Macy's Reviews in Baton Rouge, LA | Glassdoor

Macy's Baton Rouge Reviews

Updated 27 de Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 23 reviews

1.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
12%
Recommend to a Friend
Macy's CEO Jeff Gennette
Jeff Gennette
0 Ratings
  1. "Amazing people welcoming environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Baton Rouge, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You can be your own person you dont have put on an act

    Cons

    Theres no challenges unless you make it had for your self

    Macy's2016-07-22
  2. "Great place to work if you love make up a fragrances"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cosmetic Counter Manager in Baton Rouge, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Macys have great commission pay

    Cons

    Macys is usually short of staff

    Macy's2019-07-27
  3. "SUCKS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - At Your Service Agent in Baton Rouge, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The only pro is overtime PERIOD!

    Cons

    Managers Lie about your pay and hired positions; totally unprofessional

    Advice to Management

    When you hire someone don’t promise them an hourly amount and don’t give it to them. Also, customer service should be #1 and most of y’all have bad attitudes and do not know how to talk to your customers or workers. Humble yourselves!

    Macy's2019-01-03
  4. "Worst Experience Ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Baton Rouge, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time

    Pros

    Worked with some wonderful people and gained some lifelong friends.

    Cons

    I could go on for hours at all the things wrong with that store. The managers picked favorites and if they didn't like you they would do anything to make your life hell. You would get yelled at in front of customers if your phone rang more than twice even if you where with a customer. If you where sick and needed to leave and then had a day or two off the managers would question what you did when you where off and... if you where really sick. It was the most stressful job I have ever worked and it mad me ridiculously sick from being stressed so much. I would never suggest working at Macy's to anyone.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop picking favorites and treat everyone the same way.

    Macy's2017-11-27
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Part-Time Sales Associate--4 year employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Baton Rouge, LA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Macy's part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The customers who look forward to seeing you whenever they arrive, and being able to walk around and socialize with co-workers.Getting paid every week was a good thing as well especially for a broke college student.

    Cons

    There are so many cons of this company. There is absolutely no room for growth within this company. All the managars as well as the store manager cares about is getting customers to open credit cards no matter how old the customers are. They like to take advantage of young 18 year olds mainly. They have no care about your outside life. They pay you crumbs, 15 cent raise every year, work pretty much every weekend.... ITS JUST A HORRIBLE PLACE. STAY AWAY

    Show More
    Macy's2016-07-20
  6. "Basic Retailer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Retail Sales Associate in Baton Rouge, LA

    I worked at Macy's

    Pros

    Super flexible in picking up shifts or giving them away if you know employees that need someone to cover for them.

    Cons

    Almost inpossible to get management to modify your work schedule.

    Advice to Management

    Stop pushing so much for the rewards program. If people want it, they'll ask.

    Macy's2016-03-03
  7. "Sales associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Associate in Baton Rouge, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's for less than a year

    Pros

    Works with my school schedule

    Cons

    doesn't really give enough hours to newcomers

    Macy's2016-02-17
  8. "Excellent company for an entry level sales person!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fragrance Sales Associate in Baton Rouge, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great team effort. Management is always willing to help and look out for its employees. No pressure sale environment. Recognition for good work on opening accounts. Flexible schedule. Look for jobs at this company in September and October when they do their hiring for Seasonal Employees.

    Cons

    The pay isn't as good as it could be. At some locations you get $8.75 to start out plus commission, and the commission is only 1.5% of your sales. So if the store does well, you do better, but if it doesn't, you don't. Plus, you don't get commission for seasonal work.

    Advice to Management

    Increase the base pay for new and existing employees.

    Macy's2016-01-13
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Store closing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Macys Sales Associate in Baton Rouge, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's part-time

    Pros

    Only the employee discount, nothing else.

    Cons

    Everything don't care about their employees unemployment or severance pay. Don't want to pay either they rather cut your hours and move you to another location so that they don't have to pay you severance pay or unemployment. They are banking on you being frustrated by their offer so that you will quit all together. Horrible organization!!

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees fair give them better options because of the store closing, don't lie to your employees

    Macy's2016-01-30
  10. "Conpany"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Supervisor in Baton Rouge, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I love Macy's as a company. The management team and associates are extremely nice. When I first started, they were extremely welcoming and should be everything that I needed to know.

    Cons

    Like most retail companies, the holiday season (fourth quarter) is extremely busy. I did not get much time with my family and friends during this time and I also was in the last class of my graduate degree. I would say that being a manager during the holiday season can get a bit stressful.

    Advice to Management

    My advice to a management team is be sure to get to know your associate. It helps when you show them that you really genuinely care about them and their well being. Also when coaching, everyone is different so your coaching style needs to be different each time with each associate.

    Macy's2015-05-31
Found 23 reviews