MSC Industrial Direct Reviews

Updated Mar 22, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
46%
Recommend to a Friend
55%
Approve of CEO
MSC Industrial Direct CEO Erik Gershwind
Erik Gershwind
254 Ratings
Pros
  • "Thoughtful leadership and good benefits(in 36 reviews)

  • "Benefits, work/life balance, mid-level leadership and their level of communication was always excellent(in 19 reviews)

Cons
  • "Supervisors are scared to speak up to upper management(in 32 reviews)

  • "They completely dropped the ball on their new commission structure losing most upper portions of their sales force(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work at"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Stocker in Elkhart, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MSC Industrial Direct full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    After training very self sufficient Good starting pay with overtime available at times Cross training available

    Cons

    Communication can be bad Lack of accountability across the board

    Continue reading
    MSC Industrial Direct2020-02-11

    MSC Industrial Direct Response

    February 18, 2020Program Manager, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your feedback. We strive to provide learning and development opportunities for our associates so they may enhance their skills and take on new roles. We recognize that communication may be an issue for some and continue to work on improving this. We really appreciate you taking the time to post a review. Best of luck to you in your future endeavors.

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Decent Place to Work"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Outside Sales Representative in Fort Wayne, IN

    I worked at MSC Industrial Direct full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They do a good job trying to equip with tools to succeed.

    Cons

    The goals change on a regular basis. Managers assume you know company procedures before you have a chance to learn them. Many upper level managers don't know their job and try to bully those under them

    MSC Industrial Direct2020-03-22
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Overall good"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in Davidson, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MSC Industrial Direct full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People are very nice and willing to work with you.

    Cons

    Can feel stagnate at times.

    MSC Industrial Direct2020-02-13
  4. Helpful (6)

    "MSC Has Lost Site of Who They Are."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Key Account Specialist 
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MSC Industrial Direct

    Pros

    Helping your customers and building strong relationships . Great peers you work with at the branch.

    Cons

    Management doesn’t have a clue on what’s going on at the street level. Pay is horrendous. Not transparent when it comes to knowing what you’re making for monthly commissions until the day before you get paid. Daily reports are sporadic and sometime held for a couple of days before they’re released to you. Changed pay plan three times in 7 months. New one to start in March 2020.

    Continue reading
    MSC Industrial Direct2020-02-16
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Under appreciated and Overworked"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Outside Sales Account Executive 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at MSC Industrial Direct full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I enjoy the freedom of my position in sales and not being confined to an office. The company used to care about their employees and I was proud to be a part of this company who offered great products, pricing was very competitive and the service was excellent. Not anymore...

    Cons

    Sales has become so difficult with all of MSC’s changes. We are no longer competitively priced, our service (customer and sales support) are rude and rarely helpful. I’m embarrassed on a regular basis. I have loyal customers with whom I have a great relationship with. When MSC messes something up or wants to charge ridiculous prices, I’m embarrassed to be part of them. Thankfully my customers know that it’s not me, it’s the company. Needless to say, I lose a lot of my sales and since the salary isn’t much, I rely on my commission pay which is getting harder and harder to earn. Oh, and don’t get me started on MSC’s commission pay....it’s a cluster of a mess and when you question it, you’re given answers that make no sense and people get very defensive.

    Continue reading
    MSC Industrial Direct2020-02-03

    MSC Industrial Direct Response

    February 18, 2020Program Manager, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your feedback. As we have an Open Door policy, if you haven't already we encourage you to speak with your leadership team or your HR Business Partner to discuss your concerns. We acknowledge that change is difficult but sometimes necessary to remain competitive. We have found that there are many customers who find it more convenient to be able to order online whenever they'd like to instead of waiting for an on-site visit with their sales rep. However we understand some customers prefer the face-to-face so we're able to offer both options. Again, we appreciate the feedback.

  6. Helpful (2)

    "It was trash"

    2.0
     

    I worked at MSC Industrial Direct

    Pros

    No words to describe what they didn't do

    Cons

    Say the right stuff or you won't get hired

    Continue reading
    MSC Industrial Direct2020-02-07
  7. "Great Co- Workers. Can Work at Home"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Community Resource Manager in Davidson, NC
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MSC Industrial Direct full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great People, All Work Hard

    Cons

    Upper Management, Lack of Plan

    Continue reading
    MSC Industrial Direct2020-01-16
  8. Helpful (2)

    "stay away"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MSC Industrial Direct full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Used to be a great company

    Cons

    Middle managers drink the Corporate koolaid in drums out of fear. More sales programs and data imput than pimples on a teen.

    MSC Industrial Direct2020-01-14
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Not the same Company it used to be!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - OUTSIDE SALES 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MSC Industrial Direct full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    None that I can think of!

    Cons

    They are constantly revising their business approach and compensation plan. Change is the key word and every new plan is the greatest ever, but it all favors the company and not their sales reps. Senior Management is to wrapped up in hiring consultants and doesn't understand the challenges faced by their sales force.

    MSC Industrial Direct2020-01-20
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent company to work for!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inventory Management Specialist Level II in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MSC Industrial Direct full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits, work/life balance, mid-level leadership and their level of communication was always excellent!

    Cons

    The bonus structure depending on your position in the company can be frustrating at the minimum. The lack of clarity when it comes to forward progression/the opportunities to move up in the company could use some work! The level of communication from upper level management left a lot to be desired from the every day worker point of view. It was up to the mid-level management to seek clarification on what could be considered rather poorly worded/established principles, rules, etc...

    Continue reading
    MSC Industrial Direct2019-11-14
Found 456 reviews