Find jobs for Outside Sales Representative

KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

MSC Industrial Direct

Engaged Employer

MSC Industrial Direct

Add a Review

MSC Industrial Direct Outside Sales Representative Reviews

Updated May 8, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 36 of over 697 reviews

2.4
75%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
MSC Industrial Direct CEO Erik Gershwind
Erik Gershwind
17 Ratings

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of MSC Industrial Direct and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Good company. Solid values

    May 11, 2018 - Outside Sales Account Executive in Dallas, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    MSC Industrial will provide all the tools needed for a sales rep to be successful. They have quality products, excellent service and committed to serving the customer.

    Cons

    The manager will occasionally switch the focus of product emphasis due to corporate office pressure. No different than other companies though.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    MSC Industrial Direct Response

    Program Manager, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to post a review, we appreciate it.

  2. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Okay

    Apr 28, 2022 - Outside Sales Representative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Company vehicle and gas with small employee payment per check. Good work life balance. Local travel Great solutions for customers.

    Cons

    Health coverage is average for large corporation. Too many directives. Priorities change too often. Commission structure is too convoluted. Quarterly goal increases too high to make a good living. No pay raise in 2 years Pricing is too high to compete with locals No company apparel provided.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  3. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Just okay

    May 8, 2022 - Outside Sales Representative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great product line. And shipping time.

    Cons

    I did not love the culture.

    1 person found this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Current Employee

    your not going make good money here!

    Mar 2, 2022 - Outside Sales Representative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Expect your sales plan to increase every 90 days regardless of where you are to plan. Sales plans are initially set very aggressively high to reduce the commission payouts Inventory levels are low and back orders and cancelled orders are high on common items. msc is big on wage suppression! Building your wealth is not in the cards here.. (sure you can buy stock through the employee stock purchase plan, but if you dont have enough $$ to put food on the table, how can you buy stock?) mirco management is the norm. beware the msc bureaucracy!

    Cons

    I am disappointed in myself for accepting the offer. I am actively in process of interviewing for a different opportunity. NO long term future with this company. (unless you want to work for peanuts!)

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Used to be a great place

    Jul 1, 2021 - Outside Sales Representative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    great people and products. Corporate very employee involved. People stayed for years and were celebrated for it..

    Cons

    change in corporate structure and it no longer was customer first....

    2 people found this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Tenured Rep

    May 8, 2021 - Outside Sales Representative in Richmond, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great group of people, decent pay

    Cons

    Not promoted due to skill, but who like who the most

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Under appreciated and Overworked

    Feb 2, 2020 - Outside Sales Account Executive 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I enjoy the freedom of my position in sales and not being confined to an office. The company used to care about their employees and I was proud to be a part of this company who offered great products, pricing was very competitive and the service was excellent. Not anymore...

    Cons

    Sales has become so difficult with all of MSC’s changes. We are no longer competitively priced, our service (customer and sales support) are rude and rarely helpful. I’m embarrassed on a regular basis. I have loyal customers with whom I have a great relationship with. When MSC messes something up or wants to charge ridiculous prices, I’m embarrassed to be part of them. Thankfully my customers know that it’s not me, it’s the company. Needless to say, I lose a lot of my sales and since the salary isn’t much, I rely on my commission pay which is getting harder and harder to earn. Oh, and don’t get me started on MSC’s commission pay....it’s a cluster of a mess and when you question it, you’re given answers that make no sense and people get very defensive.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful

    MSC Industrial Direct Response

    Program Manager, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your feedback. As we have an Open Door policy, if you haven't already we encourage you to speak with your leadership team or your HR Business Partner to discuss your concerns. We acknowledge that change is difficult but sometimes necessary to remain competitive. We have found that there are many customers who find it more convenient to be able to order online whenever they'd like to instead of waiting for an on-site visit with their sales rep. However we understand some customers prefer the face-to-face so we're able to offer both options. Again, we appreciate the feedback.

  8. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    “Busy work”

    Mar 2, 2021 - Outside Sales Representative in Northridge, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Book of accounts is average

    Cons

    Lots of time wasted using Salesforce

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Needs work

    Oct 8, 2020 - Outside Sales Representative in Shreveport, LA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Laid back environment and no pressure

    Cons

    Keeps reorganizing yearly. Key and National account are awful

    2 people found this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Ok place to work

    Oct 20, 2020 - Outside Sales Representative in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Established accounts and great online catalog

    Cons

    Changing pay structure without conversation

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 36 Reviews

Popular Careers with MSC Industrial Direct Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at MSC Industrial Direct? Share Your Experiences

or

MSC Industrial Direct Photos

+ Add Photo
MSC Industrial Direct photo of: Lands End Run 2019
MSC Industrial Direct photo of: Customer Appreciation Day
MSC Industrial Direct photo of: Davidson, NC associates volunteer at Moorseville Soup Kitchen
MSC Industrial Direct photo of: Light the Night Walk 2019
MSC Industrial Direct photo of: Learning & Organizational Development Team Members
MSC Industrial Direct photo of: Giving Tree December 2019
MSC Industrial Direct photo of: 9-11 Day of Service
See All Photos