Macy's Boston Reviews

Updated Apr 30, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
52%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Macy's CEO Jeff Gennette
Jeff Gennette
19 Ratings
  1. "Good"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Boston, MA

    I worked at Macy's full-time

    Pros

    Good place, nice environment

    Cons

    Nothing to complain very much

    Macy's2020-04-02
  2. "Under represented"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Newington, NH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    the atmosphere, good gossip, training is good

    Cons

    overworked, discriminating against disabled, broken promises of promotions and raises, underpaid

    Continue reading
    Macy's2020-04-30
  3. "Can be a good career"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Area Retail Sales Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time

    Pros

    Excellent in -store high level sales and performance leadership.

    Cons

    Work/ Life balance; Leadership sometimes forgets retail is not about saving lives or an essential service.

    Continue reading
    Macy's2020-04-11
  4. "VP Merchandise Handler (seasonal)"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Merchandise Associate in Braintree, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours. Very easy, all they asked me to do was fold clothes.

    Cons

    None of the managers knew exactly what my job was because I was hired online (not their fault). This is a problem that has to be taken up with Corporate Macys.

    Macy's2020-04-11
  5. "Too much work for too little pay"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Style Advisor in Braintree, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Macy's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    easy to make Macy's money, 20% discount, fun coworkers

    Cons

    The pay is awful considering the amount of work you do. Recovery(dress dept.), making sales, pressure on reaching goals to open Star Accounts, no commission, keeping the sales floor clean and also helping customers find outfits. I always left a shift exhausted after carrying heavy dresses all day.

    Macy's2020-02-24
  6. "Great Time"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Burlington, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly, Great Place to work

    Cons

    not many cons sometimes have to stay a bit later due to customers being there too long

    Macy's2020-01-22
  7. "I gave GREAT CUSTOMER SERVERVICE"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader in Burlington, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great clothes and people to work with

    Cons

    Got along Great for 8 years with all management then?? ALL CHANGED BAD AND THEY STARTED GETTING RID OF ALL GREAT WITH FORMMER GREAT REVWEWS STILL GREAT WHY?? BUZZ WAS SIMPLY THEY DIDNT LIKE THEM WANTED THER OWN PEOPLE Heard later From friends it ended up a big mess this way lol !! ! If it's not broken dont fix it lol !!!!!Macy showed poor judgment on thier part for thier store sorry as I loved ten years I REALLY REALLY. DID AND KINDA MISSIT A BIT LOL

    Continue reading
    Macy's2019-12-19
  8. "Holidays are a blast...."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Seasonal Sales Associate in Peabody, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    discount loads of hours to pick up online

    Cons

    discount is trash Everyone has a macys card, so dont expect anything

    Continue reading
    Macy's2019-11-08
  9. "None"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Seasonal in Burlington, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice place to work bus accessible

    Cons

    Standing all day, have to able to work all shifts if you want only am.

    Macy's2019-09-22
  10. "great place to work"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Boston, MA

    I worked at Macy's part-time

    Pros

    flexible schedule, nice atmosphere, no stress

    Cons

    low pay , sometime dealing with demanding customers

    Macy's2019-08-13
Found 187 reviews