Macerich Reviews | Glassdoor

Macerich Reviews

Updated Jun 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 105 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
57%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Macerich CEO Art Coppola
Art Coppola
53 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Lots of nepostism so upper management is fairly uneducated and unqualified for positions(in 11 reviews)

  • "There are many work environment issues such as bullying and harassment(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Feels Like Family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Macerich full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This company treats employees like adults. Listens to your ideas and/or opinions, implements them if they support company objectives, and gives you credit for it. The management teams are for the most part, top notch. Working to help advance their employees' knowledge and position within the company.

    Cons

    The salaries are sometimes below the national average, but the ancillary rewards make up for it.

    Advice to Management

    We are moving in a really positive direction, let's keep rolling.

    Macerich2019-02-10
  2. "Great place for part time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 

    I have been working at Macerich part-time

    Pros

    Flexible hours, very nice people

    Cons

    Sometimes the rules change a lot and things get confusing

    Macerich2019-06-26
  3. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Specialty Leasing Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Macerich full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Autonomy is wonderful and pays well.

    Cons

    On-boarding does not exist and everything is learned over the first 6 months. No true career path.

    Macerich2019-06-26
  4. "Overall good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Administrator in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Macerich full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    First 6 years were engaging with much new technology to work on Non stressful work environment Family Atmosphere Managers were fair and great to work with

    Cons

    Last 2 years felt like prep for the eventual mass layoff Work got stale (last 2 years)

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Macerich2019-05-20
  5. "No room for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Accountant in Santa Monica, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Macerich full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible Schedule, decent benefit packages and collaborative culture.

    Cons

    The only way to move up is to get out of the company. It is sad seeing many talented colleagues leaving since the promotions don't happen after many years of hard working.

    Macerich2019-03-08
  6. "Decent Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Security in Scottsdale, AZ

    I worked at Macerich part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - They worked with my chaotic schedule - Easy job

    Cons

    Company driven solely by money VERY corporate

    Macerich2019-02-19
  7. "Stockholder company beware"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Management 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macerich full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Most don't know how to do their job so it makes yours much easier.

    Cons

    Was in the upper management for some time, they only care about profits to the shareholders, don't listen to what the others say, they let people go and hire friends, Ive seen the lower staff struggle while being asked do to more with less. It's sad.

    Advice to Management

    Spending money in areas that you shouldn't and firing to make up for it is not good management. Smaller workers are the ones keeping you in real business. Please remember.

    Macerich2019-02-14
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to work if you have a reliable team."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Graphic Designer in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macerich full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good pay, great healthcare and 401K Match. When you worked with reliable team you had some flexible hours.

    Cons

    There wasn’t a lot of support from my team in my department. I was often called up or called in on vacation and sick time or wasn’t able to take my vacation or sick time. Also, I was told to work overtime without pay.

    Advice to Management

    Get organized so projects don’t all hit at the last minute and don’t take for granted that your employees will be able to drop personal plans to get last minute projects completed with unreasonable deadlines.

    Macerich2019-01-22
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Macerich full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits and time off. Some good people to work with. Learnt a lot.

    Cons

    To much red tape, upper management needs to be cleared out. Most just got their jobs because they are family and have no knowledge of the industry. Very bad decisions made especially for an industry that is doing horrible.

    Advice to Management

    Respect your property teams, listen to them. Stop thinking you know everything. Also don’t be so serious.

    Macerich2018-12-16
  10. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macerich full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work life balance Caring management team

    Cons

    As with any retail oriented company there can be long hours during holidays

    Macerich2018-11-10
Found 105 reviews