MZ Reviews | Glassdoor

MZ Reviews

Updated Jan 23, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
51%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
MZ CEO  Kristen Dumont (no image)
Kristen Dumont
28 Ratings
  1. "Cool company to work for with talented nice people and challenging exciting work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at MZ

    Pros

    Very Generous benefit plans, talented people who believe in the mission and vision of the company. Unique culture, not the norm in a good way. Amazing perks!

    Cons

    The quick decision making by leadership can be intense and not for everyone. The company moves very fast.

    Continue reading
    MZ2020-01-19
  2. "Facility Technician.. Challenging learn something new every day"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Facilities Technician in Bartow, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MZ full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Life work balance , good management

    Cons

    Zero cons , can’t complain

    Continue reading
    MZ2019-11-12
  3. "Very Competitive Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - LiveOp Manager in Palo Alto, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MZ full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This is a job that can help you grow your hard skills. This is my first month, and I feel like learning a lot of stuffs. I mean hard skills like SQL, python, which really help you increase your value in the market. If you are young and passionate about game industry, this is the right place for you. I would love more people join LiveOp team. This is best team for you to grow in MZ. Plus you have awesome teammates and super nice boss :)

    Cons

    You have to get used to game industry culture.

    MZ2019-10-10
  4. "Everyone here wants to win"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Palo Alto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MZ full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    MZ has refocused its business on its core of gaming and is well positioned for success. The company is releasing two new games this year which will be game changers and everyone is really excited about the future. I see a lot of complaints on GD about people working hard at MZ but in truth that is limited to a few groups in the company -- most people here work 10-7 (or less!) and never on weekends. It is true that everyone works in the office -- this is a very face-to-face collaborative culture. The bottom line is that the people who love MZ and are successful here have a competitive spirit and strong will to win. That type of MZ intensity and excitement is present across all groups in the company and the "never give up" attitude and what we've accomplished has resulted in strong bonds between the employees. Also there is excellent food (everywhere) and super fun team building events and parties.

    Cons

    The last year has been challenging and it can be tough to keep up the energy we need to make it over the finish line.

    Continue reading
    MZ2019-07-26
  5. Featured Review
    Helpful (8)

    "Input = Output"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Palo Alto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MZ full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    MZ is a great place for folks who are motivated by their personal growth. There's very little that gets in the way of making big contributions, and impact is regularly recognized and rewarded. There's huge potential for people that are self driven and not afraid of stepping up. That said, MZ is not for the faint of heart or folks just looking for a job. Awesome perks and benefits that outclass most any other privately held company, and rival any of the name brand public companies like Google, FB, etc. Last years change in executive leadership and renewed focus on gaming has been a blessing! Teams are more focused and aligned, and the tone around campus is brighter than I've seen in years.

    Cons

    Very aggressive schedules and goals. Makes an exciting work environment, but also takes it's toll. We are a business and need to keep the bills paid, but hopeful we can find a bit more balance between company objectives, catering to our player base, and employee lifestyles.

    Continue reading
    MZ2019-06-05
  6. Helpful (34)

    "Love it..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MZ full-time

    Pros

    Good work-life balance; company culture is stellar

    Cons

    - We are not yet fully taking advantage of PR – we have an amazing product, one that is better than any other in this industry but we don't rebuff attacks. We need to focus more on this. Brand image is half the battle. Hence why we will draw a lot of our attention to PR, in terms of creating a fair image of who we truly are, and reflect the benefits that our users can grasp, at the same time promoting "Us".

    Continue reading
    MZ2018-11-19
  7. Helpful (36)

    "Staying optimistic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - QA Manager in Palo Alto, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MZ full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Machine zone provides lots of opportunities to take advantage of. You can grow your career here, learn new things, get a unique experience, improve skills, and meet incredibly gifted people. High pay, endless benefits, and much more to gain working hard and humble.

    Cons

    Work hours can be really long sometimes, that’s the main con you’ve got to know about the company. Yet that won’t be a great surprise for those who’ve been at the gaming industry for some time.

    Continue reading
    MZ2018-11-09
  8. Helpful (33)

    "A Fine Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MZ full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pretty monotonous if you are not sure whether gaming is your thing

    Cons

    The secondary stage of developing the project can be a bit repetitive.

    Continue reading
    MZ2018-09-21
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Palo Alto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MZ full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - The Best team I ever worked with. - Free Healthy Food. - Always ready to accept new technologies. - Great support from Director, HR, and Immigration team.

    Cons

    - Hiring more people will help to reach the high expectations and demand.

    MZ2018-05-14
  10. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Support Agent in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MZ full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, uplifting atmosphere, lots of training

    Cons

    Sometimes there's nothing within company policy that can be done for a player, and that affects your measured performance

    MZ2018-05-11

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 276 reviews
</>Embed