as a result.

    Cons

    On average you make 150 calls per day, and it's an open sales floor so it can be intimidating for those who aren't comfortable selling over the phone. Making that many calls every day can be grueling, but we get two 15-minute breaks and an hour for lunch so that helps break up the day. It's a "what have you done for me lately" environment, which can be expected from a sales floor. But, if you string together a few rough weeks, then your name will start to pop up on the radar.

    Continue reading
    MRP2013-05-11

    MRP Response

    June 18, 2013Corporate Recruiter

    Thanks for the feedback. As you may or may not have heard, due to the ideas that have been springing forth in various places, we will be heading towards certifications that will allow for the full cycle sale of certain products. These are exciting times to be sure!

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work if you are able to make repetitive phone calls"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Account Executive in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends

    I worked at MRP

    Pros

    Fast paced environment with a balanced workload Good incentives in order to keep employees motivated. Able to make decent to great monthly commissions if you are focused everyday on the job at hand Family like atmosphere amongst fellow co-workers

    Cons

    The repetitive nature of 150+ calls per day can be demotivating to the wrong employee candidate but this is a personal situation. Either you can or can't do this day in and day out. Base salary is not ready for today's situations so if you are depending on just making by on your base salary this is not the job for you. Once again going to the fist point in this Con review.

    Continue reading
    MRP2012-04-16

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 11 reviews
</>Embed