Macmillan Education Reviews | Glassdoor

Macmillan Education Reviews

Updated May 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 67 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
43%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Macmillan Education CEO Jeremy Diéguez
Jeremy Diéguez
2 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "current employee review of MacMillan Education college group"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Editor in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Macmillan Education full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, mid-size publishing company not beholden to stockholders, solid ownership with good core values

    Cons

    Lots of turnover over the past 3 years, college publishing unit seems to be looking for an identity, less long term focused now than in past

    Macmillan Education2016-03-15
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Inside Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Macmillan Education

    Pros

    Great products offered for college students. Laid back and flexible environment.

    Cons

    No transparency with management. Low salary for sale representatives in which you were not paid your bonus on time and the numbers never seemed to be figured out or understandable.

    Advice to Management

    Be more transparent!

    Macmillan Education2016-02-25
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Overall a good workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY

    I have been working at Macmillan Education

    Pros

    Good work environment and work life balance

    Cons

    Pay is below industry standards

    Macmillan Education2015-09-07
  4. "Great company despite changing environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Macmillan Education

    Pros

    Great people, benefits, and product. New offices in NYC. Improvements should be apparent within 6 months to a year.

    Cons

    Previous corporate mistakes and management changes have created a challenging environment.

    Advice to Management

    More transparency, improve work-life balance, and streamline processes so we can be creative and regain our culture again.

    Macmillan Education2015-08-16
  5. "Chief Administrative Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Macmillan Education full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Dynamic work place; great colleagues; mission driven; entrepreneurial; innovative

    Cons

    in transition; dirupted industry;some operational inefficiency

    Advice to Management

    listen to employees; straighten out operational challenges.

    Macmillan Education2015-08-11
  6. "Lovely Co-workers; Slow growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Editor in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Macmillan Education full-time

    Pros

    -Hardworking & likable co-workers who have been at the company for many years. Company really cares about quality of content (versus quantity...for now). -Decent benefits and perks (free beverages). -Ability to make your own hours (within reason). -Interesting Titles

    Cons

    -Very slow growth -Rarely have the ability to work from home -Managers can be unprofessional/demeaning (unless they like you)

    Advice to Management

    Reward those that work hard appropriately. I don't mean just with money either.

    Macmillan Education2015-07-17
  7. "Company with great potential but currently in major transition"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Development Editor in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Macmillan Education

    Pros

    The company is filled with wonderful, intelligent, and talented colleagues. They make quality products that you can be proud of.

    Cons

    The company is going through so many changes--leadership, restructuring, vision, goals--it often feels like total chaos. Can be a very frustrating work environment because of this. Also many old school employees who are stuck in old ways and reluctant to embrace new ideas or foster creativity.

    Advice to Management

    Keep all of your talent by paying live able wages. The entry level salary is insulting and absurd for living in one of the most expensive cities in the world. Invest in your employees and trust them to do well the job you hired them to do.

    Macmillan Education2015-07-16
  8. "Inside Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Macmillan Education

      Pros

      Autonomous work environment, no overbearing micromanagement. Overall, it is a relaxed setting for a sales floor. Enjoyed working with all of the people on my team.

      Cons

      Company did not have a clear direction or plan and there was quite a bit of turnover/change in upper management. Commission plans and overall comp structure were constantly changing.

      Macmillan Education2015-05-20
    • Helpful (2)

      "not good"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Inside Sales Representative in Austin, TX
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Macmillan Education

      Pros

      health benefits, and can goof off

      Cons

      massive layoffs and bad managers who don't know what to do

      Advice to Management

      stop micro managing

      Macmillan Education2015-06-09
    • "Change is inevitable, but the products work and our share is growing."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Macmillan Education

      Pros

      Company culture, smart people, exceptional products, benefits, downtown office, we impact the way students learn and engage in College.

      Cons

      Compensation structure not the best for technology sales; open floor plan can be exciting, but also distracting.

      Macmillan Education2015-04-06
    Found 67 reviews