Macerich Reviews | Glassdoor

Macerich Reviews

Updated Aug 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 106 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
53%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Macerich CEO Art Coppola
Art Coppola
53 Ratings
  1. "Stable Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Macerich full-time

    Pros

    Stable job, flexible hours, and location is great

    Cons

    limited growth, not enough social activities

    Continue reading
    Macerich2017-06-08
  2. "Good Company to build career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Macerich full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company culture, they take care of their own. Decent room for growth if you show talent and hard work. They have great resources since it's a public company, and the people up top are very smart and approachable.

    Cons

    You don't get much training unless you happen to get set up with a good mentor. When/if you get let go there is no loyalty to having worked for the company, they cut the chord very quickly, and harshly.

    Continue reading
    Macerich2017-05-01
  3. Helpful (2)

    "IT Department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Support in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macerich

    Pros

    Great coworkers, friendly and willing to help. Management tries to make it fun by holding monthly fun events ordering pizza, watching movies, etc.

    Cons

    Unfortunately, as is typical of alot of IT departments the ones that are promoted to leadership roles are prior developers, etc with little management experience and unfortunately it is not a natural fit with their backgound/personality.

    Continue reading
    Macerich2017-05-02
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Mgmt"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Macerich full-time

    Pros

    Really aren't many; just another big co w/benefits that go with.

    Cons

    Too many; big turnover, no loyalty, horrible mgmt, etc.

    Continue reading
    Macerich2017-05-19
  5. "Marketing Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Marketing Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Macerich full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Company is very organized and has ample resources to support its managers. There are always new projects and initiatives, which is refreshing vs. a routine job.

    Cons

    No cons but be prepared to work weekends and holidays. If you love what you do, especially special events, t won't matter.

    Continue reading
    Macerich2017-03-29
  6. Helpful (1)

    "One of those diamond in the ruff great companies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Assistant in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macerich full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company that respects employees and cares about work/life balance. Wonderful family-like culture with very caring management. However, every department has a different culture. My experience in my department was very positive and I truly enjoyed working for my boss and other VP's.

    Cons

    Next to no interdepartmental communication. If I worked in a department where I had to rely on communication between leasing or accounting, etc I can see how I would extremely frustrated. Heard many rumors that the accounting department was strict and inflexible and lended itself to a very anxiety prone environment. Also, H.R. did not seem to have their ducks in a row. Had a wonky experience when I needed advice from them.

    Continue reading
    Macerich2017-02-09
  7. "Great Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Macerich full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Fantastic work environment. Great people. Very flexible with schedules to accommodate commutes, family needs, etc.

    Cons

    Just like any company, a poor direct supervisor can outweigh the overall company culture. There is definitely some of that at Macerich.

    Continue reading
    Macerich2017-02-03
  8. Helpful (1)

    "No growth opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macerich full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits, 401k, good perks

    Cons

    Too many to include all. There is no room for growth. The only people that are promoted are 95% men and only if they are friends with the CEO's or executives. There are many work environment issues such as bullying and harassment. I experienced harassment at this company after 1 year working for Macerich. Nothing happens to the people that causes problems. Even if you complain. I complained of harassment to my boss and he assured me that it was reported to corporate. I was never contacted about this issue so I'm sure it was never reported.

    Continue reading
    Macerich2017-02-06
  9. "Great atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Macerich

    Pros

    Great work environment. Everyone is friendly and generous.

    Cons

    There are no cons at this company so far.

    Continue reading
    Macerich2016-11-26
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Leasing Development Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Leasing Development Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Macerich full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Professional teams and managers, good benefits, 401K match, stock purchase and insurance.

    Cons

    Relatives and friends of executives get top positions, it appears there is no room to move up.

    Continue reading
    Macerich2016-11-15
Found 106 reviews