MS Walker Reviews | Glassdoor

MS Walker Reviews

Updated 20 May 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 11 reviews

4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
90%
Recommend to a Friend
MS Walker CEO Scott Allen (no image)
Scott Allen
0 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Excellent Company to Work For!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MS Walker full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have been here for about a month and I love the culture they have developed here. This is a 5th generation family owned and operated company and they treat everyone here like family. Our General Manager has checked in with me every single day and asks about myself and my family. My manager and co-worker in our small department are amazing, I could not be happier to have made the switch.

    Cons

    The only "downside" is I have a longer commute than before but it is completely worth it.

    MS Walker2019-05-20
  2. "Amazing Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at MS Walker full-time

    Pros

    Incredible work enviroment. Team oriented.

    Cons

    There is not much to complain about.

    MS Walker2018-07-26
  3. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MS Walker full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This is the best company I’ve ever worked for in the industry. It’s a family owned company that cares about its employees.

    Cons

    I honestly don’t have a negative thing to say about Walker.

    MS Walker2018-03-24
  4. "A Great Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Somerville, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MS Walker full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    This is a family owned and operated company that truly appreciates the work their employees do for them. The owners and management were always available to help you and give the support needed to get the task done.

    Cons

    Very little opportunity for anyone to advance into management due to the size of the sales force and the limited availability of management positions.

    MS Walker2017-10-04
  5. Helpful (2)

    "GREAT PLACE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Norwood, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MS Walker full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    This is a great family owned company. Always making you fell like you are very important. My boss is one of the nicest people.

    Cons

    The drive to work is not the best.

    MS Walker2017-06-05
  6. "MS Walker Review (Marketing Department)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MS Walker full-time

    Pros

    Family-owned and operated company with a tight-knit corporate culture. Members of the family and management team treat employees with great respect. After working here for a short time, it's evident that a strong work-life balance is encouraged and hard work is rewarded. Hopeful to have a long career here.

    Cons

    Dated office space (which will not be the case pending an upcoming corporate office move).

    MS Walker2017-01-26
  7. "MS Walker Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at MS Walker

    Pros

    Family-owned private business. The family really treats employees like a part of their family. Senior management works with doors open and makes an effort to work with all employees of all levels. Nice perks being in the wine and spirits business with access to samples and a very diverse portfolio. All the sales reps are great and very much value the back of house efforts to support the business. There is a years of... service poster with so many ppl having worked for the company for 25years+ - I've never seen anything like that at other companies. Lots of promotion within - always the first steps to advertise positions internally and allow for interviewing.

    Show More

    Cons

    If you are an hourly worker, there isn't much flexibility in working remotely

    MS Walker2016-12-07
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Marketing Department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graphic Designer 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at MS Walker full-time

    Pros

    Great Company Atmosphere Overtime available most weeks good for interns

    Cons

    lack of management involvement no room for growth too many supervisors/managers not doing enough managing lack of communication salary

    MS Walker2016-04-19
  9. "Sales Anayst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Office Manager in Bayside, NY

    I worked at MS Walker for more than a year

    Pros

    terrific sales team to work with.

    Cons

    poor communication from management. no since of urgency for deadlines.

    MS Walker2015-10-29
  10. "Family owned company with great product line"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Area Sales Representative in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MS Walker full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    If you'd like to be on the inside of the wine and spirits industry, this is a good entry with opportunity to move onto regional sales if you're motivated

    Cons

    Ridiculous quotas from bigger, more powerful brokers with alot of pressure to make quotas

    Advice to Management

    Get back to the customer first approach and not so "corporate agenda" focused

    MS Walker2014-01-08
Found 11 reviews