Macildowie Reviews | Glassdoor

Macildowie Reviews

Updated Jul 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 73 reviews

4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
89%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Macildowie CEO James Taylor
James Taylor
61 Ratings
Pros
  • "Working in an excellent new office space in Nottingham City Centre(in 8 reviews)

  • "I can’t wait to see what the future holds at Macs(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "Recruitment involves relatively long hours but that is at every firm and ultimately the harder you work the more you get out of it(in 7 reviews)

  • "The current Nottingham office space isn't a patch on the Waterfront space(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Recruiter in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Macildowie full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Supportive management! Progression. Great atmosphere! Good people to work with! Not your typical recruitment agency! Family values.

    Cons

    None I can think of.

    Macildowie2019-07-18
  2. "Excellent Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Managing Consultant in Leicester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Macildowie full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Really care about their employees and customers. Focused on giving a good service and the value add services not just filling vacancies. Excellent culture, friendly employees.

    Cons

    Can work long hours to achieve sales targets.

    Macildowie2019-06-24
  3. "5 stars!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Leicester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Macildowie full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The office vibe is great, lots of energy, a positive culture and all the support you need when you need it. There's a real buzz about what we do which filters down from the CEO. Great business, great people!

    Cons

    Honestly, there aren't any.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing!

    Macildowie2019-06-12
  4. "East Mids Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Leicester, England
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macildowie full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Vibrant and energetic team, and everyone does work together well to ensure we covered a clients end to end needs. Great place to learn how to Recruit and Manage Relationships

    Cons

    Unfortunately, despite being one of the East Mids premier recruiters, the diversity of the region is not at all reflected within the structure of the business. At one time under previous management, the business was very diverse and represented the regions high numbers of BAME clientele, but this all but disappeared once the Management Team changed, and the business seems to be actively deselecting BAME employees, as...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep the energy up and the way of working, but remember the region you represent, and ensure the office diversity reflects it. This is of major importance to any recruitment organisation and increasingly expected by clients (of which I am now one).

    Macildowie2019-05-22

    Macildowie Response

    May 29, 2019Managing Director

    Thanks for taking the time to leave your personal thoughts about Macildowie. We always welcome feedback from candidates, clients, & current and ex employees. We do not ‘actively deselect BAME employees’ within our business and refute any claim that suggests our internal recruitment ...

    Show More
  5. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Leicester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Macildowie full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good culture Rewards employees Get what you put in

    Cons

    Have to be passionate about recruiting as can be tough but that comes with any recruitment business! Wouldn’t work with any other agency

    Advice to Management

    Keep it yo

    Macildowie2019-03-11
  6. "Company with a Success Framework"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Macildowie full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The work environment is fantastic; very energetic and fast-paced. The training provided is structured and delivered by members of the Macildowie family, whether than is the technicals behind our system, or behavioural sales training The whole culture feel is positive where the company values both trickle down from upper management and ground-up from the consultants Your progression plan is clear and structured

    Cons

    I could say about the long hours but it is to be expected when going into a recruitment role, plus, anything you put in you reap the rewards of later. I wouldn’t say there is any at this stage! Maybe more team building opportunities!

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing all the good stuff you are doing now, this is one of the best operations I’ve seen in a long time.

    Macildowie2019-01-12
  7. "Great company, feels like a family and great staff investment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Reruitment Consultant in Leicester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Macildowie full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent training scheme Comprehensive on-boarding programme Great team and generally a good wider company feel Management are on your level and are easily approachable - you can walk up to anyone and speak to them... the directors encourage you to go and speak to them about your development The company is honest and transparent throughout Clear and visible progression plan

    Cons

    Parking is tight at one of the offices As would be expected with a recruitment job, there is a need to meet targets... which can result in late nights and early mornings at the office Business mileage reimbursement is low compared to the average rate

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you’re doing both in terms of people and business development

    Macildowie2018-12-10
  8. "So far so good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Macildowie full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Leadership team, continued professional development, visible career path

    Cons

    None to write about

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    Macildowie2018-10-24
  9. "Excellent culture to work in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Recruitment Consultant in Leicester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Macildowie full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Macildowie is a warm and welcoming environment to work in where the senior leadership team really want the best for all the employees. There is an excellent training programme and PDP for new starters.

    Cons

    Although there isn’t pool tables and beer fridges in the office, everyone is very sociable and goes for drinks after work on a Friday which builds great team comradery

    Advice to Management

    Potentially look to update the Leicester office but overall the atmosphere and people in the Leicester office make it a great environment to work in

    Macildowie2018-09-25
  10. "Job satisfaction to the MACS!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Macildowie full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have never worked in such a positive environment where you are constantly encouraged to be the best version of you! There are brilliant opportunities to learn and develop to ensure you have the highest confidence to achieve your professional and personal goals. The management team offer great support and guidance and are always there to help you along the way with their extensive sector and recruitment experience. The...

    Show More

    Cons

    Haven't come across any cons!

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing!

    Macildowie2018-09-25
Found 73 reviews