Macy's Buffalo Reviews

Updated May 7, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.8
40%
Recommend to a Friend
39%
Approve of CEO
Macy's CEO Jeff Gennette
Jeff Gennette
6 Ratings
  1. "Good place to gain communication skills"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Buffalo, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time

    Pros

    Workers and mangers are very friendly and helpful

    Cons

    Nothing bad to say about work for Macy's

    Macy's2020-05-07
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Horrible"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Buffalo, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Ok at first. But then went downhill fast.

    Cons

    Where do I start. First, phone interview then when I was offered the job was told when onboarding would be. Day I showed up for that was told they couldn’t train me. Finally 3 weeks later I was brought in. My first month I got about 16 or so hours even though I was hired full time. Then they dropped me to flex which is basically you troll your phone all day every hour hoping a shift pops up in the system and you snag it before anyone else does just to get hours. PATHETIC! What a horrible way to treat employees. Associates fight in the store with each other over this system because there’s not enough hours for everybody. Now the real issue the dangerous conditions at the mall the store is housed. Shootings fights and melee almost weekly we even had a lockdown after my first week! This is just deplorable. No job was worth what I went through there. No one should have to fear for there life on the daily like that.

    Continue reading
    Macy's2019-04-05
  3. "Beauty advisor"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cosmetics Counter Manager in Cheektowaga, NY

    I worked at Macy's full-time

    Pros

    You get to make your own schedule!! Coworkers were helpful and you get a point system to take days off or call off when you decide to.

    Cons

    Downside was management. Our manager was not always fair to employees unless you were their favorite. Might not be all places.

    Macy's2018-11-09
  4. "Typical retail"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cheektowaga, NY

    I worked at Macy's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Learn the customer service ways

    Cons

    Training was nonexistent. I had no money in my register my first day and could only do credit card transactions.

    Continue reading
    Macy's2018-06-08
  5. "Great work place"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Part Time Sales Associate in Cheektowaga, NY
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Macy's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    People are friends everyone works together

    Cons

    people can be rude sometimes

    Macy's2018-03-23
  6. "Consultant"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Counter Manager in Buffalo, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible shifts, good employee discounts.

    Cons

    Too many nights and weekends to mesh with family balance

    Continue reading
    Macy's2018-03-06
  7. "Salesman"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Owner Operator in Buffalo, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time

    Pros

    Lots of hours and discount

    Cons

    Management didn't listen. Mad when you tell them you need day off. For family needs they don't understand.

    Continue reading
    Macy's2018-01-10
  8. "worst work experience ever"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Amherst, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The only true pro that I have would be the friends that I made.

    Cons

    Management doesn't care about you or your being at all. You are on a point system for your attendance which is a complete disaster. They are not flexible at all especially for students which I started out as a student. The company itself is falling apart. You are basically just a number to them. Never enough staff days on end I was running to 5 different departments because there wasn't enough staff for lunches or whatever. Managers never picked up their phones when needed, which resulted in angry customers. Could not advance in the company at all

    Continue reading
    Macy's2018-01-04
  9. "Sales"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Independent Sales Representative in Cheektowaga, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    It's Retail n you will find great bargains paid training

    Cons

    High traffic around the holidays,

    Continue reading
    Macy's2017-11-14
  10. "1 year at Macy's"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Beauty Advisor in Buffalo, NY

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people you work with, weekly pay

    Cons

    Point system for attendance

    Continue reading
    Macy's2017-04-05
Found 40 reviews