Find jobs for Sales Associate

KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

MSC Industrial Direct

Engaged Employer

MSC Industrial Direct

Add a Review

MSC Industrial Direct Sales Associate Reviews

Updated May 10, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 21 of over 697 reviews

3.3
31%
Recommend to a Friend
51%
Approve of CEO
MSC Industrial Direct CEO Erik Gershwind
Erik Gershwind
14 Ratings

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of MSC Industrial Direct and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great culture

    Jul 19, 2021 - Inside Sales Associate in West Sacramento, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good communication from senior leadership

    Cons

    not a very competitive base salary

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Not sure what happened

    May 10, 2022 - Sales Associate in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Over my time at MSC I came across a lot of great people. I feel like management is trying to do the right thing. Company Car, benefits are okay, and be able to work remotely. We have so many programs that can help our customer base.

    Cons

    For the cons, man when I first started we were so close. Then so many changes came next, customer experience 1.0, 2.0, and then 3.0. Basically, letting a bunch of people go. Most were hired into different roles , which was nice of MSC to do. We changed our commission plan like 5 times, still don't understand what is going on. My goal has been raised where we make some money but not enough. I got my first raise which is at 3% another slap in the face. I am seeing so many top talent and tons of experience leave this company. Relationships is what built the business MSC has today and it feels like MSC thinks challenger is going to solve everything. Nobody likes a pushy salesperson just saying! Everything needs to be about our customers, all these changes made us worse. It is sad to see all the people I use to work with leaving to work for other companies. I mean good for them , I am glad they found something exciting. Here I am looking around and I don't recognize anyone anymore. Of course I get CRM is needed for documentation but salesforce doesn't get you more sales just because you put a note or checked the box on a nav play.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Good People

    Jan 18, 2022 - Sales Associate in San Diego, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Associates are very helpful and everyone works together.

    Cons

    Management is a revolving door.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Good company

    Oct 26, 2021 - Sales Associate in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fair company with good benefits.

    Cons

    To much focus on CRM tasks

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Horrible company

    Aug 13, 2021 - Sales Associate in Tulsa, OK
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There can be a limited amount of freedom, but it comes at a tremendous cost

    Cons

    This company doesn’t care about its employees even remotely. No chance for advancement if you’re in sales. Salary for sales people is $30,000 a year, plus a tiny commission (the highest commission you can get is 2%). Once you turn 62, you’re out. They sold me an insurance policy i paid for for nearly 16 years that will not pay. Avoid this company at all cost.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Sales

    May 11, 2021 - Sales Associate in Harrisburg, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    MSC is a fair company to work for, they care about their employees and try to make the best decisions keeping on everyone's family.

    Cons

    comp plan has changed a few time. It would be nice if they could come up with something consistent.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Pretty good place

    Mar 10, 2021 - Inside Sales Associate in Detroit, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Bosses seem to care about employees

    Cons

    Sales jobs can be tough

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee

    A good place to work

    Jan 27, 2021 - Inside Sales Associate in Knoxville, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good benefits overall and pay is decent

    Cons

    Needs more innovation with systems and processes

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great place to work

    Jan 21, 2021 - Sales Associate in Odessa, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They give you coaching and training

    Cons

    Big company and has a lot of moving parts

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Excellent Outside Sales Experience for metalworking supplies

    Oct 26, 2020 - Sales Associate in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Build relationship with your accounts is fruitful and meet many department that will allow you to sales solutions to the customer.

    Cons

    Numbers! Numbers! AND MARGINS ALWAYS A MUST! NO SLACKERS!

    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 21 Reviews

Popular Careers with MSC Industrial Direct Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at MSC Industrial Direct? Share Your Experiences

or

MSC Industrial Direct Photos

+ Add Photo
MSC Industrial Direct photo of: Lands End Run 2019
MSC Industrial Direct photo of: Customer Appreciation Day
MSC Industrial Direct photo of: Davidson, NC associates volunteer at Moorseville Soup Kitchen
MSC Industrial Direct photo of: Light the Night Walk 2019
MSC Industrial Direct photo of: Learning & Organizational Development Team Members
MSC Industrial Direct photo of: Giving Tree December 2019
MSC Industrial Direct photo of: 9-11 Day of Service
See All Photos