Macerich Reviews | Glassdoor

Macerich Reviews

Updated Sep 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 107 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
53%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Macerich CEO Art Coppola
Art Coppola
54 Ratings
  1. "Feels Like Family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Macerich full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This company treats employees like adults. Listens to your ideas and/or opinions, implements them if they support company objectives, and gives you credit for it. The management teams are for the most part, top notch. Working to help advance their employees' knowledge and position within the company.

    Cons

    The salaries are sometimes below the national average, but the ancillary rewards make up for it.

    Advice to Management

    We are moving in a really positive direction, let's keep rolling.

    Macerich2019-02-10
  2. "Mall Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Macerich full-time

    Pros

    Good employees and company benefits.

    Cons

    Lots of travel and late hours

    Macerich2018-08-07
  3. "Administration"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Receptionist in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Macerich full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Dedicated passionate desirable committed generous

    Cons

    Not applicable not applicable not applicable

    Advice to Management

    Interact professionally with various levels employees

    Macerich2018-08-03
  4. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Macerich full-time

    Pros

    Nice co-workers. Has a family culture. Industry leader. Room for career growth.

    Cons

    A public company. Wall Street has influence.

    Advice to Management

    Thanks!

    Macerich2018-02-26
  5. "Anonymous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Macerich

    Pros

    The CEO is one of the best in the industry.. you won't find another CEO that is as involved and dedicated as ours. His passion and overall interest in retail is unrivaled. There is no other CEO in this industry that is willing to cold call and put himself on the line in order to help his people. Retail is evolving and it's changing, and there are those that struggle, but we don't have to worry about struggling. We... have it down, and if it wasn't for Art, that wouldn't be the case.

    Show More

    Cons

    As a large corporate company, we need to evolve technologically. Technology should be the central focus. Macerich will move mountains if they start to care more about systems that will help the overall lead generation

    Advice to Management

    Invest in the millennial

    Macerich2017-11-14
  6. Helpful (1)

    "One of those diamond in the ruff great companies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Assistant in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macerich full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company that respects employees and cares about work/life balance. Wonderful family-like culture with very caring management. However, every department has a different culture. My experience in my department was very positive and I truly enjoyed working for my boss and other VP's.

    Cons

    Next to no interdepartmental communication. If I worked in a department where I had to rely on communication between leasing or accounting, etc I can see how I would extremely frustrated. Heard many rumors that the accounting department was strict and inflexible and lended itself to a very anxiety prone environment. Also, H.R. did not seem to have their ducks in a row. Had a wonky experience when I needed advice... from them.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Communicate more! Enough with the "good ol' boys" mentality. Would love to see some more women in management and VP roles because you do have a great company!

    Macerich2017-02-09
  7. "Great atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I have been working at Macerich

    Pros

    Great work environment. Everyone is friendly and generous.

    Cons

    There are no cons at this company so far.

    Macerich2016-11-26
  8. "Great company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Macerich

    Pros

    If you want to be in this industry, Macerich does it better than anyone else.

    Cons

    You need to love what you do or else you may get overwhelmed easily.

    Macerich2016-08-06
  9. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Senior Business Systems Analyst/IT Project Manager in Santa Monica, CA

    I worked at Macerich for more than 10 years

    Pros

    My 11 years at Macerich were filled with professional opportunities, advancement, and strong relationships.

    Cons

    I have nothing negative to say about my experiences at Macerich.

    Macerich2016-06-16
  10. "I wish I could work for them again."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Command Center Officer in Jersey City, NJ
    Recommends

    I worked at Macerich for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I loved working in their company. I wish I could have stayed with them longer. The staff I worked for were so understanding.

    Cons

    Nothing I can think of...

    Advice to Management

    None

    Macerich2016-02-26
Found 107 reviews