Mackenzie Health Reviews | Glassdoor

Mackenzie Health Reviews

Updated 16 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 34 reviews

2.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
42%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Mackenzie Health CEO Altaf Stationwala
Altaf Stationwala
13 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Look elsewhere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Mackenzie Health full-time

    Pros

    None that I can think of.

    Cons

    Terrible management and too much micromanagement. Management doesn't want you to grow in your career and keep lying to you. Too much interfering from upper management.

    Advice to Management

    Change the way you work or you will lose all the talent. So many people left the team I was working in including myself.

    Mackenzie Health2018-02-13
  2. "Great learning experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Clinical Extern in Richmond Hill, ON
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mackenzie Health full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Relevant work & experience for nursing students, development of competence/skills/independence - Shadowing or observing opportunities at other units - Preceptor/mentor guidance - Lots of support and interprofessional teamwork - Good pay - Breaks partially paid for

    Cons

    - Open availability for entire contract duration (4 months) - No booked off time allowed - Absences highly discouraged even if sick - 12 hour shifts (7am-7pm or 7pm-7am) - Switching from day shifts to night shifts in <12 hours (Day-Day-Night-Night)

    Advice to Management

    More opportunities for clinical externs in units other than Medicine or Surgery.

    Mackenzie Health2019-09-16
  3. "Staff nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse 
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mackenzie Health full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Get to meet some great people and gain great skills

    Cons

    Long hours, busy environment, contantly having to reprioritize situations

    Mackenzie Health2019-09-01
  4. "Okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Coordinator 

    I worked at Mackenzie Health full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    close to my home, easy to commute

    Cons

    not so fair management

    Mackenzie Health2019-09-16
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Do not apply"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mackenzie Health full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    If you live within the area

    Cons

    Not enough parking for employees and people in "Management" / "Director" positions that are not equipped to handle the roles and responsibilities that come with these senior level positions and as such, all the decision making at this level turns to shambles

    Advice to Management

    Find new Management

    Mackenzie Health2019-08-08
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Lower your expectations - A LOT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Support in Richmond Hill, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mackenzie Health full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Creative wellness initiatives - Mostly good staff - OK compensation

    Cons

    - Sub-par and immature management team that can only use threat of job loss to "motivate" employees - Constructive criticism, governance and transparency look to need clarification for senior and middle management - Nearly zero accountability for certain people, other long-term employees released at the drop of a hat - Bad behaviour and policy violations not punished, and most often even rewarded - HR... not there for employees, won't enforce policy and often ignore major issues - Compensation supposedly competitive but expectations 30% higher than competing facilities - Hospital policies merely a suggestion, and contracts not worth the paper they're printed on - High turnover and layoffs over the past two years nearly quarterly mostly due to management absolutely annihilating budgets - Much of the staff looking to leave due to neglect and poor general culture

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    My advice to management is to grow some self-awareness and swallow your egos. It needs to be clarified to many of you that in certain areas, jobs are easy to come by, and we have little to no loyalty to a team that shows as little respect to our input and opinions as you do to both hospital policy and our contracts, for example in respect to overtime. Cutting 25% of your I.T. staff due to budget annihilation over... the past few years as a "by-product" of your poor prioritization, and then adding back 27-30% for the upcoming dual-hospital model is a recipe for disaster. If you believe that this is a successful strategy to the upcoming expansion, then I'd like to challenge you to a chess game, because it strikes me that you are seriously lacking in strategic thought processes.

    Show More
    Mackenzie Health2019-07-27
  7. "ICU"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff RN 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mackenzie Health full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A great unit culture and a wonderful teamwork

    Cons

    I don't find it yet

    Mackenzie Health2019-06-19
  8. Helpful (2)

    "A toxic work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mackenzie Health full-time

    Pros

    - Great pay - Opening new hospital - Heavy investments in innovation

    Cons

    - Toxic work environment - People are overworked - Despite investments in innovation, overall organization has archaic procedures and is behind the times on many developments - First hospital I’ve ever heard of that has problems with recruitment - Bad HR Department

    Mackenzie Health2019-05-14
  9. "Great group of people to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mackenzie Health part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The staff here are very friendly and professional with each other.

    Cons

    Old dated building sorely needs updating

    Mackenzie Health2019-05-01
  10. Helpful (1)

    "ICU"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Mackenzie Health full-time

    Pros

    mostly supportive coworkers, advanced technology especially for charting

    Cons

    lack of support from management

    Mackenzie Health2019-03-23
Found 34 reviews