MSC Industrial Direct Employee Reviews about "msc"

Updated Nov 10, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 88 of over 694 reviews

3.7
71%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
MSC Industrial Direct CEO Erik Gershwind
Erik Gershwind
374 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of MSC Industrial Direct and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "msc"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    The grass is not always greener on the other side

    Nov 10, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It took me leaving to find out that I had it made at MSC. The other companies out there can't hold a candle to MSC.

    Cons

    Lots of work to do at all times.

    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    15 years as account managerI have been with

    Jul 29, 2021 - Inside Sales Account Manager in Augusta, GA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have been with MSC for 15 years and looking for a change and work from home.

    Cons

    I can't think of any real downs. Working from home is better for me. After working from home , I can do more than 9-5.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Constantly Changing Sales Goals

    Jul 13, 2021 - Key Account Sales Consultant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    MSC is flexible and has a decent reputation in the field.

    Cons

    From one quarter to the next (sometimes from month to month), we have no idea what our sales goals are. They fluctuate dramatically and it is difficult to understand the algorithms behind them. The Rewards portion of Salesforce is often weeks behind adding to the difficulty of knowing where we are in the sales cycle. Also, constant micromanaging and ever changing approval processes add to the headaches.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee

    N/A

    Jul 9, 2021 - Metalworking Specialist in Atlanta, GA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    MSC stocks and delivers product next day

    Cons

    do to the services MSC offers they are a little higher on price

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Amazing culture, great company!

    May 26, 2021 - Key Account Sales Consultant in Longview, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Culture, environment, salary, sales commissions, people

    Cons

    After almost 30 years at another company, I honestly don’t have ANY cons to say about MSC. I love my job!

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Very clicky

    Oct 30, 2020 - Office Administrator 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pay is good. Stock option is nice. Discount on items is a nice gesture. work life balance is good.

    Cons

    Unfortunately, the company is very saturated with people who have only worked for MSC and do not bring any other skills to the table. Instead of an employee wearing multiple hats, the company will go hire another person so there are ALOT of chiefs and not very many Indians. There is a significant amount of money that the old timers waste because they only know what they know. They want to grow to meet their competitors growth but unfortunatrly that wont happen because there is way to much waste and abuse in the main offices. They could actually take a look at many of the positions and instead of having to go through 5 people to complete on task, it would be better to have one person complete the task and another to do a peer review.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Great Company to work for!!

    Mar 22, 2021 - Territory Inside Sales Manager in Mobile, AL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Positive Environment, Good Support System, Transparent and MSC takes care of their employees

    Cons

    Additional training would have been beneficial The only reason I am no longer working for MSC is due to the company restructuring and my position was dissolved.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Sales

    May 11, 2021 - Sales Associate in Harrisburg, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    MSC is a fair company to work for, they care about their employees and try to make the best decisions keeping on everyone's family.

    Cons

    comp plan has changed a few time. It would be nice if they could come up with something consistent.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Under appreciated and Overworked

    Feb 2, 2020 - Outside Sales Account Executive 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I enjoy the freedom of my position in sales and not being confined to an office. The company used to care about their employees and I was proud to be a part of this company who offered great products, pricing was very competitive and the service was excellent. Not anymore...

    Cons

    Sales has become so difficult with all of MSC’s changes. We are no longer competitively priced, our service (customer and sales support) are rude and rarely helpful. I’m embarrassed on a regular basis. I have loyal customers with whom I have a great relationship with. When MSC messes something up or wants to charge ridiculous prices, I’m embarrassed to be part of them. Thankfully my customers know that it’s not me, it’s the company. Needless to say, I lose a lot of my sales and since the salary isn’t much, I rely on my commission pay which is getting harder and harder to earn. Oh, and don’t get me started on MSC’s commission pay....it’s a cluster of a mess and when you question it, you’re given answers that make no sense and people get very defensive.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful

    MSC Industrial Direct Response

    Program Manager, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your feedback. As we have an Open Door policy, if you haven't already we encourage you to speak with your leadership team or your HR Business Partner to discuss your concerns. We acknowledge that change is difficult but sometimes necessary to remain competitive. We have found that there are many customers who find it more convenient to be able to order online whenever they'd like to instead of waiting for an on-site visit with their sales rep. However we understand some customers prefer the face-to-face so we're able to offer both options. Again, we appreciate the feedback.

  10. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Great!

    Jul 31, 2020 - VMIS in Dayton, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    MSC is Great! They have awesome people and great work environment.

    Cons

    They don’t have a good way to share ideas to help the company.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 88 Reviews

Popular Careers with MSC Industrial Direct Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at MSC Industrial Direct? Share Your Experiences

or