MSC Industrial Direct Sales Reviews

Updated May 10, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 151 of over 695 reviews

3.5
68%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
MSC Industrial Direct CEO Erik Gershwind
Erik Gershwind
84 Ratings

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of MSC Industrial Direct and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great Company and Culture

    Sep 7, 2021 - Sales 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Growth Oriented, Strong Culture, Promote from Within, Work Life Balance

    Cons

    Changes are continual and can be disruptive to the operation

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Great company to work for

    May 8, 2022 - Key Account Sales Consultant in Louisville, KY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Nothing to share at this time.

    Cons

    Nothing that I can think of.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Not sure what happened

    May 10, 2022 - Sales Associate in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Over my time at MSC I came across a lot of great people. I feel like management is trying to do the right thing. Company Car, benefits are okay, and be able to work remotely. We have so many programs that can help our customer base.

    Cons

    For the cons, man when I first started we were so close. Then so many changes came next, customer experience 1.0, 2.0, and then 3.0. Basically, letting a bunch of people go. Most were hired into different roles , which was nice of MSC to do. We changed our commission plan like 5 times, still don't understand what is going on. My goal has been raised where we make some money but not enough. I got my first raise which is at 3% another slap in the face. I am seeing so many top talent and tons of experience leave this company. Relationships is what built the business MSC has today and it feels like MSC thinks challenger is going to solve everything. Nobody likes a pushy salesperson just saying! Everything needs to be about our customers, all these changes made us worse. It is sad to see all the people I use to work with leaving to work for other companies. I mean good for them , I am glad they found something exciting. Here I am looking around and I don't recognize anyone anymore. Of course I get CRM is needed for documentation but salesforce doesn't get you more sales just because you put a note or checked the box on a nav play.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  4. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Just okay

    May 8, 2022 - Outside Sales Representative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great product line. And shipping time.

    Cons

    I did not love the culture.

    1 person found this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Okay

    Apr 28, 2022 - Outside Sales Representative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Company vehicle and gas with small employee payment per check. Good work life balance. Local travel Great solutions for customers.

    Cons

    Health coverage is average for large corporation. Too many directives. Priorities change too often. Commission structure is too convoluted. Quarterly goal increases too high to make a good living. No pay raise in 2 years Pricing is too high to compete with locals No company apparel provided.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee

    N/A

    Apr 9, 2022 - District Sales Manager in Little Rock, AR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Culture is good and sales leadership strong

    Cons

    Too many changes in the past few years

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Growth oriented Company

    Feb 17, 2022 - Sales Representative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great Support from large Company

    Cons

    Shortage of employees in various roles

    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Current Employee

    your not going make good money here!

    Mar 2, 2022 - Outside Sales Representative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Expect your sales plan to increase every 90 days regardless of where you are to plan. Sales plans are initially set very aggressively high to reduce the commission payouts Inventory levels are low and back orders and cancelled orders are high on common items. msc is big on wage suppression! Building your wealth is not in the cards here.. (sure you can buy stock through the employee stock purchase plan, but if you dont have enough $$ to put food on the table, how can you buy stock?) mirco management is the norm. beware the msc bureaucracy!

    Cons

    I am disappointed in myself for accepting the offer. I am actively in process of interviewing for a different opportunity. NO long term future with this company. (unless you want to work for peanuts!)

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Current Employee

    as of early 22, a lot of changes where they are trying to adjust to the market

    Jan 28, 2022 - Sales Representative in Dearborn, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    A lot of good people. A lot of great products and solutions. a lot more stock than local suppliers

    Cons

    terrible training on business changes. just not happy with management.

    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Good People

    Jan 18, 2022 - Sales Associate in San Diego, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Associates are very helpful and everyone works together.

    Cons

    Management is a revolving door.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 151 Reviews

Popular Careers with MSC Industrial Direct Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at MSC Industrial Direct? Share Your Experiences

or