MSC Industrial Direct Reviews

Updated May 19, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 682 of over 695 reviews

3.7
71%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
MSC Industrial Direct CEO Erik Gershwind
Erik Gershwind
371 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of MSC Industrial Direct and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Business Development Representative

    Apr 1, 2022 - Business Development Representative in Cleveland, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great company to work for.

    Cons

    There are not any cons that i can think of.

    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great company

    May 19, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Culture is amazing. Great colleagues

    Cons

    Base pay can be improved.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Not sure what happened

    May 10, 2022 - Sales Associate in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Over my time at MSC I came across a lot of great people. I feel like management is trying to do the right thing. Company Car, benefits are okay, and be able to work remotely. We have so many programs that can help our customer base.

    Cons

    For the cons, man when I first started we were so close. Then so many changes came next, customer experience 1.0, 2.0, and then 3.0. Basically, letting a bunch of people go. Most were hired into different roles , which was nice of MSC to do. We changed our commission plan like 5 times, still don't understand what is going on. My goal has been raised where we make some money but not enough. I got my first raise which is at 3% another slap in the face. I am seeing so many top talent and tons of experience leave this company. Relationships is what built the business MSC has today and it feels like MSC thinks challenger is going to solve everything. Nobody likes a pushy salesperson just saying! Everything needs to be about our customers, all these changes made us worse. It is sad to see all the people I use to work with leaving to work for other companies. I mean good for them , I am glad they found something exciting. Here I am looking around and I don't recognize anyone anymore. Of course I get CRM is needed for documentation but salesforce doesn't get you more sales just because you put a note or checked the box on a nav play.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee

    excellent

    May 15, 2022 - Product Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    a good culture to work within

    Cons

    I do not see any cons

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Great company to work for

    May 8, 2022 - Key Account Sales Consultant in Louisville, KY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Nothing to share at this time.

    Cons

    Nothing that I can think of.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Leadership with a Vision

    Apr 23, 2022 - National Account Manager in Denver, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    New senior leadership has an eye on developing employee and implementing innovation in products and services

    Cons

    Viable career paths is an area needing work at the company.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Current Employee

    your not going make good money here!

    Mar 2, 2022 - Outside Sales Representative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Expect your sales plan to increase every 90 days regardless of where you are to plan. Sales plans are initially set very aggressively high to reduce the commission payouts Inventory levels are low and back orders and cancelled orders are high on common items. msc is big on wage suppression! Building your wealth is not in the cards here.. (sure you can buy stock through the employee stock purchase plan, but if you dont have enough $$ to put food on the table, how can you buy stock?) mirco management is the norm. beware the msc bureaucracy!

    Cons

    I am disappointed in myself for accepting the offer. I am actively in process of interviewing for a different opportunity. NO long term future with this company. (unless you want to work for peanuts!)

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Good company lots of advancement opportunity

    Apr 27, 2022 - Solutions in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Lots of opportunity for career advancement fair pay and good benefits

    Cons

    Large company sometimes get lost

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Do it yourself

    Apr 6, 2022 - KASC in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    If you like working alone and training yourself this is a great place to do that. You do have to deal with some people that are working for the company that are not fun to deal with but they've been there so long no one can get rid of them cuz they know so much

    Cons

    You are on your own.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Okay

    Apr 28, 2022 - Outside Sales Representative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Company vehicle and gas with small employee payment per check. Good work life balance. Local travel Great solutions for customers.

    Cons

    Health coverage is average for large corporation. Too many directives. Priorities change too often. Commission structure is too convoluted. Quarterly goal increases too high to make a good living. No pay raise in 2 years Pricing is too high to compete with locals No company apparel provided.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 682 Reviews

MSC Industrial Direct Reviews FAQs

MSC Industrial Direct has an overall rating of 3.7 out of 5, based on over 695 reviews left anonymously by employees. 71% of employees would recommend working at MSC Industrial Direct to a friend and 62% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -3% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, MSC Industrial Direct employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.5 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at MSC Industrial Direct. This rating has decreased by -5% over the last 12 months.

71% of MSC Industrial Direct employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated MSC Industrial Direct 3.7 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.7 for culture and values and 3.4 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at MSC Industrial Direct to be culture, coworkers, benefits and the cons to be career development, senior leadership, management.

Popular Careers with MSC Industrial Direct Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at MSC Industrial Direct? Share Your Experiences

or