Macy's Brooklyn Reviews

Updated May 7, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.9
24%
Recommend to a Friend
27%
Approve of CEO
Macy's CEO Jeff Gennette
Jeff Gennette
7 Ratings
  1. "Sales Associate"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Retail Sales Associate in Brooklyn, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Greet and meet customers, helping them find what they need and want

    Cons

    Not being able to find the size or the item for the customers

    Macy's2016-06-30
  2. "Not a worker just applied"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Communications in Brooklyn, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Macy's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Close to the house / near

    Cons

    Not too close to me

    Continue reading
    Macy's2020-05-07
  3. "a good starter job"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Brooklyn, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Can pick up shifts and change your availability

    Cons

    Managers and people leaders pick favorites.

    Macy's2020-04-21
  4. "great"

    4.0
    Current Employee - New York in Brooklyn, NY

    I have been working at Macy's full-time

    Pros

    great work environment and people

    Cons

    horrible visa sponsorships regulations and does not sponsor easily

    Macy's2020-03-16
  5. "Meh"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Brooklyn, NY
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good for college students who need a flexible schedule or someone who needs a second job

    Cons

    Unrealistic goals, does not value the employee.

    Macy's2020-02-29
  6. "Overall good experience"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in Brooklyn, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Learning format to build managerial skills. Team is great as long as you gain their understanding.

    Cons

    Pay, despite being in NYC for number of hours in overtime work life balance nor healthy.

    Continue reading
    Macy's2020-02-21
  7. "Macys Review"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Brooklyn, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    School and work balance Thats about it

    Cons

    Sales leads do not work leave all the work to associates Lazy workers that run away from registers Rude to customers

    Continue reading
    Macy's2019-07-01
  8. "Poor"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    Former Employee - Sales Support Associate in Brooklyn, NY
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Macy's part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours Over time

    Cons

    Management Don’t care about employee

    Macy's2019-07-22
  9. ""We dont care if you almost died.""

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cosmetic Sales in Brooklyn, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There were not really any pros, except maybe the 20% discount on merch - which, isn't really a huge pro.

    Cons

    The location I was at had atrocious management that would make some of the girls on the floor cry. When I was in the hospital, I lost 2 "points" for attendance, brought hospital papers with me to HR, explained why I was hopsitalized - and they said "it doesn't matter, there are no exceptions." I explained to them I nearly died, they said "that doesn't matter to us, you have an obligation as an employee to be here, and if you can't be here, you lose points." They had this ridiculous point system, where points were deducted for lateness, if you had to cancel a shift, etc. And apparently, there are no exceptions. Because for a slightly above minimum wage job with bogus commission, you were expected to come to work life or death.

    Continue reading
    Macy's2019-03-13
  10. "Worst company ever"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Brooklyn, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Weekly paycheck , discounts, staff parties, free food, celebrity appearances, free giveaways.

    Cons

    Terrible management, Slave hours, intimidation, rude disgusting lying customers. Forced to solicitation , harassment, lying corporate stooges

    Continue reading
    Macy's2018-11-01
Found 96 reviews