MTU Aero Engines Reviews | Glassdoor

MTU Aero Engines Reviews

Updated Jul 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 56 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
85%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
MTU Aero Engines CEO Reiner Winkler
Reiner Winkler
13 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Einbindung von Praktikanten und Werkstudenten wechselhaft(in 4 reviews)

  • "Hier gibt es nichts negatives zu berichten(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great culture, great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at MTU Aero Engines full-time

    Pros

    Roughly 150 employee company that genuinely cares about it's employees. Great health benefits and a true belief in work-life balance.

    Cons

    Salaries are only on the average side

    MTU Aero Engines2017-09-01
  2. "Great Work-Life Balance, Limited Career Mobility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Engineer in Rocky Hill, CT

    I have been working at MTU Aero Engines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Work-Life balance at MTU!

    Cons

    Limited upward career mobility at MTU AENA

    MTU Aero Engines2019-04-21
  3. "Great company, low compensation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Engineer in Rocky Hill, CT

    I have been working at MTU Aero Engines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Profit Sharing, Flex-time, Good company culture

    Cons

    Low Salary and paid time off

    MTU Aero Engines2019-01-21
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Technician/Inspector"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Grapevine, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at MTU Aero Engines full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    MTU Maintenance Dallas travels around the world. Provides AOG support to customer. Good hard work. Fast paced when traveling to work on customer engine.

    Cons

    Slow work. The time between jobs can be a week or two.

    MTU Aero Engines2017-07-18
  5. "structures engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Rocky Hill, CT
    Recommends

    I worked at MTU Aero Engines full-time

    Pros

    Nice people, work is fun/challenging,

    Cons

    There is a difference in attitude between the US Side and the German side

    MTU Aero Engines2017-01-13
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Great Company - Great Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Repair Development Engineer in Rocky Hill, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MTU Aero Engines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I was a repair engineer at MTU AENA for a couple years. I learned a lot in my time there. The benefits were good for a fairly small company (the north American branch is technically a small company on its own) MTU has a great company culture. Everyone looks out for each other and we had a lot of fun while getting work done.

    Cons

    One downside to MTU was that if you're American, you're likely not going far in the company. The company is great, but working for MTU North America, you'll eventually hit a wall with your options.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work, overall. I enjoyed my time at MTU and continue to admire German engineering. I would suggest that MTU North America provide more options to employees looking to advance and grow.

    MTU Aero Engines2016-10-19
  7. "IPT Lead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IPT Lead in Rocky Hill, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MTU Aero Engines

    Pros

    Exceptional quality of engineering talent, manufacturing capability, and team environment. Opportunities to track or relocate are easy to come by.

    Cons

    Occasionally you will work with a very typical hardened German jerk. But that can be enjoyable.

    Advice to Management

    NA- specific: continue to hire top talent at marketable rates, as well as being in sharp entry level talent.

    MTU Aero Engines2016-07-28
  8. Helpful (2)

    "MTU"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Rocky Hill, CT

    I have been working at MTU Aero Engines for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Strong future in a solid business

    Cons

    Not any that are significant

    MTU Aero Engines2016-02-26
  9. Helpful (3)

    "One of the best engineering companies I have ever worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CIPT Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MTU Aero Engines full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent benefits: 3 weeks vacation after 3 years of work, unlimited sick time, competitive salary, overtime (which you NEVER get in engineering), business travel, excellent training opportunities, job stability. Interesting projects: work with large companies like Pratt and Whitney and GE on some of the top of the line engine programs without having to deal with the bureaucracy of those companies

    Cons

    Very flat command structure there are only maybe 4-6 levels between entry level employees and the CEO

    Advice to Management

    Maintain benefits and continue to work on finding employees varied and interesting projects.

    MTU Aero Engines2014-03-08
  10. "It has been a very good learning experience and lots of diverse opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Structural Analyst in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MTU Aero Engines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very solid management and excellent core values

    Cons

    Office transitions make it hard to form a cohesive team at times

    Advice to Management

    A company website would help with bulletins and news/alerts for employees

    MTU Aero Engines2012-10-06
Found 56 reviews