Macy's Assistant Buyer Reviews | Glassdoor

Macy's Assistant Buyer Reviews

Updated Aug 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 41 reviews

4.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
89%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Macy's CEO Jeff Gennette
Jeff Gennette
4 Ratings
  1. "Love it!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Buyer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance. Pay is good for the competitive landscape. Moving to a brand new office in 2020. Easy to move cross functional and up the ladder. Lots of exposure to senior management.

    Cons

    Large company—can be hard to drive changes quickly.

    Advice to Management

    Keep focusing on people!

    Macy's2019-07-25
  2. "Good company but not much improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Buyer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great vocation and work from home package, flexible schedule

    Cons

    pay is terrible, they pay more outside hires than those who get promoted within the company

    Macy's2019-08-13
  3. "Make it a quick stop"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Buyer 
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time

    Pros

    Good on the job training

    Cons

    Buyers are not trained well to develop and manage

    Macy's2019-07-05
  4. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Assistant Buyer 

    I have been working at Macy's full-time

    Pros

    Great company , but had layoffs

    Cons

    Lay off led to no job

    Macy's2019-04-14
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Depends on your boss"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Buyer in New York, NY
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Cross function work is encouraged

    Cons

    Your experience 100% depends on your boss

    Advice to Management

    Listen to assistant/associates about the difficult bosses & try to help them be better managers

    Macy's2019-01-31
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Slow moving, old school company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Buyer in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Lots of focus on professional development -Very team-oriented -Will train talent right out of college (is my first job)

    Cons

    -Very set in its ways, and is slow to correct processes that no longer make sense -Systems are archaic and make doing work unnecessarily hard -So strapped for cash that they don't re-stock printer paper or have a stocked supply closet -NO transparency in most recent round of layoffs -Difficult to be promoted/move around since your boss and boss's boss first need to agree and then add you to "The Platform" to formally...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Your employees are your most valuable asset - please treat us with more care! Give us the supplies we need to succeed (printer paper, notebooks, post its) and also listen to logical feedback. When we cannot convince a vendor to support us because it doesn't make logical sense, I do not appreciate being told "you have to find a way to collect the margin money" or whatever other version of that answer.

    Macy's2017-08-25
  7. "Assistsnt Buyer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Buyer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's for more than a year

    Pros

    Best reason to work for Macys is the people. They really hire great talent and everyone enjoys working together. Working at Macy's after college will provide you with a really good social circle

    Cons

    Since the company is so large, there is a lot of bureaucracy involved. It is difficult to get things done and test new vendors and products.

    Advice to Management

    Management should do a better job of supporting the teams to test new ideas. They should also keep in mind the customer not just the vendors.

    Macy's2016-10-14
  8. "Omni Assistant Buyer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Buyer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    New York office is a fun and young work environment. Great place to learn and network. Would recommend to new grads.

    Cons

    Can be a stressful job. Most offices are out dated. Room for growth but it can take time for positions to open u[.

    Advice to Management

    Keep an open-mind that retail is new to almost all assistants. Set time a side to train as much as possible.

    Macy's2016-04-12
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Macy's Can't Keep Their Talent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Buyer in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - The people, while overworked and stressed, are great - The sample sales are pretty good - If you work in Home, you get a pretty big desk

    Cons

    While I was working at Macy's, they went through a massive restructure - people were given completely new roles and titles, other were laid-off, and others simply quit because they got completely screwed over in the reshuffling. I really lost all my respect for the company when this happened. Buyers who had been successful for years in their role had been moved to completely different businesses and were forced to relearn...

    Show More
    Macy's2016-04-26
  10. "A lot of opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Buyer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There is a clear pipeline for career growth in most roles. Since the company is so large, there are endless roles that you can explore that will give you completely different experiences.

    Cons

    There is a lack of communication and there is a high chance that you will end up in an area that is not your preference. With a lot of conversation with management and HR you have a better probability that you can be promoted into a position that you like. However, nothing is guaranteed.

    Advice to Management

    Make different opportunities accessible to newer executives. There are a lot of things in place to inform the executives about different roles, but no clear way to persue them.

    Macy's2016-03-08
Found 41 reviews