MTV Europe Reviews | Glassdoor

MTV Europe Reviews

Updated Oct 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
59%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
MTV Europe CEO Doug Herzog
Doug Herzog
4 Ratings
  1. "Motion design"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Motion Graphics Designer in New York, NY

    I have been working at MTV Europe for less than a year

    Pros

    Cool environment and cool location

    Cons

    Nothing specific. Everything was fine to me

    MTV Europe2018-08-01
  2. "Progressive and forward thinking"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Production in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MTV Europe for more than 10 years

    Pros

    A lively exciting brand that's fun to work for

    Cons

    A lack of ability to nurture staff talent at its full potential

    Advice to Management

    Be more open to new faces, new ideas and new SMT

    MTV Europe2019-10-14
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Work Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MTV Europe for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice offices, nice people, comfortable working environment

    Cons

    disorganised, ineffectual, inconsistent, no feedback on how to improve or the reasons why they rejected

    Advice to Management

    After having made it through to an assessment centre, the final stage of recruitment for a junior position, I was disappointed to be unsuccessful. Typically, I would accept defeat in these situations but I genuinely felt that I was the most qualified candidate in both academic and professional experience on the day. When seeking feedback, I received exceptionally positive feedback from the company on both my... experience and assessment centre performance. When I pushed for more constructive feedback to explain why I had been unsuccessful, none was provided but instead, the company very kindly offered me a work placement. I undertook a 1-week unpaid work placement with the company but, as a postgraduate, I was disappointed to be placed on their school work placement programme alongside minors and undertaking tasks that were far below my qualifications. My tasks included watching MTV videos, cleaning cupboards and writing notes but admittedly did include more worthwhile tasks such as research, writing blog posts and if anyone in the office needed help we were given some tasks to do. Furthermore, I occasionally met the successful candidate that had been assigned to the position I originally applied for and it was apparent that, despite having to direct experience or a relevant degree, she had multiple existing 'friends' within the company. I fear that this echoes others experience of nepotism throughout the organisation. Despite this, the offices were wonderful and it did seem a genuinely nice place to work but my experience of the recruitment process and work placement was largely disorganised, inconsistent and ineffectual.

    Show More
    MTV Europe2019-07-08
  4. "MTV Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MTV Europe full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good people, good motive! Great place.

    Cons

    Nothing bad, good place to learn to cooperate.

    MTV Europe2019-03-11
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Fine but not the greatest"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MTV Europe for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice people, good cafeteria, vibrant location.

    Cons

    Management have absolutely no idea what they’re doing. Both in terms o resource (ie people) management and content strategy. They seem to take the lead from what’s worked for other companies while never actually taking the leap to create anything original.

    Advice to Management

    Take a risk, try something new, trust your staff. Try and actually inspire your staff rather than complain about having to deliver numbers. Every media company in the same boat, but the ones that succeed are those who inspire, rather than dictate, their talent.

    MTV Europe2019-01-22
  6. "MTV Networks/VIACOM is a dynamic place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MTV Europe full-time

    Pros

    Young, creative and dynamic environment.

    Cons

    No team spirit implemented in the company. Low salaries.

    Advice to Management

    Be more vigilant to not hire employees that tend to flirt.

    MTV Europe2018-01-12
  7. "Young organisation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Analyst in Amsterdam
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MTV Europe full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company is known for its dynamic culture with many young employees. Strong focus on collective results. Open, diverse and inclusive.

    Cons

    Less to no possibilities to grow further, no budget for external courses. No sufficient focus on innovation and new services.

    MTV Europe2017-03-26
  8. "Creative Designer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Graphic Designer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MTV Europe for more than a year

    Pros

    Everyone gets along with each and are a great team. Creative environment and a real sense that the staff are important and well looked after

    Cons

    Needs to be a clearer idea on what is cool and what the youth actually want, rather than just focusing on the ratings all the time.

    Advice to Management

    Keep trusting us and supporting us to do the best we can.

    MTV Europe2017-01-17
  9. "MTV Europe"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Technical Manager in London, England

    I worked at MTV Europe full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexibility around roles and work types.

    Cons

    Long periods away from home can happen from time to time

    MTV Europe2016-05-12
  10. Helpful (1)

    "graphic designer freelance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MTV Europe

    Pros

    good location, good parties, nice people. nice place to work.

    Cons

    most people I met were not really qualified for their positions. most people working there got the position because of knowing a friend or relative who already worked there. They mostly hire good looking girls, for any position. job interviews are done by people who are not qualified to interview. This is why so many positions are given to the wrong people. you need to stay for a long time to get promoted. the... salaries are not very high.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    don't hire your relatives or friends, bring in people who are really qualified.

    MTV Europe2015-08-24
Found 16 reviews