MSB Consulting Reviews | Glassdoor

MSB Consulting Reviews

Updated 12 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
51%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
MSB Consulting CEO Chasity Wright (no image)
Chasity Wright
2 Ratings
  1. "Culture and Transformation are Key"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Director in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MSB Consulting full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This company and my leadership care about me as a person which leads to transformation professionally and personally. We are not task driven, rather people focused. This allows me as a leader to spend full days investing in people and leaving everyday feeling like I haven't "worked" a minute. Our culture and purpose hold the keys to where we go and what we do and this is freeing! It allows all employees to be... known, valued, and seen. We have an entire team in place to do so! There is no other company that values their people to this level. MSB also holds professional development every 6 weeks so even as a remote employee I was poured into so regularly! I have created real, lifelong friendships with the people I work with and that is a true blessing.

    Show More

    Cons

    Change happens frequently. But without change we cannot grow. It is through change and failure that I have personally transformed. But I also know change can be hard for some people. This is not a place where you can be on auto-pilot, you have to be willing to be vulnerable, let people in, and fail.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to invest in your people and hired based on our culture, because the people we have are truly some of the greatest out there!

    MSB Consulting2019-07-12
  2. Helpful (7)

    "Good in writing but not lived out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Internal 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MSB Consulting full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There can be a definite family feel here if you get into a good department and perks include decent PTO and a fairly-well-stocked kitchen

    Cons

    A lot at MSB needs addressing and falls outside of the "culture" they want to sell but gets consistently overlooked to accomplish what actual business and organizational goals the company chooses to pursue. The executive team consistently talks a great talk but ignore things that fall outside of the guiding principles when the people involved are good at their job. There are people currently in leadership that... consistently treat people in a way that violates the guiding principles but are rewarded with promotions and inflated salaries. Which brings me to another problem as 90% of the staff is underpaid and given lateral promotions while being told budgeting can't find them money for their department to be given even a $3000 raise after a year or two of work, but the company can easily afford that and continues to now buy and fund more and more business ventures while not scaling the internal teams they use to actually do all of the work for these new businesses. Constant promotions occur for random people who are determined to be a good "culture fit" or just who the executive team happens to like at that time but these people are almost never equipped to lead or manage in the department they're placed in and aren't trained to do so afterwards leaving poor management due to no knowledge of that department's work or even the scope of how that department operates. Work-life balance is ignored and focus is pulled to another buzzword "work-life integration" while conveniently side-stepping the very real issues of overwork and no balance. Salary is the worst move you can make as you will be fully expected to work at a moments notice and even while sick or on PTO. The owner is definitely charismatic and generally a fun person but is very disconnected from the fact that a constant lack of planning and a refusal to wait for anything longer than he decides appropriate consistently makes life difficult for the internal teams to keep up with and doesn't serve anyone. If the leadership that worships the ground he stands on would stop selling out the lower-level employees to be yes-men for him he would have a lot more of the buy-in he wants so desperately. With the book he's know writing over his alignment leadership I know he'll probably get a lot of people enthralled with his amazing concepts but I would encourage you to read over this and the other negative reviews that do give an accurate picture of what it is like for the majority of people working at MSB, and before they try and remove these reviews.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Start consistently living out the guiding principles you set even if it means adjusting the way you're used to doing things. Read the above criticisms and instead of defensively disagreeing try and seek out how you might rectify the things pointed out. Alignment Leadership could work but only if everyone makes an effort to continually practice what they preach and actually serve their employees more than their own... whims.

    Show More
    MSB Consulting2019-07-12
  3. "Purpose Driven Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Specialist 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MSB Consulting full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - I am seen as a person, not a number - I am challenged every day with aligning my purpose back to what drives me - Amazing people - MSB creates an environment that gives every employee the ability to create their own future on their own terms -Extensive professional/personal development

    Cons

    If you do not like change you will have a hard time here. The company's leadership is constantly going to take on new projects, move people around, and change procedures to better align with our purpose. This allows employees to find belonging and passion in their work but could be scary for those who fear change/growth.

    MSB Consulting2019-06-02
  4. "Culture Is Key"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director of Marketing in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MSB Consulting full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I experienced true transformation from being poured into by leadership at MSB. The people at this company truly care about the employee experience and pursue people in a way that is FOR them. They helped me recognize my true passions and helped me get to a place where I get to live them out everyday. Building a community and working with your friends is a reality here, and the people are a true testament of the... power house culture that is being built. The guiding principles are what made me interested in this company, and after being here for 2 years, I can confidently say that the guiding principles aren't just something on the website, but someone that the people here strive towards everyday and in every interaction. MSB offers so many opportunities for growth! I started at MSB in May 2017 as a Program Specialist. In the past 2 years, I have experience tremendous growth and leadership opportunities.

    Show More

    Cons

    MSB has challenged me to think differently and to not find value in the amount of tasks I can complete, but to find value in the person that I am. If you are not looking to being pushed to be vulnerable and honest with yourself and others, this is not the place for you.

    Advice to Management

    Looking inwards at the employee experience has made a huge shift, and I am so thankful. Please continue to push towards transformation, because it has helped me in more ways than I can express!

    MSB Consulting2019-05-22
  5. Helpful (1)

    "It is what you make of it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MSB Consulting full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits and time off. The company really works hard to grow you and help you become a leader. Company wide retreats and trips. Easy to work with people among your team. Creates a lot of opportunities to advance your soft skills and build relationships. MSB is very trusting of their employees.

    Cons

    There is no true HR so anything you say to upper level management will get misconstrued and potentially put you in a worse position than saying anything at all. SO MANY CHANGES WITH ZERO FOLLOW THROUGH. Operates on loop holes that I could see being harmful for the future. If you have a good sense of who you are and your values and are upfront about that you will be able to enjoy your time here. If you are someone... who is easily influenced prepare yourself for a rollercoaster of emotions.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You have a huge opportunity to continue to create a great place of work, be aware of the people to your left and right that are continually going against your guiding principles yet they hold a huge voice in decisions. Practice what you preach.

    MSB Consulting2019-04-25
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing Benefits and Great Co-workers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Coordinator in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MSB Consulting full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great core values that help guide the company's decision making and hiring process. Good perks such as extended vacation time during the holidays, bi monthly company-wide retreats, access to tons of snacks and food, and great up-to-date office equipment.

    Cons

    Slow data on the company cell phone.

    Advice to Management

    As long as you continue to worry about the employees over the clients and always understand we're all team players, I'm sure everything will take care of itself.

    MSB Consulting2018-11-26
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Take heart on the negative reviews"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MSB Consulting full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free snacks; the mission of the company is actually a good one, but leadership makes the job not worth it

    Cons

    Hmmm, where to start? Compensation does not match the amount of work expected and needed. There is no true HR department so if there is a conflict or if an employee needs to make a complaint, it's given to upper leadership (in my case, the complaint was about the person to whom I reported). Definite favorites played among upper management: if you want any chance of advancing in this company, you better... drink a lot of that Kool-Aid. Company "values" are constantly changing and being modified to suit the current mood of the owner of the company and his right hand (wo)man. Bizarre thought process by the owner: he told an employee that she needs to stop using her own internal thought processes to become a leader, and instead take only the responses and thoughts from the "executive managing director" who was this employee's boss at the time. Who does that? Who says to someone, "Don't trust your own judgement...it's not working. Trust ?" Once didn't hire a black woman bc her lips were too big. Employees' private and professional information is shared by upper-level management to subordinates who have no need to hear the information. "Culture coaching" meetings are held monthly, and information that is shared (supposedly only among those in the room) is reported back to management - zero opportunity to truly bring to light issues you might have with the company. Oh and take a look: there is currently no culture team. It's a no. No no no don't do it. I promise, unless you're planning on being a "yes-man" and keeping your thoughts to yourself, this will not be a fit for you.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Won't matter bc they don't listen anyway.

    MSB Consulting2018-12-10
  8. Helpful (15)

    ""Oh man" is right. Run for the hills."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MSB Consulting

    Pros

    Important work for the community, free snacks, PTO

    Cons

    Management, work-life balance, ridiculously excessive and unnecessary change, executive clique, poor pay, mistreatment of employees. Guys, please take the negative reviews as fact and be extra critical of the positive reviews that happen to come out around the same time. That's probably just the Executive Team clique realizing that these reviews are hurting their ability to hire. There are too many negative... reviews to just be from people who were justly terminated or some other reason.  This is 100% the worst place I have ever worked in my life. This place will destroy you, and me and a couple of other coworkers used to equate working here like being in an emotionally unhealthy relationship. The guiding principles are manipulated to help see you out the door in the event that you don't fit their perfect mold or if you express any constructive disagreement about a process. Example: If you are called out for something and you defend yourself because you genuinely (and respectfully) disagree or you’re simply trying to state your point of view, you are perceived as not adhering to the guiding principle of humility. You really just need to suck it up and say "You're right, I was wrong" if you wish to survive. You will start questioning your judgment and compromise your integrity out of concern that you will be terminated if you don’t. You are indoctrinated into a cultish "culture" of guiding principles and it basically functions as the owner's religious gospel. If you do not worship the owner and brown nose hardcore about how great of a leader he is, you will not do well here. If you do not do the same with his sycophants, you will not do well here.  The only roles that have not turned over are the executive team, which is very telling. Changes were constant, but not even for the better. It felt like they make changes just to make them, but everyone is sick of it. If you work here for longer than year, you will probably have had 6-8 different job titles, departments, and responsibilities. As soon as you get comfortable, things will change yet again. The executives hide behind the veil of "if you don't do well with change, this is not the place for you," but there is a thing called change fatigue; particularly if the changes make no sense and they happen so often that they demonstrate the lack of cohesive vision for the company.  The executives are so fake and manipulative to achieve their own agendas. If you are a suck up you may do well here. If you can keep your mouth shut, take the blame for anything that is attributed to your performance, do your job with no mistakes, and go to all of the company events then maybe you'll do fine. The number two in the organization is the worst of them all.  So much unscrupulous behavior it's pathetic. I realized quickly I didn't want to work for a company like this. Example: If you are at an off-site happy hour, the owner hands out $20 bills if you complete his "dares" at his whim. Is this how you want to be treated? Like a plaything? Like a source of pathetic enjoyment for this man? If you have any integrity, stay far, far away.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Act like human beings with integrity; these are people's lives and livelihoods you're dealing with. Hold yourselves accountable to your so-called guiding principles. Stop making arbitrary changes.

    MSB Consulting2018-08-05
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Fast growing company with family values"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Database Analyst in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MSB Consulting full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    MSB is a great place to develop your skillset. I found the company to be flexible in offering new responsibility and opportunities. It can be demanding at times which is great for people who are interested in pushing themselves. Ultimately the managers were very understanding and would fight for you on a human level rather than brutally sticking to policies. In my experience they appreciated hard work and gave... everyone many opportunities to go above and beyond.

    Show More

    Cons

    You have to be physically located somewhere that makes sense for their business which was a bummer as when I moved to another state I wasn't able to work remotely. Their industry is tough to learn at first so the face-time is invaluable initially.

    Advice to Management

    This isn't an industry where you can have fakers at your company. Management can be tough on folks who just want to auto-pilot at work. From my perspective.... good. Keep doing that.

    MSB Consulting2018-06-28
  10. Helpful (9)

    "This company screams law suit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MSB Consulting full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits if you stay long enough to use them

    Cons

    Horrible leadership. All the reviews are pointing towards the same people -- upper management. Owner and right hand woman are completely disconnected from staff. The "constant changes" are played up as a good thing for growth -- it's down right chaos with no direction. It's like playing a board game with a 10 year old that keeps adding rules as you go along to benefit themselves. Right wing woman is very rude and... mean to employees and is very unaware and out of touch with how employees perceive her. The critical turning point for this company has already passed and as the turn over rate continues to spiral it's not a ship I would jump on board. It is very appealing sounding but until they can give the boot to almost all upper management this ship.... like the other few states they closed in.... will sink as well.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to employees especially about critical team members. It may be hard, but if everyone in your company says something about a staff member -- it's time for a change. Hire HR. Set a clear vision for the company and quit using "quick changes" as a way to demean employees who know a chaotic work place is not normal. Be aware of state guidelines and quit toeing the line on what you tell districts to claim. This... is extremely unethical.

    Show More
    MSB Consulting2018-06-24
Found 29 reviews