Macy's Reviews in Ann Arbor, MI | Glassdoor

Macy's Ann Arbor Reviews

Updated Jan 27, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
76%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Macy's CEO Jeff Gennette
Jeff Gennette
4 Ratings
  1. "Retail"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Human Resources Generalist in Ann Arbor, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's

    Pros

    very easy to get employeed here

    Cons

    not many perks, low hourly

    Macy's2016-08-25
  2. "Some managers care and some don’t."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - At Your Service Agent in Ann Arbor, MI

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Only problem is the fact that you get benefits for if you’re full time.

    Cons

    Little pay for all the work we do. Not enough staff members. Always busy and a lot of the times, you’re scheduled by yourself.

    Continue reading
    Macy's2020-01-27
  3. "Operations and Asset Protection Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - OAPM in Ann Arbor, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people and Hands on Work environment

    Cons

    Unrealistic work expectations lead to poor work enviroment

    Continue reading
    Macy's2019-01-03
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Junior sales associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Ann Arbor, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good experience with overall staff and supervisors.

    Cons

    Honestly, the pay could improve, and more flexible hours on weekends.

    Continue reading
    Macy's2018-10-19
  5. "Business manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cosmetics Counter Manager in Ann Arbor, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great place to work awesome commission and overtime

    Cons

    Required overtime that can over extend your week

    Continue reading
    Macy's2018-04-18
  6. "fulltime"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ann Arbor, MI
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Macy's full-time

    Pros

    good health benefits from this company

    Cons

    micro managers, no team effort.

    Macy's2018-02-27
  7. "Women's Shoe Sales Lead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Women Shoes Sales Associate in Ann Arbor, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I'm gaining more leadership and merchandising experience. Challenging position than keeps you on your toes.

    Cons

    Not being compensated with a wage equivalent to duty expectations.

    Continue reading
    Macy's2017-04-11
  8. "sales associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Ann Arbor, MI

    I worked at Macy's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly co workers , great discounts with the credit card

    Cons

    low wages , push to sale credit cards and rewards cards.

    Continue reading
    Macy's2016-02-10
  9. "Above average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commissioned Sales Associate in Ann Arbor, MI
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Good pay if you are in a commission department ONLY and that includes men's suits and shoes, and women shoes. -Flexible schedule: you can pick up, swap, and advertise shifts. -All employees (Including part timers) get holiday pay, and paid time off after 90 days of employment only!

    Cons

    - They only train you to use the cash register and put you on the floor without any kind of training about the merchandise, that's why most associate are clueless (especially in positions where new people are getting hired all the time) -As a commission sales associate without a base pay, it was unfair and simply wrong to assign me task that would keep me away from the sales floor while other hourly paid employees are on the sales floor.

    Continue reading
    Macy's2015-12-21
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Here we go again, Third store manager in 3 years "retiring" SURE."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Ann Arbor, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Macy's associates care about each other. I have made some good friends.

    Cons

    Managers have there heads up there you know what. Where do they find these questionable managers. They have to work at being rude. Must have special training classes.

    Continue reading
    Macy's2015-05-06
Found 18 reviews