MSC Industrial Direct Sales Executive Reviews

Updated Aug 5, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 19 of over 694 reviews

3.1
67%
Recommend to a Friend
3%
Approve of CEO
MSC Industrial Direct CEO Erik Gershwind
Erik Gershwind
11 Ratings

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of MSC Industrial Direct and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Good company. Solid values

    May 11, 2018 - Outside Sales Account Executive in Dallas, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    MSC Industrial will provide all the tools needed for a sales rep to be successful. They have quality products, excellent service and committed to serving the customer.

    Cons

    The manager will occasionally switch the focus of product emphasis due to corporate office pressure. No different than other companies though.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    MSC Industrial Direct Response

    Program Manager, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to post a review, we appreciate it.

  2. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    make lots of phone calls every day and talk to people all over the country

    Aug 5, 2021 - Sales Executive in Southfield, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    the job was really easy if you are a diligent worker and can talk to people on the phone.

    Cons

    you were stuck there for about 2 years if you wanted to advance you had to wait.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Micro managed

    Jun 21, 2021 - Sales Executive in Richmond, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good benefits, company car, laptop

    Cons

    Micro managed, leadership only cared about the bottom line and wasn’t willing to go to bat for its rmployees

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Great product offering.

    Sep 21, 2020 - Sales Executive in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great product offering for metal working and industrial environments.

    Cons

    Lots of middle management. Too much emphasis on CRM, agendas and action items that keep you away from the customer.

    4 people found this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Under appreciated and Overworked

    Feb 2, 2020 - Outside Sales Account Executive 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I enjoy the freedom of my position in sales and not being confined to an office. The company used to care about their employees and I was proud to be a part of this company who offered great products, pricing was very competitive and the service was excellent. Not anymore...

    Cons

    Sales has become so difficult with all of MSC’s changes. We are no longer competitively priced, our service (customer and sales support) are rude and rarely helpful. I’m embarrassed on a regular basis. I have loyal customers with whom I have a great relationship with. When MSC messes something up or wants to charge ridiculous prices, I’m embarrassed to be part of them. Thankfully my customers know that it’s not me, it’s the company. Needless to say, I lose a lot of my sales and since the salary isn’t much, I rely on my commission pay which is getting harder and harder to earn. Oh, and don’t get me started on MSC’s commission pay....it’s a cluster of a mess and when you question it, you’re given answers that make no sense and people get very defensive.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful

    MSC Industrial Direct Response

    Program Manager, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your feedback. As we have an Open Door policy, if you haven't already we encourage you to speak with your leadership team or your HR Business Partner to discuss your concerns. We acknowledge that change is difficult but sometimes necessary to remain competitive. We have found that there are many customers who find it more convenient to be able to order online whenever they'd like to instead of waiting for an on-site visit with their sales rep. However we understand some customers prefer the face-to-face so we're able to offer both options. Again, we appreciate the feedback.

  6. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    Thank you MSC

    Nov 5, 2017 - Outside Sales Account Executive in Cleveland, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible work life balance. If you are good at selling, building relationships and talking to customers face to face this could be the best place to be. MSC has the backend figured out and it is rare that you cannot meet a customers delivery needs. If you can identify it you can sell it.

    Cons

    If you can identify it you can sell it, can be too general. If you don't create your own focus you will be waisting your time chasing $40 orders. MSC feels like one size fits all, hopefully it fits. You can easily loose your identity.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Inside Sales Executive

    May 9, 2017 - Inside Sales Account Executive in Knoxville, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    People, support, benefits, culture, flexibility

    Cons

    This company is fantastic can't think of a single thing.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    MSC Industrial Direct Response

    Program Manager, Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for taking the time to post a review. MSC has alot of great things to offer as you mentioned. We are especially proud to have recently been named one of America's Best Large Employers by Forbes magazine.

  8. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Account Executive

    Nov 15, 2016 - Outside Sales Associate/Account Executive 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Keeps up to date with the market and customer expectations. Care about the employees and make fair adjustments for goal acheivement.

    Cons

    No career development path. I wish there would be more room to move up in the company. More continued training.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 2.0
    Current Employee

    MSC Review

    Nov 12, 2016 - Solution Sales Executive in Elkhart, IN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great benefits, Company car, iPad, phone

    Cons

    No chance to move up. No pay consistency. 3 men with same or less experience making 10,000-20,000 more

    3 people found this review helpful
  10. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Hard to Understand

    Oct 13, 2016 - Sales Executive in Charlotte, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Company Car. Free phone and IPad.

    Cons

    Terrible Commission structure. New programs rolled out and if they don't work it is the Sales Force's fault. It is never the program just the associates. Zero ability to move up for people that work hard. They hire people with no Industry experience and tell you that your not qualified. Zero work life balance.

    Continue reading
    10 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 19 Reviews

Popular Careers with MSC Industrial Direct Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at MSC Industrial Direct? Share Your Experiences

or