MTD Products Reviews | Glassdoor

MTD Products Reviews

Updated Aug 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 145 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
44%
Recommend to a Friend
45%
Approve of CEO
MTD Products CEO Robert T. Moll (no image)
Robert T. Moll
80 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Disconnect between factory floor, middle management, and senior management(in 5 reviews)

  • "Upper management very involved in Conservative politics and Catholic religion and will occasionally ask employees to participate as well(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great people, excellent benefits, beautiful campus"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Valley City, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MTD Products full-time

    Pros

    I am fortunate to have friendly, helpful coworkers. The health insurance is excellent and inexpensive compared to my previous employer. The upper management really cares about their employees and families. They have nice luncheons, company events, an on-site clinic, fitness center, cafeteria (with really good food!) and a walking trail around the lake. The campus itself is beautiful with the lake and landscaping.

    Cons

    Nothing I can think of now... the commute?

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!

    MTD Products2019-07-25
  2. "Good place to work in this modern era"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Quality Engineer in Valley City, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MTD Products full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The experience was enjoyable, although Chaotic at times but overall a pleasure to work these.

    Cons

    Some managers have been in their position too long no real long term actions in place. Great fire fighters just no as proactive as they could be. Resources are stretched to the limits.

    Advice to Management

    Allow the empowerment to evolve to where you have great people there use them wisely. People do not leave good companies they leave poor management.

    MTD Products2019-06-06
  3. "Heading in the wrong direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in Valley City, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MTD Products full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, friendly people, nice campus

    Cons

    Restructuring is ongoing, advancement more difficult than it should be, in the process of being bought out, below average pay

    MTD Products2019-06-05
  4. "Ok place to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MTD Products full-time

    Pros

    its a paying job that pays the bills.

    Cons

    Lack of communication, disorganized, need to have better solutions to problems in the moment of

    MTD Products2019-06-04
  5. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at MTD Products part-time

    Pros

    Great bosses, good team work

    Cons

    Down time, filling in for others

    MTD Products2019-04-30
  6. Helpful (2)

    "IT has went downhill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Analyst in Valley City, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MTD Products full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Some of the best people you will ever meet. MTD has a great work/life balance. They offer good benefits to their employees. Raises and bonuses were a tad lacking but still appreciated that they gave them.

    Cons

    When the new CIO took office everything went downhill with management. MTD IT used to be a great place to work prior to his entrance. There is not alot of room for advancement in the company and probably less now under the new CIO.

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of the CIO he is ruing your organization.

    MTD Products2019-05-29
  7. "Mtd Products"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Electronics Technician in Tupelo, MS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MTD Products full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good work environment and get things done attitude

    Cons

    Sometimes the stuff we have to work on gets to be redundant.

    MTD Products2019-04-24
  8. "Great people great pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MTD Products

    Pros

    Love to interact with the workers nice friendly atmosphere

    Cons

    Raised pay for the work load

    Advice to Management

    Nothing much

    MTD Products2019-04-18
  9. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at MTD Products full-time

    Pros

    Nice place to work! People are great!

    Cons

    Would be nice to get back some of the fun employee focused values. But understand some of the choices they are making.

    MTD Products2019-04-09
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Not great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Demand Analyst in Valley City, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MTD Products full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The office itself, cafe, technology provided

    Cons

    Terrible amounts of drama, back stabbing, could litterlly see co-workers Skype business chatting with each other about me or other co-worker. Very immature culture, mid-level management is unqualified and treated me and others poorly. Has a highschool like dynamic. Not worth the drama. They pay right at the average or below average for most positions compared with the industry. The office is also located about 4... miles down single lane roads in farm land. Just didn't see the value this place provided especially after dealing with the workplace drama.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hold employees accountable, work towards changing the culture, monitor Skype chats, pay more

    MTD Products2019-04-18
Found 145 reviews