Mackenzie Investments Administrative Reviews | Glassdoor

Mackenzie Investments Administrative Reviews

Updated Sep 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 10 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
46%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Mackenzie Investments CEO Barry McInerney (no image)
Barry McInerney
2 Ratings
  1. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operation Services Administrator in Toronto, ON

    I have been working at Mackenzie Investments full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, Learning opportunities, Training, Flexible, Overtime

    Cons

    Compensation on the low side

    Mackenzie Investments2019-09-12
  2. "Operations service administrator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Operations Administrator 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mackenzie Investments

    Pros

    Great downtown Location, Across from City Hall and the Entertainment district, lots of food options and restaurants Easily accessible to the Financial District. Subway Nearby Great for people living within Toronto and the surrounding area Good exposure to Back Office administrative work, understanding the Procedures and how investments Funds are Processed, Movement and distributed from Inbound purchases... from Clients, Businesses and Financial Institutions. Management is not too pushy within Operations (only during busy times) as long as you get your work done, kind of laxed environment. Company culture is welcoming.

    Show More

    Cons

    **On Contract** Pay is not the greatest, (negotiate) before commiting, - slow to hire additional staff where it is needed, -Transitional or movement of staff is slow - They operate on Cost cutting/savings, Allot off cross training and "coverage" - Expect to work on "Queues" within operations - Moral feels mixed based on different departments - Looking for people with long term commitments before... acquiring "full time" status

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    if you want to maintain your contract staff, provide better compensation and incentives for people willing to stay. - Cost savings will only get you so far before people starting becoming discontented or seeing the Company's approach. If you want to be the #1 Mutual fund dealer, invest in your Staff. Boost morale.

    Mackenzie Investments2019-07-23
  3. "operations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Administrative 

    I worked at Mackenzie Investments for less than a year

    Pros

    -consistent hours -friendly staff -work life balance

    Cons

    -short contract -hard to get full time

    Mackenzie Investments2019-07-10
  4. "good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Contractor - Administrative 

    I worked at Mackenzie Investments

    Pros

    great people, good work atmosphere

    Cons

    not so good work life balance

    Mackenzie Investments2019-06-24
  5. "Operations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Administrator in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mackenzie Investments full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Supportive environment and good events

    Cons

    Too much overtime and less pay

    Advice to Management

    None

    Mackenzie Investments2019-03-30
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Fund Accounting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fund Administrator in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mackenzie Investments full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great place to get increased exposure to working in Fund admin from the perspective of a Fund company that values its funds in house. You get a chance to learn about different types of fund structures, and the full 360 degrees accounting cycle. Fund mergers were great experiences to enhance learning opportunities. Also, I enjoyed my tenure, and my success in my current role is all due to the skills I learned... during my time.

    Show More

    Cons

    Sometimes communication between various fund admin groups is lacking and can result, unexplained variances in funds require needless research. More open transparent communication between cross functional teams would be of great benefit. Quarterly one on one discussions between manager and staff would be of great benefit to get to know the team, strengths and skills of the teams, as well as providing coaching,... career goals, and resources for training and development.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    More transparent communication across functional teams would be of great benefit to ensure that all stakeholders are on the same page and there is no miscommunication. Overall, keep up the great work.

    Mackenzie Investments2017-12-12
  7. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Foundation Administrator in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mackenzie Investments

    Pros

    Pay as the industry standard

    Cons

    Not streamline Process has been set in all dept

    Advice to Management

    Think big

    Mackenzie Investments2017-04-28
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Okay place to work in, but maybe not for the long term."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Administrative in Toronto, ON

    I worked at Mackenzie Investments for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great co-workers. Not a bad place to work if you are just starting out. There are some great managers who genuinely care about their employees and lead by example.

    Cons

    Lots of restructuring within the organization in the three years that I worked there and hence, many changes took place in terms of management and culture, and also lots of layoffs. It would get very stressful at times. Most of the positions are contracts that could take years before becoming full-time.

    Advice to Management

    Take performance management seriously as this is something that is quite meaningful for employees. Establish a positive working culture in the organization where employees are internally motivated to come to work (not just because they have to).

    Mackenzie Investments2015-11-11
  9. "good company overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Operation Services Administrator in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mackenzie Investments for less than a year

    Pros

    Good company, relaxing working environment, employee perks

    Cons

    slow working speed, hard to move around among departments

    Advice to Management

    more internal oppotunities

    Mackenzie Investments2015-10-05
  10. "Great stepping stone."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Administrative Assistant in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Mackenzie Investments full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent pay and work/life balance.

    Cons

    No growth in departments and most departments are segregated. management is not great.

    Mackenzie Investments2014-12-02
Found 10 reviews