Mackenzie Investments Reviews | Glassdoor

Mackenzie Investments Reviews

Updated Sep 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 137 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Mackenzie Investments CEO Barry McInerney (no image)
Barry McInerney
31 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Fund Accounting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fund Administrator in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mackenzie Investments full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great place to get increased exposure to working in Fund admin from the perspective of a Fund company that values its funds in house. You get a chance to learn about different types of fund structures, and the full 360 degrees accounting cycle. Fund mergers were great experiences to enhance learning opportunities. Also, I enjoyed my tenure, and my success in my current role is all due to the skills I learned... during my time.

    Show More

    Cons

    Sometimes communication between various fund admin groups is lacking and can result, unexplained variances in funds require needless research. More open transparent communication between cross functional teams would be of great benefit. Quarterly one on one discussions between manager and staff would be of great benefit to get to know the team, strengths and skills of the teams, as well as providing coaching,... career goals, and resources for training and development.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    More transparent communication across functional teams would be of great benefit to ensure that all stakeholders are on the same page and there is no miscommunication. Overall, keep up the great work.

    Mackenzie Investments2017-12-12
  2. "Senior Fund Accountant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Fund Accountant in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mackenzie Investments full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great support from management and team. Great benefits. Challenging work. Very good work life balance.

    Cons

    Lacking management support. Better if you are self-motivated.

    Advice to Management

    Invest more in training employees. And keep up the high standard of excellence. I truly enjoyed my time working for Mackenzie.

    Mackenzie Investments2017-11-27
  3. Helpful (1)

    "No pensions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Admim in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mackenzie Investments full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good company to work for, good learning opportunities and I would say fair pay, you work hard you get good bonuses

    Cons

    No pensions, if anything you have to invest in B2B and no extended health coverage once you retire

    Advice to Management

    Dump the investing in B2B and give a pension and with Mackenzie being under the Power Corp umbrella which includes GWL, Canada Life and London life offer health coverage when retirement occurs. Include this in your next Gallop survey and I'm sure you will see a lot of negative responses.

    Mackenzie Investments2017-12-02
  4. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Coordinator in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mackenzie Investments full-time

    Pros

    work life balance is good

    Cons

    Managment can be disconnected from day to day

    Mackenzie Investments2017-11-17
  5. "Decent place to start career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retirement Plan Specialist in Toronto, ON

    I worked at Mackenzie Investments full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Collaborative Culture - Great downtown location

    Cons

    Industry appears to be in decline

    Advice to Management

    - Try to be more innovative

    Mackenzie Investments2017-11-12
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Administrator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Mackenzie Investments

    Pros

    Great foot in the door opportunity

    Cons

    gets repitative after some time

    Mackenzie Investments2017-10-11
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Great entry level position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Services in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mackenzie Investments full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots to learn in first year. Good training and support program for new hires.

    Cons

    Low pay. Micro management. Many people stuck as contract employees and those that make it to full time don't get great benefits like other competitors' employees do.

    Mackenzie Investments2017-10-18

    Mackenzie Investments Response

    October 27, 2017

    Thank-you for your feedback. As an organization we pride ourselves on the training and development that we offer our employees along with our supportive team environment so we are happy to hear that you have experienced this while with us. With respect to contract employees, ...

    Show More
  8. "Fund Admin"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mackenzie Investments full-time

    Pros

    I worked at Mackenzie Investments for many years and had some of the best memories of my career. The skills that I gained while working in Fund Admin are invaluable and have paved the way to develop my current career. Also, I had team of really good supporting managers who fostered a culture of learning and innovation.

    Cons

    As with most of the Fund Admin industry, the hours can be long sometimes, but that is the inherent nature. Otherwise, I had a very positive experience. I would like have seen the managers more engaged in career path development, and identifying career paths.

    Advice to Management

    I wouldn't be where I am now if it weren't for the skills and expertise I gained while at Mackenzie Investments. I would encourage the managers to have one on one discussions with all their team members at least once every months, to keep the teams engaged and discuss any issues, career development plans.

    Mackenzie Investments2017-10-03

    Mackenzie Investments Response

    October 27, 2017

    Thank-you for your feedback. We are happy to hear that you had a positive experience while working with us. We agree that on-going feedback and career development discussions are key to employee engagement so we will continue to work with our leadership teams to ensure that this ...

    Show More
  9. "Investment Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mackenzie Investments full-time

    Pros

    Good job environment, dedicated executive team

    Cons

    Salary is reasonable, not great, need to fight for raises that they'd give happily if they knew you were leaving

    Mackenzie Investments2017-09-29
  10. "Great company bad growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Mackenzie Investments full-time

    Pros

    love the people you work with and some higher ups are great people to talk to.

    Cons

    very little growth, and hard to know what they want.

    Mackenzie Investments2017-09-11

    Mackenzie Investments Response

    September 19, 2017

    Thank-you for providing us with your feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the people that you worked with at Mackenzie Investments as we believe our supportive, collaborative team is a key element to our organizational culture. Employee Engagement is of key importance ...

    Show More
Found 137 reviews