Mackenzie Investments Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Mackenzie Investments Manager Reviews

Updated Dec 14, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 5 reviews

2.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
7%
Recommend to a Friend
Mackenzie Investments CEO Barry McInerney (no image)
Barry McInerney
0 Ratings
  1. "Transformation stalling"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Project Manager in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mackenzie Investments full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Many decent intelligent staff trying to collaborate.

    Cons

    Tenured people promoted to VP/Account Manager positions who have no managerial skills. People or otherwise. They aspire to be successful but are mean unkind bullies.

    Advice to Management

    Evaluate management. Get HR involved. Your attrition is academy award winning. Not good.

    Mackenzie Investments2018-12-15

    Mackenzie Investments Response

    December 20, 2018

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We’re always looking to ensure our employees are valued and treated fairly. As per our Respect in the Workplace policy, we are committed to providing a healthy work environment in which all individuals are treated with dignity ...

    Show More
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Good Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mackenzie Investments full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Constantly altering product shelf to match industry trends. The company is positioned to become one of the best in the industry again after years of mediocrity. Work goes through periods that are stressful, and periods that aren't. Not much to take home with you = good work life balance

    Cons

    Industry is dominated by the big players so it takes time. Mutual funds may be on the way out as well

    Advice to Management

    Keep rolling out products that respond to industry demand. Continue to make ETFs and add more focus on this side of the business

    Mackenzie Investments2016-10-28

    Mackenzie Investments Response

    November 8, 2016

    Thank-you for your feedback. Mackenzie is committed to the financial success of investors through their eyes and as such a key part of our strategy centers around developing innovative products that meet the needs of investors, whether that be Mutual Funds, ETFs, Private Wealth Solutions, ...

    Show More
  3. Helpful (2)

    "management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Mackenzie Investments full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some really great people. Demographics favour savings and investment management . Power Corp provides financial backup.

    Cons

    Mutual fund industry faces very negative pricing and distribution trends Turnover at senior level , some of it justified

    Advice to Management

    Differentiate by having a brand for taking a bold view on the markets , an investment vision . Use the Ceo or Cio to represent this vision of a belief in bold management, to communicate a stand out view on the market, inspire the investment teams and build client confidence. Bold products don't have to be aggressive only , . For clients who prefer or need low fees and formula driven asset mix , give it to them in... all flavours , through the web as much as possible . Good luck

    Show More
    Mackenzie Investments2016-01-03

    Mackenzie Investments Response

    February 5, 2016

    Thank you for your comments. As an employee you know we have a clear and bold vision for Mackenzie – “ We are committed to the financial success of investors through their eyes”. Our CEO, Jeff Carney, is an active advocate of this vision and enabling the organization to deliver ...

    Show More
  4. "Overall a reasonable place to work for but it depends what dept are you in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mackenzie Investments full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Lots of opportunities for growth with competitive compensation package. Supports staff with personal growth and work-life balance to a reasonable extent.

    Cons

    Benefits are not that great and I doubt there is a uniformity in how all departments are treated in terms of opportunities or compensation fairness. Further, the recent reorganization has been very distracting and I am not sure what this place will look like in a year or so.

    Mackenzie Investments2014-03-21
  5. "Best job of my career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mackenzie Investments full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Challenging work, Good comp and benefits, excellent rrsp program. Senior leadership clearly communicates corporate direction, plenty of opportunities to lead from within as well. The corporate philanthropic organization is strongly promoted and supported as well. There are also frequent employee appreciation events, opportunities for training and development abound, and the people are excellent to work with.

    Cons

    Not really much to say here, it's a great place to work. Flexible hours, nice facilities, and convenient location don't hurt either.

    Mackenzie Investments2013-01-08
Found 5 reviews